We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I have never given any all 5 stars before!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ixchel Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
denton, texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“I have never given any all 5 stars before!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2009

Our penthouse deck overlooked the beautiful azur water, white sandy beaches, and peaceful little village on three sides! WOW is all we could say - the amenities were warm and welcoming, the service great, and the location and view FABULOUS. We are counting the days to go back! This property was building 2, penthouse #709...and I would not even THINK about staying anywhere else on the island again....and this is after traveling there for 15 years. I almost hate to share the place with you!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank texastammysue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    792
    346
    87
    31
    21
See reviews for
397
565
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denton, TX
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2009

Penthouse condo is the best place to enjoy a great patio with a spectacular view. Everything is new and the bed was very comfy. Great service by the friendly management. Some problems with the air conditioning, but a service man quickly rectified the situation. You might want to bring your own coffee. Had trouble finding any for sale in the grocery store. Location was great - close to restaurants, swing bars, shopping. The beach was beautiful and there is a nice pool with snack bar and great margaritas. The owners did a nice job decorating the condo and put a lot of thought into equipping it with whatever you need. A nice surprise was an ipod dock player. There are televisions in both the living room and bedroom. Check out the Sunset Grill next door. Take a golf cart ride around the island. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angelwings49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2009

ixchel is definitely a bargain for the money but if i had to split hairs i would say the penthouse jacuzzi did not operate properly (more like an outdoor bathtub) and the AC would not stop running at any temp setting (e.g., the thermostat would read 60 degrees even if i set it to 76). that said, the beach view is amazing, the in-house restaurant has delicious food and the staff is friendly and accommodating. the bed is extremely firm, which worked for me, but might not be for everyone. i would definitely stay here again on a return trip.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yafman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kewanee, IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2009

We stayed at Ixchel Condo #406 (VRBO # 138047) Oct 3-10. The trip was nothing short of wonderful. Rod was wonderful and makes sure that you have a great time. His tips for the island were very helpful. The condo was wonderfully furnished and has everything you need for a dream vacation. The beach is the best on the island and the clear water is simply amazing. The people at the condo are very helpful and the attentive. The people on the island become your friends and the food is simple great.
I would hghly recommend this condo and a visit to Isla Mujeres. -Doug Currier, Kewanee, Illinois

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DougKewaneeIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2009

My husband and I stayed with over 50 of our closest family members and friends at the ixchel condo's/hotel for our wedding weekend in June. The hotel is located on a beautiful stretch of white sand beach and only a 5 minute walk from town.
Almost the entire Ixchel hotel staff is warm, courteous, friendly and will go above and beyond to make your stay on Isla the best vacation possible. Giovanni-Thank you for making our trip so very special!
We stayed in fabulous penthouse 504. The penthouse is nicely decorated. Equipped with a stocked kitchen, modern bathroom and lots of games and magazines for entertainment . However, the best part of this amazing penthouse is the roof deck overlooking the ocean. It is equipped with a large bathroom, picnic table, sunbed, bbq, fridge, surround sound and of course hot tub.
Paradise is watching the sunset from your hot tub with a cocktail in hand!
Gracias Cecilia and Andrew!
We can not wait to visit again.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank almondestrada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freeport, MN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2009

Found this wonderful place to stay (Suite 308 rentixchel.com) directly from the owners. Could not have been more pleased with our choice. This particular owner has three units available and went the extra steps to make sure our stay was enjoyable. Breakfast was complimentary with the room, something not offered by all other units. This made it easy to get up and start enjoying the sun, pool and beach from the start of the day. The staff went out of thier way in many ways and even served us breakfast on the beach...oceanside! The staff was among the most helpful, cheerful group I have encountered on my 20+ trips to MX. We spent many hours in the infinity pool whether it was laying in the comfortable chaises in the shallow or swimming in the deeper end. Although truth be told our favorite spot was oceanside in the lounge chairs offered with umbrellas!
The rooms were spacious ( full kitchen, livingroom, large master bedroom and big deck) and the beds and pillows incredibly comfortable...something that is sometimes hard to find in MX. Typically I find myself waking often and tossing and turning on "extremely firm" ;) mattresses. The deck stretches off the livingroom and to the master bedroom with axcess to it through either and offers a view of the north beach and spectacular sunsets.
You are only a short block away from "going into town" and enjoying the nightlife. A walk we found well lit and comfortable to walk at any time of the day. Our plan is to return in January with our husbands and children and enjoy it all with them. I would recommend this condo for all types of vacations....it has it all!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sungirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2009

Amazing!! I have to say that this was by far one of the best vacations we've been on. We booked our room (Penthouse#709) through VRBO. The owners made our life so easy. They responded quickly and answered our numerous questions and then some. They promised us we would have an amazing time and did we ever. The room was so clean and comfortable it was almost hard to leave. The view from the balcony has to be the best on the island. Its very rare to find a vacation rental that actually delivers what it promises;the room, the staff, the beach and the town delivered so much more than we could have ever asked for.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saphirscene82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.3 mi away
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
#7 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,933 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
1.9 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Na Balam Beach Hotel
Na Balam Beach Hotel
#11 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
#22 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
3.9 mi away
Casa de los Suenos
Casa de los Suenos
#6 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ixchel Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ixchel Beach Hotel

Property: Ixchel Beach Hotel
Address: Playa Norte S/N | Centro, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ixchel Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among the best hotels in Isla Mujeres, visit Ixchel Beach Hotel, a two wing, two phase condotel complex with 117 rooms in Isla Mujeres. East Wing (Phase One) with 48 rooms, 5 stories and opened in June 2006; West Wing (Phase Two) with 69 rooms, 6 stories and opened in August 2007. Both properties (see Accomodation Remark below) are designed in Mexican casual and modern stylish buildings located at the beautiful North Beach on the colorful island of Isla Mujeres (Women Island).Ixchel for the Mayans was the Goddess of love, fertility and the moon. Walking a few steps from downtown of this friendly island and facing the most beautiful white sand & powder touch beaches of Isla Mujeres, in the Yucatan Peninsula and the Mexican Caribbean, our Isla Mujeres hotel offers warm personable service in an upscale, intimate island experience perfect for families and romantics.If you want a great escape to a Isla Mujeres hotel, our hotel is ideal for the relaxing weekend getaway or a romantic honeymoon retreat. Treat yourself to all of the luxury that our Ixchel Hotel in Isla Mujeres has to offer and enjoy the surrounding areas, activities and beauty.Premier in Isla Mujeres hotels, the Ixchel Beach Hotel offers luxurious amenities, outstanding service and a tranquil atmosphere to completely relax and enjoy your Mexican vacation. You won't find a more beautiful or more convenient location to soak in the sun and experience this amazing island of Isla Mujeres.If you are looking among hotels in Isla Mujeres, look no further than the Ixchel Beach Hotel. You won't be disappointed. You, the guest, are our number one priority and your comfort and enjoyment during your vacations in Mexico and lodging experience are our primary concern. We will do everything we can to make your stay nothing short of spectacular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Ixchel Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing