We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The service at Ixchel Beach Hotel was wonderful” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ixchel Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Battle Creek, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The service at Ixchel Beach Hotel was wonderful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2011

I'd like to complimental the hotel staff, specifically Giovanni and Jabes the front desk workers, for all of their service during our week's stay. They had helpful suggestions, good recommendations, attentive phone calls to arrange reservations and more. Gracias!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindasbarnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    793
    346
    87
    31
    21
See reviews for
397
566
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2011

This hotel is the perfect location at the very tip of the restaurant strip it is quiet and yet is right on the beach. Rooms were very comfortable and roomy and staff were most helpful we would definitely stay here again. It was one of the best on the island

Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Bianca1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2011

I recently stayed at the Ixchel Beach Hotel with a large group of family members. We had four two-bedroom units in Ixchel II and one unit in Ixchel I. We booked the units through the individual owners on VRBO or Vacation Rentals.com. All of the accommodations suited our needs very well, especially the beachfront balconies. I worked with Deiby, the concierge, prior to our arrival. She made arrangements for golf cart rentals and dinner reservations in advance of our visit. Deiby even came in on her day off to greet me and to assure that all arrangements were in line. The location of Ixchel was perfect - right on the beach, but within walking distance of restaurants and shops. The restaurants were most accommodating of our large group - tables were ready for us when we arrived and the wait staff was friendly and efficient. I highly recommend this hotel and am very appreciative to Deiby for her assistance with arrangements.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin6of6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
63 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2011

This is where you want to be if you're staying in the downtown/Playa Norte section of Isla Mujeres. This is my 2nd time here and I do recommend splitting a 5-7 day trip in two, the first half in this part of town and the 2nd half mid-island away from all of the hubbub and with the locals. For this section of town, you can't beat Ixchel in terms of proximity to the downtown area vs actually being on the beach. The strip of beach that it is on is the best on Playa Norte, best for swimming and nicest sand. The beach chairs and umbrellas that they provide (and set up for you) to Ixchel guests and the chair side waiter service from the Ixchel's fantastic restaurant is awesome. The beach is also super close to all rooms and you barely have to move to be taken completely care of...and everything can be charged to your room. We brought own our beers that we got at the supermercado sometimes, but otherwise ordered theirs and they are only $2! The restaurant to the right of the hotel on the beach plays it's music a little loud during the day, but it's a beach so I guess they can't really control it. The service has been nothing short of exceptional with SUPER helpful and friendly receptionists and general staff. I'm tipping these two ladies who work at the front desk on my way out because she was so patient with me as I practiced my Spanish with them. We are in Phase 1 (not sure how Phase 2 differs) and the rooms are sensational. They are clean, super spacious, and homey. We had nice flat screen tvs in both rooms, a nice cd player with iPod jack and every amenity required or desired. ONE IMPORTANT NOTE: Be SURE you get a room with a balcony. The normal rooms don't seem worth it in terms of space/value and no balcony...for not that much more money, you triple or quadruple the space that you have and the balconies make all the difference in the world for breakfasts and general hanging out with some of the most gorgeous views of the Carribean that you'll ever see. Plus, the rooms with a balcony all have a living room which can make quite a difference if the person you are traveling with wants to sleep while you watch tv, etc. I literally have nothing bad to say about this place. I would stay here again in a heartbeat and think it's just a great, great place to say in Isla Mujeres. P/S Rent a moped (or a golf cart if you're not brave enough for a moped) and explore the island that way...it's REALLY fun!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
135 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2011

Stayed at Ixchel Beach Hotel in Jan. Read the comments about the hard beds and found that to be true but I've also found that at many Mexican hotels. We slept great! I also read that is was noisy but that was far from the truth for us. It was a modern clean quiet hotel located close to the main walking street action but far enough not to be bothered by it. It is right on the best beach on Isla Mujeres. We got the basic room with an ocean view. We missed having a balcony but otherwise the rooms was certainly big enough with a mini-fridge, big closet and a huge shower. One complaint I had was the room temp. We couldn't change the thermostat and it was 18 C (64.4F) in the room. Had to shut off the AC to warm up. Other was the lack of outlets. There were 3 free single outlets to charge computers, phones etc. We even had to move the coffee pot off the counter to plug it in. Small complaints for a great place to stay. I'd go back there again tomorrow!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WintersR4beaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clara, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2011

We got married on Isla Mujeres in June 2010. It was difficult for us to select a hotel for our guests, since a lot of our friends were on a pretty tight budget, but many of our family members were willing and able to splurge on some luxurious digs. Ixchel Beach Hotel was the perfect solution because it provided relatively cheap hotel-style rooms for our budget-conscious guests and gorgeous, luxury penthouse condos for those able to afford something a little nicer. Being able to provide such a wide array of accommodations and prices in one property was the perfect solution for us.

The hotel offered great social opportunities also. Having the two buildings facing each other and looking out over the pool area was a lot of fun since we and most of our guests chose to sit out on our balconies a lot so we were able to wave to each other (yet not be all up in each other's faces). It was literally the perfect-sized hotel for our wedding party (33 people ... not so small that it's depressing, but not so large that you never run into each other).

What's more, the staff went above and beyond to make our destination wedding truly memorable. We kind of lagged on booking our room so the suite we wanted wasn't available for our entire stay. However, the hotel staff were extremely accommodating and flexible and did everything in their power to move us into our preferred suite as quickly as possible. They came to collect all our bags and coordinated everything for us so we could have the perfect room for each night (huge oceanfront penthouse the day before the wedding so we could host an after-party following our rehearsal dinner, spacious suite for the wedding day to provide ample room for everyone to get ready, and a more modest condo the rest of the time to save us money).

This hotel was such an incredible value for money and the majority of our guests made it a point to tell us how perfect our choice was. Prime location right on Playa Norte, all the amenities you could want without being too big or over-the-top.

The staff were so friendly and kind! I ran out of time to print our welcome letters before we left, but they were more than happy to print them for me after we arrived and even distribute welcome bags upon check-in. Also, when we got back to our suite after our wedding, it was completely decorated, and I mean ALL OUT! They had even left a bottle of champagne on the table with a card saying "Happy Hooneymoon" (their misspelling, not mine!).

One or two of our guests complained that the front desk service was slow and that's the only reason I gave 4 instead of 5 stars. However, I don't think that's the hotel's fault ... when you're on the island, you're on island time and need to realize that everyone else is too!

For anyone getting married on the island, I highly recommend Ixchel Beach Hotel for you and your guests since it provides such a wide range of accommodations and prices and is in a perfect location.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iheartmypitbull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crane Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2011

Two couples were interested in exploring Isla Mujeres for the first time. The purpose was to check out the SCUBA diving operations, dive types and excursions. Also visiting other accommodations that were available on the island for future trips. We were most interested in a facility that had a good location, access to the central Hildago area and beach. We were not interest in participating in an all inclusive program but only the accommodations. We were more interested in being comfortable and to follow are own schedule. I would like to point out that some times people talk about the Ixchel Beach Hotel or Ixchel Condos. I don’t know if they are interchangeable or are separate. There are even different website. The unit discussed in this review was a private condo and was arranged by a rental agency. However both IBH and IC are located in the same buildings and the same location.

Ixchel Condos was originally selected because it appeared to have a good location. We stayed in one of the penthouses in building number one which is on the right side when looking to the north. The penthouse was make up of two floors. The first floor contained the two bedroom, two baths, kitchen, living/dining room area and a terrace that ran across the entire front of the units. The second floor, the very large patio area of about 1400 square feet was accessed by a spiral staircase from the terrace to the roof top patio. Up on the rooftop patio was a hot tube, kitchen area, bar area, grill as well as built-in seating areas and large lounge chairs. This top area is the jewel of the penthouse. It gives you a great view of the beach and is an enjoyable place to socialize. This area is enough by itself, to recommend the facility.

Now if it is you desire to be spoiled by luxury, thread count and all sorts of FOO FOO things then you need to look elsewhere. Rather or not the beds are hard or soft is a subjective opinion, I found them to be satisfactory. I always find it interesting when some one reviews a property as if they are inspecting an operating room with a 100 check point list. I did not see, hear, smell or feel anything that would impact on my opinion or my vacation. This is not a resort, it is a condo which implies you had a decision to take some responsibility. Your every wish is not their thing. They are most helpful however if you have a problem with a unit, need assistance, information or any relating along those lines. These are condos where everyday people have everyday vacations or live. It has one of the best beaches, easy access and units that come in all sizes with satisfactory furnishing/ utensils. You can cook a meal or keep thing cool in the frig but remember YOU ARE ON VACATION! Good place for families and couples who want to enjoy the character of the island and not wear some colored bracelet.

The location of Ixchel is excellent. The unit was clean and functional. Step out of the building turning north and you are a maximum of 50 feet from the two swimming pools, 100 feet from the large beach area and if you turn south you are at the start of Hildago Street. You are 5 minutes from the ferry.

There were other accommodation that were visited that had some of the criteria we were looking for but when it came down to it Ixchel Condo was the best fit.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crapshooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.3 mi away
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
#7 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,938 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
1.9 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Na Balam Beach Hotel
Na Balam Beach Hotel
#12 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
#22 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
3.9 mi away
Casa de los Suenos
Casa de los Suenos
#6 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ixchel Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ixchel Beach Hotel

Property: Ixchel Beach Hotel
Address: Playa Norte S/N | Centro, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ixchel Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among the best hotels in Isla Mujeres, visit Ixchel Beach Hotel, a two wing, two phase condotel complex with 117 rooms in Isla Mujeres. East Wing (Phase One) with 48 rooms, 5 stories and opened in June 2006; West Wing (Phase Two) with 69 rooms, 6 stories and opened in August 2007. Both properties (see Accomodation Remark below) are designed in Mexican casual and modern stylish buildings located at the beautiful North Beach on the colorful island of Isla Mujeres (Women Island).Ixchel for the Mayans was the Goddess of love, fertility and the moon. Walking a few steps from downtown of this friendly island and facing the most beautiful white sand & powder touch beaches of Isla Mujeres, in the Yucatan Peninsula and the Mexican Caribbean, our Isla Mujeres hotel offers warm personable service in an upscale, intimate island experience perfect for families and romantics.If you want a great escape to a Isla Mujeres hotel, our hotel is ideal for the relaxing weekend getaway or a romantic honeymoon retreat. Treat yourself to all of the luxury that our Ixchel Hotel in Isla Mujeres has to offer and enjoy the surrounding areas, activities and beauty.Premier in Isla Mujeres hotels, the Ixchel Beach Hotel offers luxurious amenities, outstanding service and a tranquil atmosphere to completely relax and enjoy your Mexican vacation. You won't find a more beautiful or more convenient location to soak in the sun and experience this amazing island of Isla Mujeres.If you are looking among hotels in Isla Mujeres, look no further than the Ixchel Beach Hotel. You won't be disappointed. You, the guest, are our number one priority and your comfort and enjoyment during your vacations in Mexico and lodging experience are our primary concern. We will do everything we can to make your stay nothing short of spectacular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Ixchel Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing