We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT STAY IN 301/302”
Review of Ixchel Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2014

we stayed in 302/302 from May 5th to May 19th. 2014
the unit was all that we wanted. from the well appointed kitchen ( used for breakfasts) to the incredible sunsets while enjoying a beverage on the spacious balcony.
This unit is great .....very clean ...great beds. We stayed in 302 ..it has two doubles ...large enough bathroom ...water...and a small fridge as well as flat screen tv..there was a ton of room to spread out ...Our friends had 301 which is the larger king suite ...they had no complaints at all!!!
the apt. is well furnished and the photos describing it are spot on...
the circular counter top is great to congregate around.....the ac is excellent and thee is a ton of hot water

thanks again sheryl for coming through for us

we will definitely use your unit again

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stewartNewfoundland2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,412)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

571 - 577 of 1,412 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

First off what impressed me the most was the friendly and helpful service of the location.. being Mexico, the attitude is always a little relaxed.. not here all request were handled promptly and correctly.. even to the point on our departure, we missed our flight (having too much of a good time?) and Maurico, the concieire, literally was a god send in helping out with straightening out the problem... thank you so much.. the rooms, were big and spacious and well appointed.

the only issue we had was when we got there we were allocated a room on the first floor, and in the back. we overlooked the back of the restaurant and the bathrooms. to top it off there was no patio furniture, no way were going to stay in a room all week where we couldn't open the blinds or sit on the balcony. so we exchanged rooms, they were very accommodating, then again the hotel was, what 35% OCCUPIED., but the room we got was only marginally better, on the second floor, pretty much the same location. We've had this problem before with condo/hotels, when they aren't facing the beach, but perpendicular, the back corners really leave something to be desired.

Other than that, all was perfect... so again, request minimum third floor and higher closer to the front. The island is a great place to visit and relax, we really enjoyed the atmosphere and hospitality.. we had been going to Cozumel before, (8 trips) and finally gave up with way too many cruise boats ruining the island atmosphere.

Room Tip: make sure you are third floor or higher, DO Not take first or second floor unless you are real near...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobmga62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We just got back from a 7 night stay at the Ixchel and couldn't be more pleased! The hotel is an easy 10 minute walk from the water ferry port, even with luggage. There are taxi's and transportation readily available if you don't want to walk. The Ixchel is located directly on the beach, and it looks to be one of the biggest on the whole island in terms of size. There are 2 buildings, and we were booked in "Phase 1". We stayed on the 3rd floor, room 303, in a room that has 2 double beds, no balcony, with what we would call a partial ocean view. Air conditioning was FANTASTIC, and we had no problems with our room. We booked directly through the hotel's website using the "Stay 6 nights, get the 7th free" for a room rate of $136 a night... and they even left a nice note and free bottle of Cabernet for booking directly! Such a nice surprise! Our room looked to be adjoining to the suite next door, hence the no balcony... but we didn't care since we were on a budget! Provided for us was a microwave, mini-fridge, and a 10 gallon water cooler that was changed during our stay when we emptied it. Not having to buy bottled water was a nice surprise, at no extra cost! The hotel was really quiet, and we had no problems with noise (despite some of the other reviews we read on here prior).

There are 2 pools, both in full sun during the entire day (despite another review we read that said otherwise). There were a few times that we used the pool and had a staff person set an umbrella up for us to avoid a sunburn. The pools were clean, beautiful, and warm... with an equally clean outdoor restroom connected to the pool bar. The staff is very attentive, always asking if you need anything. Beach towels are exchanged daily for dry ones with no hassle at the front desk.

On the beach, the staff is eager to set up chairs and umbrellas as soon as you set foot on the sand. There is a bar next to the hotel with waiters that are eager to keep you hydrated. Drinks were really cheap on the beach, buy one get one free margaritas, rum punch, daquiris, etc for ~70 pesos! Check out was a breeze, and I honestly wouldn't hesitate staying here again in the future. I really can't come up with anything negative! If you're on the fence about staying at the Ixchel, DON'T BE! You honestly won't be disappointed. We loved every minute!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AmyO1100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

The one bedroom suite with balcony was nice. Felt less like a hotel room and more like a home. The location was good, an easy walk up Hidalgo for eating out. Make sure to try a marquesita from a vendor near the hotel. The main negatives were not getting an umbrella on a pretty still day when it was sprinkling. I guess they viewed the weather as unstable, but it seemed overly cautious when we could walk 10 feet and pay $15 for one. The other issue is how the beach is setup, with an unaffiliated beach club dividing up their beach. For us, it ended up not being as relaxing as we would have liked. Just a bit too crowded for our tastes, with chairs right next to each other.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank jaydfwtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ixchelbeachh0tel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Ixchel Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Greetings dear jaydfwtx,

Thank for your valued review.

Your input will help us to pay special attention where we need to as you mention, the beach is our charm and it's our daily challenge to keep it safe and clean to deliver the most enjoyable time.

We look forward for a new opportunity to host you back and for sure, we will be waiting for your return with joy.

All the best,
Customer Service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The hotel is in an amazing location with very clean rooms with very good facilities in the room including a fridge water dispenser and dehumidifier. We were a group of three and booked a room for 3 persons - we checked in fairly quickly but on arrival in the room there was only a double bed. After contacting reception we were advised that the tariff we had paid for was for only 2 persons and would have to pay more. The hotel then went away & advised that we had indeed booked for 3 & would send the maid to make up a sofa bed. A maid arrived & threw the bedding down & we were left to make the bed up. There was also a dirty rag left in the room which we all agreed is not acceptable. There is no bar in the hotel. For the negatives we would go back for location on the island.

Room Tip: Take confirmation with you & double check to avoid extra fees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank frian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ixchelbeachh0tel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Ixchel Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Greetings dear frian,

Thanks for your input!

We are so glad to know that you have enjoyed our accommodations and location however, we would like to apologize for the inconvenients that it may cause the lack of information upon arrival and the maid services. Your valued feedback will help us to adjust and improve where we need to.

Perhaps, if you might return to Isla Mujeres in the future and if you consider to stay with us once again, we will be looking forward to become your holidays in to a memorable experience.

We wish you all the best!
Customer Service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This was my third trip to Isla and third times a charm. This beautiful condo is close to everything. Directly on the beach, one block from town. Shopping, restaurants, bars. Mauricio helped us so much from internet issues, to restaurant reservations. He directed us to Hotel Rolandi for my birthday dinner. Outstanding restaurant, dinner, and service. Mauricio, Thank you again for making our trip perfect. Clay & I will be back in the fall.

Room Tip: were were on the 6th. floor. great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I almost don't want to review this sweet hotel in fear that there will be no availability the next time I try to make reservations there. Stayed in Building 2--awesome as long as your room is above the second floor. Second floor rooms can be at palm tree height and therefore block your view of the sea. Very spacious and clean room. Master BR is separate from living/dining/kitchen area. Very nice pull-out sofa that easily accommodated a hefty 18 year old boy. The beds are too firm and the pillows were a little lumpy but they give you lots of them! Clean room and excellent service, clean white sand beach. Beach service was perfect--service did not improve with tipping which proves that they train their staff well and with pride. I tipped every day for them to set up my chairs and for food/drink service but it was not necessary. One day when I was on the beach and had forgotten to bring cash, I still received top-notch service! The proximity of restaurants to this hotel could not be more perfect. Lots of delightful options to please anyone's palate! Love the casual lifestyle of this island. It is a complete opposite of Cancun and an easy, short ferry ride over. We will be returning!

Room Tip: Views of the sea are blocked by the tops of palm trees in many 2nd floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank scubaprop4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ixchelbeachh0tel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ixchel Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dearest scubaprop4,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience!

We are more than pleased to know that you spent such a wonderful time with us and also appreciate the way that you highlight our accommodations, beach services and location. Positive reviews like yours, boost our energy and cheer up our service commitment.

We certainly be looking forward to a new opportunity to host you back and welcoming you with open arms.

All the best!
Customer Service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.1 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#2 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
745 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#7 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
442 reviews
1.9 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Secreto
Hotel Secreto
#9 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
366 reviews
3.8 mi away
Casa de los Suenos
Casa de los Suenos
#8 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
503 reviews
0.2 mi away
Na Balam Beach Hotel
Na Balam Beach Hotel
#11 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ixchel Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ixchel Beach Hotel

Address: Playa Norte S/N | Centro, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Price Range: £96 - £315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ixchel Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among the best hotels in Isla Mujeres, visit Ixchel Beach Hotel, a two wing, two phase condotel complex with 117 rooms in Isla Mujeres. East Wing (Phase One) with 48 rooms, 5 stories and opened in June 2006; West Wing (Phase Two) with 69 rooms, 6 stories and opened in August 2007. Both properties (see Accomodation Remark below) are designed in Mexican casual and modern stylish buildings located at the beautiful North Beach on the colorful island of Isla Mujeres (Women Island).Ixchel for the Mayans was the Goddess of love, fertility and the moon. Walking a few steps from downtown of this friendly island and facing the most beautiful white sand & powder touch beaches of Isla Mujeres, in the Yucatan Peninsula and the Mexican Caribbean, our Isla Mujeres hotel offers warm personable service in an upscale, intimate island experience perfect for families and romantics.If you want a great escape to a Isla Mujeres hotel, our hotel is ideal for the relaxing weekend getaway or a romantic honeymoon retreat. Treat yourself to all of the luxury that our Ixchel Hotel in Isla Mujeres has to offer and enjoy the surrounding areas, activities and beauty.Premier in Isla Mujeres hotels, the Ixchel Beach Hotel offers luxurious amenities, outstanding service and a tranquil atmosphere to completely relax and enjoy your Mexican vacation. You won't find a more beautiful or more convenient location to soak in the sun and experience this amazing island of Isla Mujeres.If you are looking among hotels in Isla Mujeres, look no further than the Ixchel Beach Hotel. You won't be disappointed. You, the guest, are our number one priority and your comfort and enjoyment during your vacations in Mexico and lodging experience are our primary concern. We will do everything we can to make your stay nothing short of spectacular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ixchel Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing