We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“6th time on Isla, and as always an amazing experience at Sirena!”
Review of Casa Sirena Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Casa Sirena Hotel
Ranked #2 of 38 Isla Mujeres B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
“6th time on Isla, and as always an amazing experience at Sirena!”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

My wife and I, with our 13 month old daughter, stayed at Casa Sirena's beach condo at Ixchel. The first few nights, we were in the standard room,then "upgraded" to the 1 bedroom suite (with kitchenette, living room, balcony).
While I missed the intimacy of Casa Sirena staying Ixchel, it was great to have space with the wee one, as well as a pool and easy access to Playa Norte. We were able to stop by Sirena's rooftop sunset happy hour a few times, and had great margaritas and fun conversation with other guests.
The staff at Ixchel were fantastic and accommodating, and the condo was perfect for us.
Steven, guest innkeeper Luca, and the rest of the Sirena staff made sure that we had everything we needed for our week long stay. And once again, I can't wait to go back Isla and stay with Steven!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mpfisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve B, Owner at Casa Sirena Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
Casa Sirena Hotel is for adults only, but we are happy to accommodate returning guests who now have children in our two-bedroom beachfront condo. When it's time for a kid-free romantic vacation, we would be delighted to have you back at the hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    838
    8
    3
    0
    4
See reviews for
59
536
39
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manteca, California
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

This place is awesome. We don't like big resorts, when we visit a place we want to get a real feel of the culture but at the same time we like to stay places that are comfortable, clean and that have good service. This place has it all. Steve is a fantastic host and you get more than you pay for here, this place is really a great value. I would stay here again in a heart beat. We watched sea turtles give birth and swam with whale sharks all in a short 3 day trip to the island. Skip Cancun, go to Isla Mujeres and stay at Casa Sirena.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 6. The view was nice but I wouldn't stress over the room choice here, all the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

What can I say ... clearly we love this place since it was our third visit. Luca was our wonderful host and made our trip a pleasure!!! We have to thank Jose for helping us get a golf cart. We met lots of great people at Casa Sirena and went out to dinner, drinks, the beach, etc. with quite a few of the guests. The small, boutique atmosphere (and roof top happy hours) really lends itself well to meeting people and fosters a really intimate feel. We stayed in room #1. It was great. I can't say enough good things about Casa Sirena so stay there and see for yourself!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janeamschwand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We just returned from our stay at Casa Sirena, and it was everything we wanted and more. So many excellent reviews, and they are all right on the mark. After a short walk from the ferry, we were greeted at the door with ice cold towels and even colder beers. The hotel itself is beautiful, very well appointed, and the staff are so friendly and accommodating. Happy hour on the rooftop was so much fun, and it was great to chat with all the other guests while kicking back. Four stars to Casa Sirena, we will certainly return as soon as we can. We stayed in Room 3 with another couple, and enjoyed our ocean view balcony.

Also for getting to Isla Mujueres from Cancun, definitely hire a car to take you to and from the airport/ferry (recommended by Steve). In the end, it is cheaper than a taxi round trip, and it will be worth it timewise as well.

Room Tip: Room 3 has a nice view of the ocean from the balcony and is a two bedroom suite. Just a few stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank searobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve B, Owner at Casa Sirena Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Glad you enjoyed your visit! We always recommend a Private Transfer service to get from the airport to the ferry; our guests love the personal greeting to start their vacation stress-free.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Prague, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

If you do your research on this beautiful hotel and special island, and have even moderate travel experience you couldn't rate this hotel lower than a 5 in any category. The no-Sunday-breakfast review a few back is ridiculous because the website was clear about that. The advice, recommendations, service, amenities, warmth, and friendliness given to us by Steve and his staff was superb. We left feeling like we now have a friend in Mexico if we ever return to Isla Mujeres. Seriously...the breakfast they serve are amazing. The margarita's aren't too bad either!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tree_and_Me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Great hotel. We enjoyed our stay very much. The location is great. The service is even better. Steve and his team go out of their way to make guests feel at home - from delicious breakfasts to daily happy hours. Would highly recommend and will definitely be staying again whenever I'm back on the island.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ahindocha21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boyton Beach
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

While the location and guesthouse itself is wonderful, and the rooms are very clean and comfortable there are a few disappointments.

One would think that you would be told at booking that there would be no breakfast served Sunday morning. Of course while a day off for the warm and hard working staff is deserved, the guests should not be penalized....arranging a simple selection of fruit and cereal would seem to be the gracious move. Also, one felt that it was an inconvenience to ask for an early cold breakfast if you were planning on an early excursion.

Another issue is as there are no lids to the trash receptacles in the bathrooms, and with the absolutely no paper down th toilet rule, it is a somewhat unhygienic. No services on Sunday made this all the more apparent.

Happy hour is lovely on the roof and the warm breezes are a delight.

So, staying here has its pluses and minuses. For the price we feel a 3 is in order.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Thomas185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve B, Owner at Casa Sirena Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Thanks for joining the Trip Advisor community to submit your first review!

Your review is one of the first to single out our abbreviated Sunday service. Our guests always seem delighted to have a change of scenery for Sunday breakfast in one of the dozens of local restaurants within walking distance from the hotel. I have updated our Web site to make this information more apparent on the home page.

Indeed, some first-time visitors to smaller hotels in Mexico are initially uncomfortable with the "no flushing paper" reality. Most quickly master what my partner Dennis calls "toilet paper origami" in the bathroom :) Rather than covered wastebaskets, our maids prefer to keep a little box of extra trash bags in each guest bath, just in case...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.4 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,340 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
714 reviews
1.6 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#8 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
400 reviews
3.5 mi away
Casa de los Suenos
Casa de los Suenos
#6 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
494 reviews
0.4 mi away
Privilege Aluxes
Privilege Aluxes
#4 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
2,908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Sirena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Sirena Hotel

Property: Casa Sirena Hotel
Address: Av. Hidalgo between Bravo and Allende | Centro, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Sirena Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For travelers who believe that the best part of a journey is the people you meet along the way. Located in a quiet residential neighborhood the heart of a quaint island village, Casa Sirena guests are a short walk from wonderful restaurants, colorful shops, and the finest white sand beaches. Breakfast and happy hour are the heart and soul of our hospitality. Start your day with a hearty vegan-based locally-sourced organic breakfast (egg, diary and meat options available). Enjoy the company of fellow travelers at our complimentary "Sunset for the Fun Set" evening cocktail party. Our 80-year old Spanish colonial-style residence has been carefully restored, preserving its unique historic ambiance while adding the comforts of a contemporary boutique hotel. Guest rooms are elegantly-appointed with Tiffany-style reading lamps, espresso maker with capsules, 450-count cotton sheets, bathrobes, imported Turkish beach towels and Land's End canvas beach bags. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Casa Sirena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Sirena Hotel Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing