We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back!!”
Review of Ixchel Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Arkansaw, Wisconsin
1 review
“Can't wait to go back!!”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We were just in Isla for the 2nd time, but took our 16,14,10 year olds, along with my in laws. We stayed in a beautiful, clean 2 bedroom suite that was more than enough room with a spectacular veiw from our balcany. What a fabulous 7 day vacation at a hotel that makes your stay memorable. The beach and pool staff are super friendly and accommodating. The beach is outstanding and the pool is kept beyond clean. We rented a golf cart right next door for 650 pesos for the day to tour the island. My daughter and I had a full body scrub/ massage at the hotel which was amazing and very reasonable price. The kids drank smoothies and had lunch at Kalac almost daily, which is their restaurant. They were in heaven. The staff keeps a running tab and you can put it on your credit card at the end of your day. We never had any issues with our bill at the end of the day. Their picco de gallo, alfredo, sandwiches, everything was very tasteful. This hotel is in my opinion on the best location on the island- I wouldn't stay any where else. So many good places to eat, especially "off the beaten path" all with in minutes of your room. The conciere Deiby was very helpful in helping me book a tour to Xenotes which is south of Cancun. She called and had everything scheduled for us. So very nice! We will definitly be returning, hopefully next year!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayden M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ixchelbeachh0tel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Ixchel Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Warmest greetings dear Hayden M,

Thank you very much for your comments,

We highly appreciate your positive review regarding our location, staff and restaurant service. It certainly motivates us to keep up delivering the most pleasant vacations looking forward to all of your needs.

Remember, we are here for you waiting for a new opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Customer Service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    850
    361
    92
    33
    21
See reviews for
427
596
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We stayed at Ixchel II in December 2013, our first stay at in the complex (I hesitate to use the word "hotel" as it's really more of a condo building than a traditional hotel). But of the four places we have stayed on Isla Mujeres, it is definitely our favourite.

Ixchel is located on the north end of the island, a few blocks from the downtown area. Depending on your physical condition, amount of luggage and heat tolerance, you can certainly walk there from the ferry terminal -- we did. Otherwise it's an inexpensive three-minute taxi ride away. At reception you register for your unit, get your keys and a set of beach towels. Then off to the rooms ... we were on the ground floor, otherwise you take a (modern) elevator to your floor.

The units are spacious and clean, with a spacious living room and a kitchenette. The kitchenette does have a microwave, a toaster and a coffeemaker, but otherwise no cooking facilities. Two flat-screen TVs are provided, and each unit has its own wireless access point so the signal is good. The closet has a decent-sized safe, and there is a reasonable number of electrical outlets for charging electronics.

Outside, you have either a patio or a balcony, overlooking the hotel pool and pool bar -- and on the northerly units, with a nice view of the ocean. Playa Norte is footsteps away, beyond the hotel pool, and as the hotel itself is on the beach, you won't need to rent beach chairs, either. The beach towel exchange is at a hut on the beach, but usually you can also exchange them at the "unofficial" exchange at reception.

Most of the restaurants in downtown Isla Mujeres are less than five minutes' walk away from the hotel, and many -- such as Alexei y Giovanni (a great loncheria choice!) and Mamacita are just a few minutes' leisurely walk down the road. The local market building is only a block away, and is a great place to pick up fresh fruit -- or local produce such as dried hibiscus (for tea).

Room Tip: The ground-floor rooms allow you to walk out to the bar, pool or beach directly from your unit -- bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tomh009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ixchelbeachh0tel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Ixchel Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear tomh009,

We highly appreciate such a motivating and inspiring comments!

Everyday we have the opportunity to deliver the most enjoyable moments supported with the highest commitment of our team work to become your holidays experiences into great memories to share and remember.

Positives reviews like yours, motivate us to keep up the good work, always looking forward to have the honor to be your host on a near future and share another “Ixchel-lent” time with you.

We wish you all the best,
Customer Service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I'm a little late with this review. We stayed Thanksgiving week 2013. This was our 5th (or close enough) stay at the Ixchel Beach and still love it. Very convenient to downtown, great beach, pool, staff, etc. There was a new golf cart company right next door and it was so convenient to pick up our cart and go. We also love that we can leave our driver's license with the hotel instead of the golf cart company.

Our room this time was very nice. Loved the decor! Unfortunately, 98% of the TV shows were in Spanish. The only downside is that some of the 1 bedroom units only have TV's in the bedroom and not in the living room and on occasion we have gotten a room that didn't have any storage in the bedroom. There was a closet with hangers but nothing in the way of a dresser with drawers for things you can't hang.

I would highly recommend this property. Booked again for July 2014 and can't wait!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank homerbucket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We enjoyed our stay at IXchel Beach Hotel. Access to the outstanding beach on Playa Norte is excellent. Wonderful views of the Gulf of Mexico. Walking to the restaurants and shops on Hildago and other streets was easy. Lots to do in that area. The staff at the hotel was super. Always willing to help.

Room Tip: Having a balcony is a plus...Suites have them. Rooms do not. There are open balconies off of room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joanne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ixchelbeachh0tel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Ixchel Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Joanne O,

Thank you for your kind comments and for choosing Ixchel Beach Hotel as the host on your holidays.

How great to know about that you really have a wonderful time during your recent stay. We always do our best to achieve our mission to deliver the best experience and the most pleasant vacations for our Guests.

We appreciate that you highlight our location and we invite you to come back where we will be ready to ensure that your stay be such an enjoyable time... Again!

Best wishes,
Customer service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I stayed here to attend a women's day conference. The staff were friendly and helpful even though I spoke very little Spanish. The room was very spacious and clean. I would love to have seen more mexican artwork on the walls - they were mostly bare. Not a criticism, just a suggestion. The style was very modern and clean lined. The so-called ocean view was looking out at trees and broken patio furniture but if I stood on a chair to look over the trees I suppose I could have seen the ocean. So don't be impressed with ocean view if you're on the third floor. Still - who cares? You're not in your room very long. If you want to see the ocean - get out and go there. The location is right on the beach. Beautiful pool that I used - water is heated, it's clean. It wasn't crowded. I didn't eat in their restaurant because there were SO many restaurants within a 5 minute walk. Love it.

Room Tip: I had the ocean view room on the 3rd floor - I couldn't see the ocean. So don't pay a premiu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ThisandThatToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I just got back from two weeks at this heavenly place. It was my first time on the island, and this was the perfect location to stay!

The kitchen in Room 301 has recently been renovated and it is beautiful and modern. The whole condo is lovely and comfortable, equipped with everything we needed. The balcony is huge and looks directly out onto the pool and ocean. It is protected from the afternoon sun, so we were able to use it any time we weren't exploring the town and island.

The beds were very comfortable. Room 301 had a king bed, and Room 302 had two twins. We rented both because there were three of us. There was plenty of room for everyone and the rooms joined together so it became all one big condo.

The staff is very friendly and helpful and took care of our requests with ease. The location is wonderful. We walked everywhere in the little town and rented a golf cart twice to explore more of the island.

I highly recommend this condo!

Room Tip: Room 301 has a great balcony that looks directly to the pool and ocean, with welcome afternoon shade...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minot, North Dakota
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

This was such a fun and unique stay! We rented two condos on the top floor, both of which had a rooftop jacuzzi and patio. Both of the rooms were great in their own ways. You felt at home, as the people who rent out the condos get to decorate them as they choose, instead of a stuffy hotel. Lots of personality! The service here is bar-none. The bartenders are great fun, and our host for dinner was hilarious! Great beach location, as you can walk out what seemed to be a mile and still touch. White powdery sand, not hard coral like a lot of other places on the island. Location is great in comparison to the city, it's right at the end of their main road which has all of the shops and places to eat. I HIGHLY recommend this place- especially if you're traveling with many people.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brittany D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ixchelbeachh0tel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Ixchel Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dearest OdelBr,

Thank you for your visit and sharing your experience!

We are happy to know about your wonderful time at Ixchel Beach Hotel. Your review motivates us to keep providing and improving the quality services that we offer. As always, it’s our pleasure to deliver the best experience to our Guests.

We certainly look forward for your next visit so please consider us as your home in the Mexican Caribbean; we will look to you with open arms.

Best regards,
Customer Service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.1 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
723 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#8 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
409 reviews
1.9 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Casa de los Suenos
Casa de los Suenos
#6 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
498 reviews
0.2 mi away
Na Balam Beach Hotel
Na Balam Beach Hotel
#11 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
864 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
#20 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ixchel Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ixchel Beach Hotel

Property: Ixchel Beach Hotel
Address: Playa Norte S/N | Centro, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ixchel Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among the best hotels in Isla Mujeres, visit Ixchel Beach Hotel, a two wing, two phase condotel complex with 117 rooms in Isla Mujeres. East Wing (Phase One) with 48 rooms, 5 stories and opened in June 2006; West Wing (Phase Two) with 69 rooms, 6 stories and opened in August 2007. Both properties (see Accomodation Remark below) are designed in Mexican casual and modern stylish buildings located at the beautiful North Beach on the colorful island of Isla Mujeres (Women Island).Ixchel for the Mayans was the Goddess of love, fertility and the moon. Walking a few steps from downtown of this friendly island and facing the most beautiful white sand & powder touch beaches of Isla Mujeres, in the Yucatan Peninsula and the Mexican Caribbean, our Isla Mujeres hotel offers warm personable service in an upscale, intimate island experience perfect for families and romantics.If you want a great escape to a Isla Mujeres hotel, our hotel is ideal for the relaxing weekend getaway or a romantic honeymoon retreat. Treat yourself to all of the luxury that our Ixchel Hotel in Isla Mujeres has to offer and enjoy the surrounding areas, activities and beauty.Premier in Isla Mujeres hotels, the Ixchel Beach Hotel offers luxurious amenities, outstanding service and a tranquil atmosphere to completely relax and enjoy your Mexican vacation. You won't find a more beautiful or more convenient location to soak in the sun and experience this amazing island of Isla Mujeres.If you are looking among hotels in Isla Mujeres, look no further than the Ixchel Beach Hotel. You won't be disappointed. You, the guest, are our number one priority and your comfort and enjoyment during your vacations in Mexico and lodging experience are our primary concern. We will do everything we can to make your stay nothing short of spectacular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ixchel Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing