We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, on the beach boutique hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ixchel Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely, on the beach boutique hotel”
Reviewed 25 January 2009

We got to Isla Mujeres early in the morning from Cancun for a night's stay and the hotel checked us in at 10 AM! Unheard of in the states! The hotel is simple and well decorated and located on the North Beach of Isla Mujeres, an easy, laid back beach town. The front desk was extremely helpful and allowed us to eat a several locations in town to be charged to our room. The room was very nice, well decorated with a "zen-like" feeling. It was extremely clean and comfortable. I think we paid less than $150 for one night at this very nice hotel. I would highly recommend it and no doubt would return there for a repeat stay!

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank chisholms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    806
    349
    89
    31
    21
See reviews for
405
572
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2009

We stayed in Building 2, Room 303 for 4 nights. The view was of the pool and Building 1. It was only a PARTIAL ocean view room, if you can even call it that. It was a bit disappointing. It was a standard room with 2 double beds, ceramic tiles throughout, and sink outside of the bathroom which had a walk in shower. The shower was very spacious and the water pressure was nice. There was a 5 gallon bottle of purified water in the room which was really nice considering water in Mexico isn't the same as the US. The only complaint about the room was that the sheets on one of the beds smelled like body odor from day 1. The location was nice b/c it was at the end of the main street of the island (Playa Norta) and was within walking distance from the port. However, if you have a lot of luggage and are coming for the first time, you may want to hire one of the locals outside of the port to carry your luggage or just cab it there. Then once you get to know the area, you can easily walk there. Free wireless was available and if you couldn't get a signal from your room, you could get a LAN cord from the front desk for free. There was also a DVD player that can play MP3s in the room and a small gym on the first floor.

The hotel was just a short walk to the main part of the island where all the action was. The pools were very nice and heated. They had lounge chairs in the pool so you can sit in them and cool off easily. There were blue beach chairs behind the hotel and on the beach free for all guests to use. We ordered drinks and food from ComoNo, an affilliation to the hotel. Drinks were good but food was not so great. I would not recommend ordering food from them.
The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The concierge, Deiby, was knowledgeable and the prices we got through her for fishing, snorkeling, and Chichen Itza were cheaper than what we were quoted on the street.

We got a massage through the hotel. You can either get it done outside on the beach or they can come to your room where they bring the massage table to you. Overall, we were happy with the hotel and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank roseflower00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2009

We are seasoned travelers of the Caribbean and stay on a different island every year after Christmas and over New Years Eve. We stayed for 10 nights at the Ixchel Phase II ( West ) and though the hotel is clean and the maid staff pleasant and efficient along with the location within steps of the downtown nightlife....we would not recommend this hotel to friends. We had paid for a King bed on a high floor with an oceanview.......and we were given a room on the second floor with two full size beds and a view of dead grass.....even though we made reservations 9 months in advance! It took 2 days to remedy this and a call to our travel agent. The rooms are adequate and the water pressure strong, however every time my wife used her hairdryer it blew a fuse and all electricity vanished! The beds are so firm they could pass for CONCRETE! The pool is always in the shade. The beach is overly crowded with huge man-made sandbags....which destroys any feeling that you are in anyway on vacation in paradise. Most of the vacationers are working class Americans..which translates into loud, smoking rednecks with ill-behaved children. Luckily we found a quite beach with mostly European guests. The water is a pretty azure and calm, though I did find glass while swimming ...so please wear swimming shoes or SCUBA boots....the last thing anyone needs is a laceration repair in Mexico. Speaking of which, the food is wonderful and inexpensive as long as you stick to Mexican cuisine. The Dolphin Discovery is touristy but fun and Garrafon Park is worth going for the Zip Lines.

  • Liked — Proximity to restaurants
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank rlalderman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 January 2009

Everything was just perfect about this place. Had a great time with my two daughters. Will definitely come back again. Staff was friendly, excellent location right on the beach with great views. Rented through vrbo.com

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scr65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waltham
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2008

My wife and I stayed at Ixchel Beach Hotel unit 410 (a beachfront unit in the Phase II building) for 2 nights in early December as a stop on our honeymoon along the Riviera Maya. We loved the Ixchel, and if we go back to Isla Mujeres we would defintely stay here again. Per the advice from others on tripadvisor, we booked it through vrbo.com, which turned out to be a very good decision. It appeared to me that all the units that were available through vrbo were rented by 2 agents. One of them, Rod Dixon, got back to me very quickly and was responsive and patient as I asked him a thousand questions for only a 2 night stay. After I booked he continued to answer questions and send me helpful tips (pay the $3 to go out onto the rocks at Punta Sur and make sure to have the tixnchix fish at the tixnchix restaurant for lunch on Playa Lancheros were 2 of the best). The main benefit of using vrbo is you can pick which unit you want to stay in an see pics of it - the folks through the main Ixchel reservation email address were not helpful at all. Some more details:

The unit was huge, nicely decorated and clean. Both buildings are situated perpendicular to the ocean, so only the end units are full oceanfront. But the buildings are also at angles, so all the rooms look like they have a very good view. Being an end unit, our balcony was enormous, and wrapped around most of the unit, with sliding doors from the living room and bedroom. The view was amazing and was worth the trip to Isla on its own.

The beach was small in comparison to most along the mainland, but it was probably big compared to most places on the island. They were in the process of reclaiming it while we were there, and there were large sandbags there. No seaweed. The water was a beautiful green, pretty calm, and the water was shallow for long way out making it a great place to swim.

I had never been to Isla (or the Riviera Maya) before so I wasn't sure what to expect. The beach was a little more cramped than I expected, but the water more than made up for it. The town was also pretty cool, and probably smaller than I expected. The merchants were pretty vocal, but I think in a nicer way than in Playa del Carmen. The people were really nice, its hard to put yor finger on it, but they seemed a little more laid-back or genuine than most areas on the mainland (at least in our short trip)...If you go, think about Casa Rolandi (the one out of town at the villa Rolandi hotel) for dinner..

  • Liked — Great ocean, beautiful view, good location
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bjsWaltham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2008

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for two nights - we had booked the 1 bedroom suite and we were very impressed with the quality of the room. The suite came with all the amenities needed to cook in your own room - microwave, fridge, stove, cookware, etc. One of the best touches was the gallon jug of water available in the kitchen - a BIG plus in Mexico. We had a king size bed overlooking the ocean, and what a view! The suite came with a wrap around balcony which faced both the pool and the ocean. Walking to the ocean was a breeze - be sure to just use the chairs marked with the Ixchel logo - you'll get kicked out of the others if you don't pay up.

Downtown is easy walking distance - only about 2 short blocks away.

The rooms were clean & beautiful. Customer service was a bit lacking. The staff were mostly friendly, but I didn't get the feeling they really wanted us there. But, when you are coming and going, and don't need much from the staff, that's not that big of a deal. It's easy enough to overlook given the fantastic accomodations they offer.

Note: We did see the standard room, and it's very standard. If you can, spend a bit more for the 1 room suite. For just a little more, you'll feel like royalty.


There are several fantastic places to eat within short walking distance in the downtown area. We never had a bad meal. Drinks are 2 for 1 everywhere. We even tried Rolandos for pizza one night and it was fantastic. For oceanview dining, I'd recommend the Sunset Grill on the beach. Prices were a bit high there compared to other restaurants, but the food was fantastic. Oh, and Sunset grill offers FANTASTIC Margaritas - but watch out. They don't play with the Tequila and one of our friends on the trip had one too many and had to call it a very early night, missing the festivities in downtown.

  • Liked — Beautiful clean rooms with a wonderful beach view.
  • Disliked — Front staff service was only so-so.
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IslandPink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falls Church, VA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2008

Beautiful, very modern, and perfectly located. The rooms were exquisitely decorated. Leather coaches, wonderful artwork, large balconies, two large-screen TVs in a one-bedroom with DVD players. We highly recommend it.

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank ricvieira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.3 mi away
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
#7 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
2,006 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
680 reviews
1.9 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Na Balam Beach Hotel
Na Balam Beach Hotel
#12 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
826 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#8 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
380 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
#20 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ixchel Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ixchel Beach Hotel

Property: Ixchel Beach Hotel
Address: Playa Norte S/N | Centro, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ixchel Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among the best hotels in Isla Mujeres, visit Ixchel Beach Hotel, a two wing, two phase condotel complex with 117 rooms in Isla Mujeres. East Wing (Phase One) with 48 rooms, 5 stories and opened in June 2006; West Wing (Phase Two) with 69 rooms, 6 stories and opened in August 2007. Both properties (see Accomodation Remark below) are designed in Mexican casual and modern stylish buildings located at the beautiful North Beach on the colorful island of Isla Mujeres (Women Island).Ixchel for the Mayans was the Goddess of love, fertility and the moon. Walking a few steps from downtown of this friendly island and facing the most beautiful white sand & powder touch beaches of Isla Mujeres, in the Yucatan Peninsula and the Mexican Caribbean, our Isla Mujeres hotel offers warm personable service in an upscale, intimate island experience perfect for families and romantics.If you want a great escape to a Isla Mujeres hotel, our hotel is ideal for the relaxing weekend getaway or a romantic honeymoon retreat. Treat yourself to all of the luxury that our Ixchel Hotel in Isla Mujeres has to offer and enjoy the surrounding areas, activities and beauty.Premier in Isla Mujeres hotels, the Ixchel Beach Hotel offers luxurious amenities, outstanding service and a tranquil atmosphere to completely relax and enjoy your Mexican vacation. You won't find a more beautiful or more convenient location to soak in the sun and experience this amazing island of Isla Mujeres.If you are looking among hotels in Isla Mujeres, look no further than the Ixchel Beach Hotel. You won't be disappointed. You, the guest, are our number one priority and your comfort and enjoyment during your vacations in Mexico and lodging experience are our primary concern. We will do everything we can to make your stay nothing short of spectacular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ixchel Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing