We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a single bad thing to say about this place...it's perfect!”
Review of Ixchel Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 February 2011

This is where you want to be if you're staying in the downtown/Playa Norte section of Isla Mujeres. This is my 2nd time here and I do recommend splitting a 5-7 day trip in two, the first half in this part of town and the 2nd half mid-island away from all of the hubbub and with the locals. For this section of town, you can't beat Ixchel in terms of proximity to the downtown area vs actually being on the beach. The strip of beach that it is on is the best on Playa Norte, best for swimming and nicest sand. The beach chairs and umbrellas that they provide (and set up for you) to Ixchel guests and the chair side waiter service from the Ixchel's fantastic restaurant is awesome. The beach is also super close to all rooms and you barely have to move to be taken completely care of...and everything can be charged to your room. We brought own our beers that we got at the supermercado sometimes, but otherwise ordered theirs and they are only $2! The restaurant to the right of the hotel on the beach plays it's music a little loud during the day, but it's a beach so I guess they can't really control it. The service has been nothing short of exceptional with SUPER helpful and friendly receptionists and general staff. I'm tipping these two ladies who work at the front desk on my way out because she was so patient with me as I practiced my Spanish with them. We are in Phase 1 (not sure how Phase 2 differs) and the rooms are sensational. They are clean, super spacious, and homey. We had nice flat screen tvs in both rooms, a nice cd player with iPod jack and every amenity required or desired. ONE IMPORTANT NOTE: Be SURE you get a room with a balcony. The normal rooms don't seem worth it in terms of space/value and no balcony...for not that much more money, you triple or quadruple the space that you have and the balconies make all the difference in the world for breakfasts and general hanging out with some of the most gorgeous views of the Carribean that you'll ever see. Plus, the rooms with a balcony all have a living room which can make quite a difference if the person you are traveling with wants to sleep while you watch tv, etc. I literally have nothing bad to say about this place. I would stay here again in a heartbeat and think it's just a great, great place to say in Isla Mujeres. P/S Rent a moped (or a golf cart if you're not brave enough for a moped) and explore the island that way...it's REALLY fun!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,382)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

997 - 1,003 of 1,382 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2011

Stayed at Ixchel Beach Hotel in Jan. Read the comments about the hard beds and found that to be true but I've also found that at many Mexican hotels. We slept great! I also read that is was noisy but that was far from the truth for us. It was a modern clean quiet hotel located close to the main walking street action but far enough not to be bothered by it. It is right on the best beach on Isla Mujeres. We got the basic room with an ocean view. We missed having a balcony but otherwise the rooms was certainly big enough with a mini-fridge, big closet and a huge shower. One complaint I had was the room temp. We couldn't change the thermostat and it was 18 C (64.4F) in the room. Had to shut off the AC to warm up. Other was the lack of outlets. There were 3 free single outlets to charge computers, phones etc. We even had to move the coffee pot off the counter to plug it in. Small complaints for a great place to stay. I'd go back there again tomorrow!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WintersR4beaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2011

We got married on Isla Mujeres in June 2010. It was difficult for us to select a hotel for our guests, since a lot of our friends were on a pretty tight budget, but many of our family members were willing and able to splurge on some luxurious digs. Ixchel Beach Hotel was the perfect solution because it provided relatively cheap hotel-style rooms for our budget-conscious guests and gorgeous, luxury penthouse condos for those able to afford something a little nicer. Being able to provide such a wide array of accommodations and prices in one property was the perfect solution for us.

The hotel offered great social opportunities also. Having the two buildings facing each other and looking out over the pool area was a lot of fun since we and most of our guests chose to sit out on our balconies a lot so we were able to wave to each other (yet not be all up in each other's faces). It was literally the perfect-sized hotel for our wedding party (33 people ... not so small that it's depressing, but not so large that you never run into each other).

What's more, the staff went above and beyond to make our destination wedding truly memorable. We kind of lagged on booking our room so the suite we wanted wasn't available for our entire stay. However, the hotel staff were extremely accommodating and flexible and did everything in their power to move us into our preferred suite as quickly as possible. They came to collect all our bags and coordinated everything for us so we could have the perfect room for each night (huge oceanfront penthouse the day before the wedding so we could host an after-party following our rehearsal dinner, spacious suite for the wedding day to provide ample room for everyone to get ready, and a more modest condo the rest of the time to save us money).

This hotel was such an incredible value for money and the majority of our guests made it a point to tell us how perfect our choice was. Prime location right on Playa Norte, all the amenities you could want without being too big or over-the-top.

The staff were so friendly and kind! I ran out of time to print our welcome letters before we left, but they were more than happy to print them for me after we arrived and even distribute welcome bags upon check-in. Also, when we got back to our suite after our wedding, it was completely decorated, and I mean ALL OUT! They had even left a bottle of champagne on the table with a card saying "Happy Hooneymoon" (their misspelling, not mine!).

One or two of our guests complained that the front desk service was slow and that's the only reason I gave 4 instead of 5 stars. However, I don't think that's the hotel's fault ... when you're on the island, you're on island time and need to realize that everyone else is too!

For anyone getting married on the island, I highly recommend Ixchel Beach Hotel for you and your guests since it provides such a wide range of accommodations and prices and is in a perfect location.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iheartmypitbull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2011

Two couples were interested in exploring Isla Mujeres for the first time. The purpose was to check out the SCUBA diving operations, dive types and excursions. Also visiting other accommodations that were available on the island for future trips. We were most interested in a facility that had a good location, access to the central Hildago area and beach. We were not interest in participating in an all inclusive program but only the accommodations. We were more interested in being comfortable and to follow are own schedule. I would like to point out that some times people talk about the Ixchel Beach Hotel or Ixchel Condos. I don’t know if they are interchangeable or are separate. There are even different website. The unit discussed in this review was a private condo and was arranged by a rental agency. However both IBH and IC are located in the same buildings and the same location.

Ixchel Condos was originally selected because it appeared to have a good location. We stayed in one of the penthouses in building number one which is on the right side when looking to the north. The penthouse was make up of two floors. The first floor contained the two bedroom, two baths, kitchen, living/dining room area and a terrace that ran across the entire front of the units. The second floor, the very large patio area of about 1400 square feet was accessed by a spiral staircase from the terrace to the roof top patio. Up on the rooftop patio was a hot tube, kitchen area, bar area, grill as well as built-in seating areas and large lounge chairs. This top area is the jewel of the penthouse. It gives you a great view of the beach and is an enjoyable place to socialize. This area is enough by itself, to recommend the facility.

Now if it is you desire to be spoiled by luxury, thread count and all sorts of FOO FOO things then you need to look elsewhere. Rather or not the beds are hard or soft is a subjective opinion, I found them to be satisfactory. I always find it interesting when some one reviews a property as if they are inspecting an operating room with a 100 check point list. I did not see, hear, smell or feel anything that would impact on my opinion or my vacation. This is not a resort, it is a condo which implies you had a decision to take some responsibility. Your every wish is not their thing. They are most helpful however if you have a problem with a unit, need assistance, information or any relating along those lines. These are condos where everyday people have everyday vacations or live. It has one of the best beaches, easy access and units that come in all sizes with satisfactory furnishing/ utensils. You can cook a meal or keep thing cool in the frig but remember YOU ARE ON VACATION! Good place for families and couples who want to enjoy the character of the island and not wear some colored bracelet.

The location of Ixchel is excellent. The unit was clean and functional. Step out of the building turning north and you are a maximum of 50 feet from the two swimming pools, 100 feet from the large beach area and if you turn south you are at the start of Hildago Street. You are 5 minutes from the ferry.

There were other accommodation that were visited that had some of the criteria we were looking for but when it came down to it Ixchel Condo was the best fit.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crapshooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2011

I've been super late in writing this review. We actually stayed here during News Years 2010. When researching this hotel it was the first time using Trip Advisor so it was a leap of faith I'm glad I took. Based on the reviews we chose this hotel and were pleasantly surprised when we arrived. It was right at the front of Hidlago Ave which is the main pedestrian street lined with bars and restaurants. It's also steps from the beach. The front desk staff was very helpful in giving us tips since it was the first time on the island. We had a wonderful time and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chicagogirl537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2011

We stayed 7 nights at this hotel for a wedding in early October. We didn't really look into the hotel much before staying since it had been chosen by the wedding party. The room we booked was a penthouse suite, and for the price we thought it was a great deal. The suite was very large with a separate living and bedroom area, 1.5 bathrooms, a nice sized kitchenette, and a fabulous balcony with seating and a hot tub. The staff was generally friendly, with a few exceptions, but most people were very accommodating. We didn't experience any noise issue as I've seen in other reviews, the only problem with sleeping is that the beds are very hard, but you do get used to it, and this seems to be sort of the "norm" in Mexico. Housekeeping was friendly and made up the room everyday very nicely. We didn't experience any issues with beach availability. There was plenty of room for our large group every day, and umbrellas were available for those who wanted to stay out of the sun. It's true that this hotel doesn't have any food options, but there are SO many restaurants within a 2 minute walk of this place, also there are several restaurants that will deliver food to you at the hotel.

The last night of our stay Hurricane Paula was headed towards Cancun, and I was very impressed with how the hotel handled it. They kept everyone informed on what was going on, and what the plans were if we needed to be evacuated. They were very organized, and even had a staff member in charge who came to stay the night at the hotel who had been through a previous hurricane. They provided us with extra jugs of clean water, and moved us from the penthouse to a safer interior room. This hotel also has a generator, so they were able to keep the power on even when the island lost power. The hurricane didn't end up being that big of a deal, but our flight ended up being cancelled, so we had to stay another night and the hotel didn't charge us.

When we go back to Isla Mujeres we will be staying here again!

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mdwsttrvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2011

My husband and I stayed at Ixchel for six days and had a wonderful experience. We had one of the standard rooms, with an ocean view, and it was clean, modern, and yet still mexican-feeling... Beds were super comfortable, the linens felt great, and the rooms were quiet, so we could sleep in or take naps... The big windows facing the pool and ocean kept the room full of light, and the bathroom was just beautiful. Location was perfect -- just walk through the hotel to what I think is the nicest stretch of Playa Norte... Service was good and helpful, there were plenty of lounge chairs just feet from the water, and umbrellas if you wanted them... We peeked at other hotels along the beach and didn't see anything that felt as nice. We'll definitely be back, hopefully with friends, in which case we'll try to reserve one of the two bedroom condos.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigBlueBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.1 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#2 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
735 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#8 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
425 reviews
1.9 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Secreto
Hotel Secreto
#9 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
359 reviews
0.2 mi away
Na Balam Beach Hotel
Na Balam Beach Hotel
#12 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
881 reviews
3.8 mi away
Casa de los Suenos
Casa de los Suenos
#7 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ixchel Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ixchel Beach Hotel

Address: Playa Norte S/N | Centro, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Price Range: £101 - £271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ixchel Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among the best hotels in Isla Mujeres, visit Ixchel Beach Hotel, a two wing, two phase condotel complex with 117 rooms in Isla Mujeres. East Wing (Phase One) with 48 rooms, 5 stories and opened in June 2006; West Wing (Phase Two) with 69 rooms, 6 stories and opened in August 2007. Both properties (see Accomodation Remark below) are designed in Mexican casual and modern stylish buildings located at the beautiful North Beach on the colorful island of Isla Mujeres (Women Island).Ixchel for the Mayans was the Goddess of love, fertility and the moon. Walking a few steps from downtown of this friendly island and facing the most beautiful white sand & powder touch beaches of Isla Mujeres, in the Yucatan Peninsula and the Mexican Caribbean, our Isla Mujeres hotel offers warm personable service in an upscale, intimate island experience perfect for families and romantics.If you want a great escape to a Isla Mujeres hotel, our hotel is ideal for the relaxing weekend getaway or a romantic honeymoon retreat. Treat yourself to all of the luxury that our Ixchel Hotel in Isla Mujeres has to offer and enjoy the surrounding areas, activities and beauty.Premier in Isla Mujeres hotels, the Ixchel Beach Hotel offers luxurious amenities, outstanding service and a tranquil atmosphere to completely relax and enjoy your Mexican vacation. You won't find a more beautiful or more convenient location to soak in the sun and experience this amazing island of Isla Mujeres.If you are looking among hotels in Isla Mujeres, look no further than the Ixchel Beach Hotel. You won't be disappointed. You, the guest, are our number one priority and your comfort and enjoyment during your vacations in Mexico and lodging experience are our primary concern. We will do everything we can to make your stay nothing short of spectacular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ixchel Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing