We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice suite at a great price”
Review of Ixchel Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Juno Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Very nice suite at a great price”
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

We spent a week in room 2601. I mention that up front because it's important to note that Ixchel is a condo hotel. Each unit is privately owned and decorated by its owner. So I can't tell you how similar any of the other suites are to 2601.

The hotel is located at the north end of the island with a great beach. In addition to the very good beach service provided by the hotel restaurant there are two other beach restaurants nearby.

They also have an arrangement allowing you to charge meals at a number of downtown restaurants to your room. That's a very convenient arrangement for guests wanting to conserve their cash since some restaurants don't take credit cards. I've never seen this before.

The hotel sits on the north end of Hildago meaning you are just minutes away from hundreds of great restaurants and shops as well as the lively street entertainment. But it's also just far enough away that it's quiet and peaceful.

Our room was actually a very large suite - nearly 1000 sq feet. The living room was comfortably furnished with a 47in Sony Bravia and home theater sound system. There was another only slightly smaller Bravia in the bedroom. This was great for those nights when one of us wanted to read while the other watched TV or if we wanted to watch different things. However, though the unit had a premium cable package, only 3 or 4 channels were in English.

The kitchen was fully equipped with granite counters and ss appliances. We went to the very well-stocked supermarket just a few blocks away and stocked up on drinks, fruit, bread and pastries. A coffee maker and coffee were provided.

The bedroom was not huge but certainly big enough with nice furniture and more than adequate storage. The bathroom was clean and modern.

Ixchel is comprised of 2 L shaped buildings with the long part of the L perpendicular to the beach. So most rooms don't front the beach. Instead you have a right angle view from the patio on the side. Our suite was in the short leg of the L, parallel to the beach, meaning we had a great view from the living room and bedroom. I'm pretty sure the suites in that section are bigger than the others but don't know for sure.

The front desk staff was very pleasant and services were very efficient. We had three separate occasions to call for service and in every instance, someone was at our door in less than 5 minutes. Housekeeping was also very good.

All in all we were very pleased with Ixchel. At a cost of somewhere in the neighborhood of $150 per night (we booked a package with air through an online travel site), we thought it was a great bargain.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank LouVil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ixchelbeachh0tel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ixchel Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Greetings dear LouVil,

How great to know that you recent stay was a memorable time.

We appreciate how you highlight our services, accommodations and location. To serve with quality and commitment is our daily target and your feedback is the most powerful tool to learn abut your recent experience as in this case, about the cable TV package in specific. This is the only service available on Isla Mujeres which only offers limited English channels, however we are attentive to the improvement of service delivered for the supplier.

We hope to have a new opportunity to host you back in another time and welcoming you with open arms.

All the best!
Customer Service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    813
    350
    90
    31
    21
See reviews for
408
576
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is located right on the most beautiful beach, with the most pristine water you will find!! The hotel is clean, quiet and has very friendly staff...in particular Mauricio who always had a smile on his face and happy to help with anything! They are very generous and even provide unlimited complimentary water in the foyer and room. The room service is great and we would definitely stay again. You are a minute walk to all the shops and restaurants.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sim7700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ixchelbeachh0tel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Ixchel Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Sim7700,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments.

Positive reviews like yours always inspire us to keep up the good work aiming to your satisfaction to deliver the most pleasant and enjoyable time during your holidays.

We wish you all the best and look forward to another opportunity to welcoming you back soon!

Kindest regards,
Customer Service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herzelia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the hotel for 6 days and we really enjoyed it.
First of all it has the best beach on the island! The water so calm, it's like a pool. The pool is also nice, not so big, but enough.
The service was great, everybody was really nice and helpful. The restaurant food was also very good, and the beach waiters were so nice and energetic.
We took the suit room which has a bedroom and a living room with fully accessorized kitchen. This room was only worth it because of the nice terrace and the amazing view. We didn't really used the living room and the kitchen.
The one thing that was really annoying is that the wifi did not work and when it did so it was disconnect all the time. The hotel staff knew about it and they said it's a problem they don't have an answer to.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Coshani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ixchelbeachh0tel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Ixchel Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Coshani,

We highly appreciate your review.

How great is to know that you have enjoyed our location accommodations and services during your recent holidays. We are committed to deliver the best possible experience to our Guest however, we would like to apologize for the inconvenience experienced because of the wireless internet connection which is an area of ​​opportunity where we are redoubling efforts to improve.

Please consider Ixchel Beach Hotel as your home in Isla Mujeres and invite you to come back and experience this improvements. We will welcoming you with open arms.

Sincerely,
Customer Service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gowanda, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Great location - very short walking distance to all shops/restaurants and ferry. Seven day stay in room 2406, which was clean & spacious with a great balcony overlooking the pool area and beach. Great bed and shower. Service was attentive (in fact, our refrigerator died and they immediately brought up a new one!). Mauricio, the concierge, was wonderful and took great pains and time to answer questions and attend our needs - a definite asset to the hotel. He added greatly to the enjoyment of our stay and was critical in securing a doctor's house call during a 2 day visit by "Montezuma" to my wife and me. Beach was the best I have ever seen.

Room Tip: All rooms have balconies (patio on first floor) facing the pool area with great views of the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ixchelbeachh0tel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Ixchel Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Robert G,

We highly appreciate your kindest review!

All direct comments from our Customers are the most valuable feedback that we can have. We are definitely lucky to be located in one of the most beautiful beaches, but most important for us is to know that our Guest can enjoy every single and wonderful experience at Isla Mujeres and Ixchel Beach Hotel.

Our most valued achievement is to be considered as your host; if you may return, we will be looking forward for a new opportunity to serve you with gladly pleasure!

Warm regards,
Customer Service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

we stayed in 302/302 from May 5th to May 19th. 2014
the unit was all that we wanted. from the well appointed kitchen ( used for breakfasts) to the incredible sunsets while enjoying a beverage on the spacious balcony.
This unit is great .....very clean ...great beds. We stayed in 302 ..it has two doubles ...large enough bathroom ...water...and a small fridge as well as flat screen tv..there was a ton of room to spread out ...Our friends had 301 which is the larger king suite ...they had no complaints at all!!!
the apt. is well furnished and the photos describing it are spot on...
the circular counter top is great to congregate around.....the ac is excellent and thee is a ton of hot water

thanks again sheryl for coming through for us

we will definitely use your unit again

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stewartNewfoundland2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston , MA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

First off what impressed me the most was the friendly and helpful service of the location.. being Mexico, the attitude is always a little relaxed.. not here all request were handled promptly and correctly.. even to the point on our departure, we missed our flight (having too much of a good time?) and Maurico, the concieire, literally was a god send in helping out with straightening out the problem... thank you so much.. the rooms, were big and spacious and well appointed.

the only issue we had was when we got there we were allocated a room on the first floor, and in the back. we overlooked the back of the restaurant and the bathrooms. to top it off there was no patio furniture, no way were going to stay in a room all week where we couldn't open the blinds or sit on the balcony. so we exchanged rooms, they were very accommodating, then again the hotel was, what 35% OCCUPIED., but the room we got was only marginally better, on the second floor, pretty much the same location. We've had this problem before with condo/hotels, when they aren't facing the beach, but perpendicular, the back corners really leave something to be desired.

Other than that, all was perfect... so again, request minimum third floor and higher closer to the front. The island is a great place to visit and relax, we really enjoyed the atmosphere and hospitality.. we had been going to Cozumel before, (8 trips) and finally gave up with way too many cruise boats ruining the island atmosphere.

Room Tip: make sure you are third floor or higher, DO Not take first or second floor unless you are real near...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobmga62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We just got back from a 7 night stay at the Ixchel and couldn't be more pleased! The hotel is an easy 10 minute walk from the water ferry port, even with luggage. There are taxi's and transportation readily available if you don't want to walk. The Ixchel is located directly on the beach, and it looks to be one of the biggest on the whole island in terms of size. There are 2 buildings, and we were booked in "Phase 1". We stayed on the 3rd floor, room 303, in a room that has 2 double beds, no balcony, with what we would call a partial ocean view. Air conditioning was FANTASTIC, and we had no problems with our room. We booked directly through the hotel's website using the "Stay 6 nights, get the 7th free" for a room rate of $136 a night... and they even left a nice note and free bottle of Cabernet for booking directly! Such a nice surprise! Our room looked to be adjoining to the suite next door, hence the no balcony... but we didn't care since we were on a budget! Provided for us was a microwave, mini-fridge, and a 10 gallon water cooler that was changed during our stay when we emptied it. Not having to buy bottled water was a nice surprise, at no extra cost! The hotel was really quiet, and we had no problems with noise (despite some of the other reviews we read on here prior).

There are 2 pools, both in full sun during the entire day (despite another review we read that said otherwise). There were a few times that we used the pool and had a staff person set an umbrella up for us to avoid a sunburn. The pools were clean, beautiful, and warm... with an equally clean outdoor restroom connected to the pool bar. The staff is very attentive, always asking if you need anything. Beach towels are exchanged daily for dry ones with no hassle at the front desk.

On the beach, the staff is eager to set up chairs and umbrellas as soon as you set foot on the sand. There is a bar next to the hotel with waiters that are eager to keep you hydrated. Drinks were really cheap on the beach, buy one get one free margaritas, rum punch, daquiris, etc for ~70 pesos! Check out was a breeze, and I honestly wouldn't hesitate staying here again in the future. I really can't come up with anything negative! If you're on the fence about staying at the Ixchel, DON'T BE! You honestly won't be disappointed. We loved every minute!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmyO1100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.3 mi away
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
#7 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,052 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
1.9 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Na Balam Beach Hotel
Na Balam Beach Hotel
#12 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#9 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
#21 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ixchel Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ixchel Beach Hotel

Property: Ixchel Beach Hotel
Address: Playa Norte S/N | Centro, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ixchel Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among the best hotels in Isla Mujeres, visit Ixchel Beach Hotel, a two wing, two phase condotel complex with 117 rooms in Isla Mujeres. East Wing (Phase One) with 48 rooms, 5 stories and opened in June 2006; West Wing (Phase Two) with 69 rooms, 6 stories and opened in August 2007. Both properties (see Accomodation Remark below) are designed in Mexican casual and modern stylish buildings located at the beautiful North Beach on the colorful island of Isla Mujeres (Women Island).Ixchel for the Mayans was the Goddess of love, fertility and the moon. Walking a few steps from downtown of this friendly island and facing the most beautiful white sand & powder touch beaches of Isla Mujeres, in the Yucatan Peninsula and the Mexican Caribbean, our Isla Mujeres hotel offers warm personable service in an upscale, intimate island experience perfect for families and romantics.If you want a great escape to a Isla Mujeres hotel, our hotel is ideal for the relaxing weekend getaway or a romantic honeymoon retreat. Treat yourself to all of the luxury that our Ixchel Hotel in Isla Mujeres has to offer and enjoy the surrounding areas, activities and beauty.Premier in Isla Mujeres hotels, the Ixchel Beach Hotel offers luxurious amenities, outstanding service and a tranquil atmosphere to completely relax and enjoy your Mexican vacation. You won't find a more beautiful or more convenient location to soak in the sun and experience this amazing island of Isla Mujeres.If you are looking among hotels in Isla Mujeres, look no further than the Ixchel Beach Hotel. You won't be disappointed. You, the guest, are our number one priority and your comfort and enjoyment during your vacations in Mexico and lodging experience are our primary concern. We will do everything we can to make your stay nothing short of spectacular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ixchel Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing