We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing...”
Review of Casa Sirena Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Casa Sirena Hotel
Ranked #1 of 38 Isla Mujeres B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, Vermont
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Amazing...”
Reviewed 18 March 2013

What a wonderful experience Casa Sirena was!! From the warm welcome by Steve to the spotlessly clean rooms to the friendly and efficient service at breakfast, our stay was 100% perfect. Our first night was in Room 4, which is on the 3rd floor and has two twin beds, a small balcony, and a WONDERFUL bathroom with lots of windows and a door that opens to a 2nd French-style balcony. The last six nights of our stay were in Room 3, which is on the 2nd floor and has two bedrooms (one with a queen and one with a king), a long, narrow balcony, and a great bathroom. If the bathroom from Room 4 could be combined with the bedrooms and balcony of Room 3, it would be a perfect combination! You won't go wrong with either room... As an added bonus, you can pick up a wifi signal in Room 3.

Steve is a great host - super friendly, lots of helpful tips on places to visit and eat, and is friends with some wonderful ex-pats on the island. I participated in a few of the Happy Hours, and while I'm not a drinker and not an overly social person, I really enjoyed Happy Hour. I never felt any pressure to drink, but was offered thirst quenching non-alcoholic beverages and soda. The view of the island from the Happy Hour deck is really spectacular, with the lights of Cancun in the distance.

Breakfast was good, although by the end of the week I was ready for eggs and bacon - and voila, that was a choice!!

Some people might not like it that you can see real Mexican homes from your balconies - I loved it. It's how the people on the island really live. The seaview from Room 3 (facing east) is amazing, but like anything it would be that much better from one floor higher. There were lots of power lines in the view (which of course Steve has no "power" over) - just keep that in mind!! The view from Room 4 (facing west) was really nice, no power lines in the view, but the water is further away.

Another great thing about Casa Sirena is its location on the island itself - right along Hidalgo, which is THE main drag for food and shopping. The hotel is two blocks south of the busy part of Hidalgo, so the street in front of the hotel is quiet, yet you are so close to everything. Playa Norte is a 10 minute walk north up Hidalgo. Some of our favorite restaurants:

Rooster - great salads for lunch, plus awesome tacos.
Lola Valentina's - I had a wonderful chicken stuffed with cream cheese and jalapeno - loved it so much that we ate there a 2nd time, and I ordered the same thing!
Compadres - Classic Mexican food, super friendly waitstaff.
Restaurant at Casa de los Suenos (located near the southern tip of the island) - wonderful little restaurant located at the Casa de los Suenos hotel.
There was also a really good Italian place right along Hidalgo - can't remember the name, but you'll be able to find it.

Restaurant to AVOID: Satay (terrible Thai food)

Also, there may be one night that Steve plans to bring most guests to Lolo Lorena's which is a restaurant owned by one of his friends. The night we went was an "off" night for her and it was just plain bad (you will see my review there), but others RAVE about it. What I would recommend: find out the menu in advance, and MAKE SURE you will get to sit outside in her garden rather that the stuffy, crowded dining room.

There is also a quesadilla food cart 20 seconds from the hotel - DELICIOUS!! The gal makes them while you watch - including a made-from-scratch tortilla!!

Our whole experience was amazing, from arrival to departure... Bev (our host the last couple of nights) is a firecracker - if you meet her, you will love her!!

Room Tip: Room 3 has view east towards crashing waves, with some power lines in the view. Room 4 is one floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbuker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve B, Owner at Casa Sirena Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
Hola amigo! I am always especially happy when a travel professional enjoys staying at Casa Sirena. Thanks for the comprehensive review, and I already have ideas for your next round of restaurants on the island!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    839
    8
    3
    0
    4
See reviews for
59
537
39
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2013

My wife and I spent 4 nights at Casa Sirena and can't wait to go back. Steve and his staff were great hosts. The breakfasts were awesome and you do not want to miss happy hour. The entire hotel is clean and updated with all the amenities.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy_15911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

This was our 3rd time to IM and 3rd stay at Casa Sirena. If you're looking for a relaxing vacation with great food and just the right amount of fun, Casa Sirena is the spot. Steve is the most amazing host and his staff, warm, friendly and always working to make sure the guests of Casa Sirena are at ease. The TA reviews don't lie. Happy Hours and breakfasts make your stay all the more memorable. If you're looking for the best place to rest your head on IM, look no further than Casa Sirena!

Room Tip: We love room #1 bc of the quaint private patio with large cushioned sofa bench.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank d75angel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Iowa, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

We've toyed with the idea of staying at Casa Sirena for a couple of years and wish now we would've started earlier. Steven goes out of his way to ensure his guests are comfortable and willingly shares information on places to go and things to do. The breakfasts are true Mexican delights prepared and served by attentive employees. Rooms are clean and well maintained. Happy hour (two hours long) on the roof with the sun setting and great margaritas are a great way to get ready for the balance of the evening. It is close to everything needed on Isla but yet is very quiet, sometimes that's a tough combination to achieve, but Casa Sirena delivers! Can't stress strongly enough that you will enjoy your stay. We felt like part of a Casa Sirena family and really enjoyed the other house guests. Thanks Steven!
Larry & Cathy

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mmelck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Fabulous rooms, warm staff, perfect location with the best views, if your vacation spot is Isla, it has to be at casa Sirena . Close to food, shopping and the beach. The evening happy hours are a chance to share your day, and the morning breakfast is superb. You will not be disappointed

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Arriving at Casa Sirena is like coming home. Only better. Because I don't have to cook or clean and I can start drinking in the afternoon if I so desire.

The location is perfect - right in the center of downtown so you are close to restaurants, nightlife, shops and only a short walk from Playa Norte.

The staff is perfect - they bring you a huge, delicious breakfast with fresh fruit and juice (you get your own coffee at the bar. Trust me, if I can do it, you can, too) and clean your room so that it smells of Fabuloso cleaner (this is what heaven smells like) and fold your towels into the cutest little animals on your bed.

Comfort- Everything you need. Ironing board, iron, blow dryer, quality bathroom products, sanitizing gel, refrigerator, beach bag, beach towels, in room safe, sunblock, bug spray. The beds are super comfy, too.

Happy Hour - So much fun. I always meet fun and interesting people and have a blast. And watching the sunset from the rooftop is so relaxing and beautiful.

Steve- Best. Host. Ever.

All in all, I would just move in if I could. The only bad thing about Casa Sirena is that you have to go home at some point.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moongrl722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve B, Owner at Casa Sirena Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
There is always fun in store when Moongirl checks in to Casa Sirena! One of the most unexpected pleasures of Innkeeping is when regular clients become friends...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 March 2013

This was our first visit to Isla Mujeres –“Island of Women”---and to Casa Sirena—“Mermaid House”---and that decision--was based upon multiple exuberant positive suggestions made by our trusted friends. They could not have been more correct. We wanted exciting exploration possibilities, a peaceful serene environment, wonderful friendly people to be around, great food, a variety of interesting activity options, and a safe clean place to come back to after a day’s activities----and we could not have made a better choice!

The details of any “journey” are the headaches of traveling—and when the details are jumbled, confused, not attended to, or ignored—the journey becomes a nightmare. A Mexican gentleman named Jose’ (jose@askisla.com) works with the Casa Sirena staff to ensure that once you have landed in Cancun, you are picked up expeditiously, transported efficiently, and placed safely in the cradling arms of your home-away-from-home at Casa Sirena—and importantly, this same “transportation efficiency” is repeated when you leave---ensuring that your arrival at the airport ---and transportation to and from Casa Sirena--- is as smooth and seemless as possible. Because Jose’ treats everyone as a personal friend ---and ---recognizes each as a weary traveler ---in need of attention----the “details”of arriving and leaving---seem to be trivial and are completed worry-free.

The island itself, north of Cuzumel, just off the coast near Cancun, is a pirate’s gold mine—surrounded by the delicate soft greens and blues of the Caribbean, it bathes itself in seclusion, sun, peace, white sands, and gentle ocean breezes. The size is such that it can be easily navigated and explored using a golf cart---a common form of transportation---and the joy of this is experience cannot be overstated---it requires common sense --but no license --and is an efficient way to thread your way around through the fantastic vistas and secrets of this magical little island—which affords snorkeling, scuba, fishing, porpoise swimming, zip line adventures, excellent dining, outstanding Mexican cuisine specialties, a variety of beach-located spas, Mayan ruin-site walks, Mexican artisan products, power-kite flying, swimming, and excellent exploration possibilities. Money exchange is also excellent and very easy---because of the many conveniently located exchange centers and multiple ATM kiosks---that are simple to understand and to operate. The people of the island are courteous, non-intrusive, polite, eager to help, friendly, and appreciative of your being there. The island enjoys a nearly crime-free environment, such that moonlit strolls---night or day---along deserted beaches, limestone passageways, quiet off-roads, or starlit dunes---are safe, peaceful, and romantic. The accepted and usual attire is casual to “extremely” casual shorts, bathing suits, T-shirts, and sandals—with repeat offenders hardly ever noticed.

Casa Sirena itself is difficult to define in terms that will adequately portray its numerous qualities---as it is –“THE” –Bed and Breakfast of the Caribbean loop. The building itself has a clean --pure white appearance, and is snuggled unobtrusively between ocean and bay—literally surrounded by the mesmerizing songs characteristic of Caribbean beaches and its rolling waves. The carved relief of mermaids next to the door tells you that you have arrived. Just inside, you immediately feel the all pervasive sense of peace and quiet; the paintings and sculptures are beautiful ---and typify the island and its peoples; every nook and corner is clean, neat, and organized---without clutter or excess. There are four levels that contain guest rooms 1-6----with the upper chambers reserved for relaxing in an outdoor pool or by hammock-hanging to enjoy sun-drenched beaches or starlit nights filled with ocean song and serene moonlit vistas. The rooms are wonderfully clean, well-designed, beautifully constructed, air-conditioned, and open-aired, while being light-filled, completely private, and personal---just like being home. Each room is also provided with purified bottle water, bath towels, beach towels, and a variety of cold drinks that are always available. An added experience upon each day’s return---is your introduction to novel “towel-creatures”—these artistically positioned “bed-characters”—are so expertly created ---that you resist using the towels---and hope that you might be able to take them home with you. Each late afternoon affords another very special event, at the top level---and under the stars---there is a fantastic “Happy Hour”—where drinks and casual conversation lay open the Island’s secret treasures –an activity that is unparalleled--and is one where active participation adds significant depth and enjoyment to your island getaway. The start of your day begins with an amazing Casa Sirena breakfast ---one that seems to have been prepared in paradise----the presentation beauty causes one to stare in awe and disbelief---while simultaneously feeling that any slight alteration –with fork or knife---of the that grand beauty ---would most certainly be an offense to its creators. The artistic value is so overwhelming that these “breakfast” creations have now been immortalized in literally hundreds of photographs—that are now being appreciated by an immense global community.

Steve Broin is the proprietor of the Casa Sirena B&B. Though very low key and unobtrusive, he is meticulous with respect to operating procedures and the day-to-day operational concerns of his business and his patrons. Your health, safety, and happiness while in his home—are of serious concern to him. He is experienced, knows the Island people, places, and things as well as anyone, and is your source for what, where, and who. He orchestrates the afternoon Happy Hour with the expertise of symphony director---he knows how to handle, draw-out, and engage people of all walks and types. He is kind considerate person who is always fun to be with. He provides a map of the Island, makes travel arrangements extremely convenient, and provides a list of key places to consider during your stay. He has an “open-door” policy---and with his guidance you cannot go wrong.

Because of the above excellence, Casa Sirena has an increasingly large list of “return” patrons so we are already planning our next trip using info@casasirenamexico.com!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve B, Owner at Casa Sirena Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Hola Karen! Your epic review of the Isla Mujeres experience would do any travel writer proud. I fell crazy in love with this island at first sight over 20 years ago, and am passionate about sharing that love with the guests at Casa Sirena.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.4 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,338 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
714 reviews
1.6 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#8 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
401 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Secreto
Hotel Secreto
#9 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
346 reviews
0.4 mi away
Privilege Aluxes
Privilege Aluxes
#4 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
2,903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Sirena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Sirena Hotel

Property: Casa Sirena Hotel
Address: Av. Hidalgo between Bravo and Allende | Centro, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Sirena Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For travelers who believe that the best part of a journey is the people you meet along the way. Located in a quiet residential neighborhood the heart of a quaint island village, Casa Sirena guests are a short walk from wonderful restaurants, colorful shops, and the finest white sand beaches. Breakfast and happy hour are the heart and soul of our hospitality. Start your day with a hearty vegan-based locally-sourced organic breakfast (egg, diary and meat options available). Enjoy the company of fellow travelers at our complimentary "Sunset for the Fun Set" evening cocktail party. Our 80-year old Spanish colonial-style residence has been carefully restored, preserving its unique historic ambiance while adding the comforts of a contemporary boutique hotel. Guest rooms are elegantly-appointed with Tiffany-style reading lamps, espresso maker with capsules, 450-count cotton sheets, bathrobes, imported Turkish beach towels and Land's End canvas beach bags. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your Casa Sirena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Sirena Hotel Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing