We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special...”
Review of Casa Sirena Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa Sirena Hotel
Ranked #2 of 37 Isla Mujeres B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nothing special...”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I really don't understand the other reviews... there is nothing special about this place. Even though the room was clean, the view from the window was terrible. The breakfast was so-so (when available... since they don't prepare anything on Sunday). Moreover, it's way overpriced. For less than this amount of money, you can find in Europe (or in Asia) many B&B that are much better, so the reason why Casa Sirena is in the top 25 in the world is a big mystery.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Pierre D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve B, Owner at Casa Sirena Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Sorry that Casa Sirena did not meet your expectations. The staff work hard to make every guest feel special and every visit to Isla Mujeres memorable. As you can see from our other reviews, we do manage to succeed most of the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    833
    8
    3
    0
    4
See reviews for
58
532
39
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

The staff treated us like royalty. The breakfasts were out of this world. The evening Happy Hour lasted more than an hour and had plenty of jovial conservations with guests having the option to go out for dinner together afterwards. The rooms were beautiful and our room 6 was just perfect. I would recommend Casa Sirena (home of serenity) to anyone going to Isla Mujeres.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alfred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I have written many reviews and been to many hotels on Isla Mujeres over the years I have been traveling here. We just got back from some time on Isla and we stayed here for a total of 5 nights. Let's start by saying, I have a new place to stay whenever I go to Isla (if I can get in!).

Casa Sirena is probably the nicest overall place we have stayed in a long, long time. It is everything a B&B (and/or a hotel) should be. Everything is extremely well thought out and, well...perfect.

The rooms: you really can't go wrong with any of the rooms. We were there on Oct 2013 and since it was off season we got to see almost all the rooms. All are roomy, have beautiful Mexican tile on the floor and are spotless, The little things that they do at every turn really make it feel like home... really nice soaps, hand soap pumps at the sink (instead of on bar to share everywhere), air freshener (a really nice little touch that lots of places miss), towels for the beach, a BEACH BAG to carry the towels and your stuff in easily, floats for the ocean (very, very nice ones) very cute "towel" animals on the bed every morning...lots of places do this, but as with everything, Casa Sirena really does it better. We stay in room 1 and room 3. Room 3 has a small balcony and ocean view, plus a King and Queen bed. Room 1 has its own little private balcony that overlooks the breakfast area and small pool below. We had no noise problems on either the front or back of the hotel. The AC units in all rooms are typical for those in Mexico but they are new and QUIET. We have stayed in some places where they kick on and off all night or the fan sounds like it has a potato chip lodged in it. The ones here were very quiet and worked great. There is a little fridge in every room and they even start you off with a few waters and 2 cold beers to welcome you! Also there are plenty of places to put your luggage and be able to access your suitcase. I almost never "unpack" things into drawers when I travel so I love to just open my bag and be able to get to it.

The breakfasts: Lookout! These are REAL breakfasts not a few pieces of bread and some fruit. Each day started with fresh OJ and water and each person gets a fresh fruit plate. Then the main course of the day was always delicious. We really like eating breakfast at some of the islands great breakfast places like Barlito, M&J Cazuelas, Rooster, Mango Cafe, etc but the breakfast at Casa Sirena is as good as any of those and its included (except Sunday which gives you a chance to try some of the others). The food was gourmet quality and my favorite was the breakfast burritos with egg on a mole sauce with onions, fresh avocado and a little homemade chorizo sausage across the top. It was amazing. The pancakes were also very good and of course heated maple syrup with them rather than little cheap packets of syrup so many other places would use. Again, it is all the little things that make it such a great experience staying here.

Location We loved the location. We have been going to Isla for many years and as I have written in other reviews, don't feel the need to be right on the beach. You can save some $$ and get a feel for the island. This place is located just South of the main square in downtown where the grocery store is (3 minute walk to grocery store), There are lots of restaurants on Isla Mujeres and not chain restuarants... small individually owned restaurants where the owners take pride in what they put out. With the competition on the island, it is hard to survive for long if you don't serve good food and there are plenty that do. Casa Sirena is a 5-10 walk from at least 40 restaurants/bars. I would estimate 15 minutes to walk to North Beach but it is a great stroll up a pedestrian only street with neat shops and restaurants and you are on vacation...whats the rush! You can also rent a golf cart if you don't want to walk. One of the coolest thing about this location is that this part of the island is very thin. From the incredible 2 level rooftop bar you can see water almost 360 degrees! You can see almost to Punta Sur in the South, look across the bay to the lights and buildings of Cancun at night and look out into the Caribbean sea. It is an amazing place to watch a sunset or sunrise (we did both)! Along the Carribean side of the island is a long brick pedestrian walkway that goes along for quite a ways. It passes right by Casa Sirena and is a great walk in the morning or place to jog if you want to.

Rooftop bar/Happy hour - If you have read any review you have heard about Steve's famous happy hours. They are everything they are cracked up to be. Steve or Bev both are amazing and gracious hosts and who wouldn't want free drinks and appetizers on a 2 level rooftop deck with incredible views? Meeting the other guests is always fun and entertaining! Be sure to catch this on your first night here. Then, you'll end up coming every night! :) We enjoyed going to the rooftop deck and cooling off in the plunge pool in the late afternoon before happy hour too. He even has a rooftop PA where you can plug your ipod in and listen to whatever you want when no one else is up there!

Staff: The people that Steve has helping him are very good. I have mentioned the food made in their kitchen fresh each day, the cleaners do an incredible job too. he has a great team that will leave you needing nothing. Bev and Jose come in and help out too and we booked dinners, golf carts and got advice from them on several things. We could have walked and rented the carts ourselves, but by booking it thru the hotel there was no paperwork to fill out or lines to wait in and they dropped off and picked up at the hotel.

Steve: The owner is Steve and he is, obviously, really good at what he does. Not only does the place run flawlessly whether he is around or not. We had an open schedule for part of this trip. We had 3 nights booked at Casa Sirena and then had 5 nights undecided. Steve and his team went out of his way to not only recommend a place we should go (Merida) which has been on our list to try for a while, but Steve contacted people he knew there and helped us find a GREAT place in Merida. He and Jose also went out of their way to help us book our bus tickets to Merida. It was really quite easy, but since our Spanish is fairly basic still, having someone help us the first time was a HUGE asset. Steve and his team did all of this for us and did so graciously.

Hopefully I have addressed all the main things you might want to know. If not, let me know and I'll try to answer any questions I missed! If you can get a room, stay here. You will be happy you did.

Room Tip: 3 has 2 beds, a little veranda with 2 chairs and ocean view. 1 is also very nice with private balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank thegrizzatlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve B, Owner at Casa Sirena Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
An encyclopedic review! Thanks for taking the time to write, and we look forward to seeing you again for New Year's Eve!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Audubon, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

I continue to return to Isla Mujeres and Casa Sirena. Casa Sirena is such a lovely retreat....the place is gorgeous....comfy beds....amazing breakfast..incredible views from the roof top ...friendly staff and Steve just makes you feel like family! I go with friends and when there make new friends and it is feeling as if it is a home away from home (In one of the most beautiful locations one can imagine....with crystal clear waters, beautiful beaches amazing food and just truly lovely people). It is total relaxation!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rojo66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Casa Sirena is just an awesome place to stay! Steve (owner) is an excellent host and the happy hour margaritas are fantastic!! The rooftop bar is out of this world. We watched so many sunsets that simply took our breath away. As I right this review, I can't find the words to describe the food at Casa. Wow is simply not enough. You MUST stay here at your next visit to Isla!!! Thank you Steve and staff for an unforgettable stay :)

Our group of friends that went are already trying to figure out when to return!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RachelSandoval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Steve and his staff provide nothing less than an excellent home away from home. I say that because you'll feel like you are part of a family and the wonderful community in Isla Mujeres! From the delicious breakfast on the open patio, to the pools, creative florally decorative towels placed in your room daily to the hoppin happy hours no detail is spared here! I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathysailer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve B, Owner at Casa Sirena Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
We love guests like you who help us keep the happy hours hoppin' :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 2 October 2013

How wonderful is it to watch the sunrise and sunshine on the same roof-top, 15 seconds walk from your room? Their room service is not room service, it is also an art! Look at the way they do your towels!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WalterChi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.4 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,318 reviews
1.6 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
0.5 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
#7 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
2,103 reviews
3.5 mi away
Casa de los Suenos
Casa de los Suenos
#6 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
492 reviews
0.4 mi away
Privilege Aluxes
Privilege Aluxes
#4 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
2,873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Sirena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Sirena Hotel

Property: Casa Sirena Hotel
Address: Av. Hidalgo between Bravo and Allende | Centro, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Sirena Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For travelers who feel the best part of a journey is the people you meet along the way. Located in a quiet residential neighborhood the heart of the quaint island village, Casa Sirena guests are a short walk from wonderful restaurants, colorful shops, and the finest white sand beaches. Breakfast and happy hour are the heart and soul of our hospitality. Start your day with a hearty Mexican breakfast with fresh-squeezed orange juice. Enjoy the company of fellow travelers at our complimentary "Sunset for the Fun Set" cocktail party. Our 80-year old Spanish colonial-style residence has been carefully restored, preserving its unique historic ambiance while adding the comforts of a contemporary boutique hotel. Guest rooms are elegantly-appointed with Tiffany-style reading lamps, espresso maker with capsules, 450-count cotton sheets, bathrobes, imported Turkish beach towels and Land's End canvas beach bags. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your Casa Sirena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Sirena Hotel Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing