We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing beach front accomodation at Ixchel!”
Review of Ixchel Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2010

My wife and I stayed at Ixchel for 3 days in May and had such a fantastic time we had to come back for a full week in December! Ixchel is the perfect place to stay in Isla Mujeres. You are right on the beach over looking fantastic water and even more amazing sunsets. Prime restaurants are 2 blocks away and everything else you need is no more than 3 blocks away. We booked the penthouse suite - room 709 - and enjoyed hot tubbing every night. The suites only have 1 bedroom and somewhat small bathrooms but this is only a small drawback to spending the entire day by the beach, and being so close to all the amenities.
Isla Mujeres reminds us of Playa Del Carmen 10 years ago. The Island is very small but has so much to offer. It is simply a must see Island and Ixchel is a must place to stay when you`re there.

Nicki & Troy Dennison

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cozumelenos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,412)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,098 - 1,104 of 1,412 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2010

We stayed here 6 nights last March on our first visit to the island. Our room was large and clean. Since it was on the east tower of the building, we had no problem with music. The staff is friendly enough and English speaking. We were able to watch the sun set from our room. We never ate at the hotel's restaurant, as there are many inexpensive choices in town. We are returning to Isla again this spring but are staying twice as long for half the price at a more rustic small hotel that we checked out during our first visit. We'll report back on that trip upon return.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GuidoInDetroit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2009

This was our 2nd stay at Ixchel. All of the staff is very helpful and polite. We had a 2 bedroom condo. The rooms were nice and comfortable. The beach chairs, umbrellas and towels are provided.

The only negative is the loud disco music next door. The music went until 4 a.m. The internet connection was spotty.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank happyvoyager02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2009

We were on the first floor, of building one, and Chimbo's Palapa kept us awake three nights of our seven. The music played 10-2 Fri-Sun. We were given ear plugs, but it isn't the noise, it is the bass (base). Admittedly, we slept through some of it some of the nights, but it was pretty frustrating when you couldn't go back to sleep. I think there are many variables to consider - light/heavy sleeper, how tired you are, where you room is located...We went down there one night, and NO ONE was there. We asked them to turn the music down and they did, but they turned it back up again. That night the police came, and nothing changed. We finally complained enough and were moved to Privilege Aluxes next door and slept great. We toured NautiBeach and the manager said there were a few rooms at that hotel they were getting noise complaints. He said, "Isla is a very special place, it is not Cancun - the Chimbo palapa is out of place and too bad for the whole Island, not just Ixchel hotel" I heard there is a meeting in January with the mayor, although there was already a meeting that didn't go so well - so maybe things will get better, but I also heard that 'it won't change'. I have no idea how to predict.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank briellestoyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2009

Ixchel is a lovely resort on Playa del Norte on Isla Mujeres, an island that is just heaven. There is only one thing wrong--a disco was built on the beach in front of the condos and the bass beat can be heard until 3AM . . . or later. The condos apparently have nothing to do with it . . . the operators have the permits and play as late as they wish. Want to sleep? Pray for a night when the club is playing late. My sole complaint is the music. Everything else is perfect. I feel for the condo owners. Who wants to come to a peaceful island and listening to a booming bass beat late at night. You stay in Cancun for loud volume; you come to Isla Mujeres for peace and quiet.

Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
6  Thank MilfordPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2009

Skip Cancun and come directly to Playa Norte. If you don't want to do much except sit on a beach, read a book, eat fresh ceviche and guacamole and wander from beach bar to beach bar, Isla Mujeres is where you should be. It's quiet and sleepy by day and a short walk to "downtown" for cheap restaurants and bars at night. Ixchel was clean and no thrills. It's situated in the middle of Playa Norte so it's easy to walk up and down the beach or to town. I've never been somewhere so quiet, beautiful, (somewhat pricey) and effortlessly comfortable. I'd come again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Teefer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2009

The Ixchel is located at the Playa Norte end of Av. Hidalgo, with the street separating the Phase 1 tower from the other tower. Phase 1 is between Av. Hidalgo and Ave Guerrero, just past a vacant lot and next to a closed beach hotel and disco. The area just behind and beside the hotel was run down, but we felt very safe where we were. We stayed at the Ixchel in Phase 1, room 508 (penthouse) from 12/11 to 12/17. From what we understand, all the rooms are owned individually and the hotel staff just manages the property. (We would advise checking out the available rooms before check in since they are all furnished differently.) We upgraded to the penthouse since it was a special vacation for us, and we were in the phase 1 tower which is on the northeast side of the property and has the rooftop jacuzzi area. The rooftop is reached from a spiral staircase on the balcony. This room is one room removed from #510, the room closest to the beach. We attempted to move to room 510 but were told that the owners don't rent that room out. This is unfortunate since 510 has a wrap around balcony and the only rooftop area with a clear view of the ocean while you are sitting down.

Pros:
--The hotel is clean and located on a very nice beach (Playa Norte). We had no problems with beach chair availability, but of course we were in the low season. The staff were reasonably friendly and helpful and the maid service was very good. There were a couple issues we found with our room (glass plate in microwave missing, burnt out light bulb in the second floor bathroom) that were never addressed, but we only asked the one time and we said there was no hurry (mistake?). We did have a circuit breaker blow for the cooktop, but this was taken care of immediately. Overall, decent service for Mexico.
--The room was comfortable and there was a lot of space (maybe due to a lack of furniture?), and the rooftop area provided even more room. The balcony was large with a clear view of the water. The jacuzzi appeared well maintained. There was an entirely separate bathroom on the rooftop area, and we thought this area would have been a great place for our kids to sleep outside! (If the disco next door burns down before we visit again, anyway)
--The hotel is located just a couple blocks from multiple restaurants and bars, the shopping area, and several tiendas, and there is a decent size grocery store about five blocks away (we found they had the cheapest beer and a nice bakery). Ciros, a great place to rent a golf cart, is just three blocks away on Av Guerrero.
--The kitchen was big with a large refrigerator. The stovetop was a nice addition to have, and we saved some cash by hitting the grocery store and cooking our own breakfasts & several lunches.
--The bathrooms were large with good water pressure for Mexico.

Cons:
--THE DISCO NEXT DOOR!!! They are very loud, start the music at 11pm and run until 4am. They were open Fri to Sun nights with the bass pounding, but mercifully stayed closed the Mon-Wed we were also there. We got them back, however, by not buying any beer or food from them when their 'beach club' was open, so who had the last laugh?!
--We were disappointed with the response from the hotel on the disco issue. We knew in advance from Tripadvisor posts about the problem, but we were never notified before arrival. On arrival we were told that the hotel's solution to the problem was to provide earplugs to the guests. It would have gone a long way with us if the hotel had tossed us a free dinner or some drinks, some kind of gesture anyway. Oh well, we didn't let it ruin our trip.
--We were disappointed with the sparseness of the room. As you can see from our photos, there were no dressers in the room, only wire "milkcrate" things which would put you right at home if you were a college student, but otherwise came across as pretty cheesy. One big hassle for us--there were no lamps!! This is a drag if one of you wants to read in bed while the other sleeps and you only have overhead lighting. The futon/couch is pretty thin. It would be good for kids up, but would get to be uncomfortable for adults. We were able to see into several other rooms and found they were furnished much better than ours (some even had lamps!), so we believe the cheapness and lack of furnishings was a reflection on the condo owner, not the hotel itself. This was somewhat disappointing when we had spent extra for an upgrade.
--A down side with the penthouse is that you have to ask to have the jacuzzi turned on, and expect a warm-up time of a couple hours before it is hot. We would usually ask about 2pm for it to be turned on, and it was hot by sunset. The staff only forgot to do this once, but by then I had found the breaker so I could turn it on myself (as well as the temperature control so we could get it warmer). The staff would usually turn it off about 4am, so if you want a warm jacuzzi to wake up to make sure to arrange this.
--The rooftop could have been arranged a little better to make ocean viewing nicer while you were sitting down. It would have been nice if the owner would have provided some kind of radio or something for the rooftop area, but we get that the recession has been hard on everyone, condo owners included.

Overall, we would say that this was a nice, clean hotel with large rooms and we received our money's worth. We would certainly stay again (and bring kids) if the price were right. It is certainly not a luxury hotel, but it is comfortable.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shelsadMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.1 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#2 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
745 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#7 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
442 reviews
1.9 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Secreto
Hotel Secreto
#9 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
366 reviews
3.8 mi away
Casa de los Suenos
Casa de los Suenos
#8 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
503 reviews
0.2 mi away
Na Balam Beach Hotel
Na Balam Beach Hotel
#11 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ixchel Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ixchel Beach Hotel

Address: Playa Norte S/N | Centro, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Price Range: £96 - £315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ixchel Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among the best hotels in Isla Mujeres, visit Ixchel Beach Hotel, a two wing, two phase condotel complex with 117 rooms in Isla Mujeres. East Wing (Phase One) with 48 rooms, 5 stories and opened in June 2006; West Wing (Phase Two) with 69 rooms, 6 stories and opened in August 2007. Both properties (see Accomodation Remark below) are designed in Mexican casual and modern stylish buildings located at the beautiful North Beach on the colorful island of Isla Mujeres (Women Island).Ixchel for the Mayans was the Goddess of love, fertility and the moon. Walking a few steps from downtown of this friendly island and facing the most beautiful white sand & powder touch beaches of Isla Mujeres, in the Yucatan Peninsula and the Mexican Caribbean, our Isla Mujeres hotel offers warm personable service in an upscale, intimate island experience perfect for families and romantics.If you want a great escape to a Isla Mujeres hotel, our hotel is ideal for the relaxing weekend getaway or a romantic honeymoon retreat. Treat yourself to all of the luxury that our Ixchel Hotel in Isla Mujeres has to offer and enjoy the surrounding areas, activities and beauty.Premier in Isla Mujeres hotels, the Ixchel Beach Hotel offers luxurious amenities, outstanding service and a tranquil atmosphere to completely relax and enjoy your Mexican vacation. You won't find a more beautiful or more convenient location to soak in the sun and experience this amazing island of Isla Mujeres.If you are looking among hotels in Isla Mujeres, look no further than the Ixchel Beach Hotel. You won't be disappointed. You, the guest, are our number one priority and your comfort and enjoyment during your vacations in Mexico and lodging experience are our primary concern. We will do everything we can to make your stay nothing short of spectacular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ixchel Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing