We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary in every way!”
Review of Casa Sirena Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Casa Sirena Hotel
Ranked #2 of 39 Isla Mujeres B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Casa Sirena was absolutely unforgettable and wonderfully un-Cancun-y. What a find! We occupied all six rooms for a few days on either side of our brother's beach wedding; Steve even arranged to have the wedding dinner catered in the Casa's atrium. It was the perfect setting to connect with our newly acquired family, and have a great vacation at the same time. Thanks for making it so, Steve. We'll be back soon!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhythmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (867)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 867 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2014

Adult family members took over Casa Sirena for a week to attend a wedding. The rooms were comfortable and beautifully appointed, as was the entire hotel. The attention to detail in every regard - from the decor to the rather astounding towel art -- was perfection itself, but never got in the way of comfort or having a good time. Steve is an extraordinary host and felt like a dear friend by the time the week was over. Jose and the rest of the staff we're accommodating and efficient. The beach was an easy walk from the hotel and the most beautiful we have ever seen. The hotel was also very near the ferry and a great variety of restaurants. The breakfasts were great and the Happy Hour an event we all looked forward to. We recommend the Casa Sirena wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Isla Mujeres is a beautiful island and Casa Sirena is very close (10+ minute walk) to beautiful beaches with white sand and clear water. It's also a very short walk away from the local vendors and restaurants.

We stayed in room 3 which has an extra bed and would have been perfect to split with another couple. It also happens to be the room with access to wifi which was nice for us.

Steve is great host (and I would say entertainer during happy hour). The building was very clean and the staff was hospitable.

Some of my favorite things about this place:
- Gourmet breakfasts were delicious
- Happy hour was always fun and Steve never lets your glass go empty :)
- Bottled waters provided that you can refill during your stay from a big jug of filtered water. Also there are other drinks to help yourself to including beer and glass bottles of Coke.
- You can borrow their floats and use sunscreen that others have left behind. This was really nice.
- Rooms are kept nice and cool with AC. There is a small refrigerator and safe in each room.
- The 2 pools were very nice. Rooftop one offered beautiful views and common area one was more shaded.

Things you should know before you book:
- You can't flush toilet paper. Apparently this is typical for other buildings on the island, too. This could be uncomfortable for some people.
- Wifi doesn't reach most rooms. You can always go down to the common area for access though.
- It gets VERY bright in those rooms early in the morning. We have two small children so we are used to getting up early so not a problem for us.
- This place is definitely geared around being social; from the community table breakfast to the happy hours. If you are looking for a place to be alone, you should probably keep searching.
- Showers were mostly cold for us during our stay... even during odd hours.

Overall, it was a very enjoyable experience for us and a relaxing time away from the kids. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

My wife and I recently spent three nights at Casa Sirena based on the great reviews we had read on Tripadvisor. We were not disappointed. Steve made sure to be there to greet us on arrival, with a cold beer and wet towel. Even though the walk from the ferry terminal is very short, we were pretty tired after a morning of travel.

We enjoyed the happy hours and breakfasts even more than we thought we would. Actually, it is difficult to describe how relaxing the happy hours are, but they were a highlight of the day. The other guests were an interesting group of Americans, Brits, Canadians and a native. Steve has some great local friends who really add to the charm. Thanks, David and Bev.

Steve made great recommendations for meals. We really liked Olivia's, but everything was wonderful. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ATCsnook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve B, Owner at Casa Sirena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Happy hour is the highlight of my day too, and I love introducing hotel guests to my island friends over a couple of margaritas. Our philosophy can be summed up in the phrase "The best part of a journey is the people you meet along the way."

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

For accommodations, if going to Isla Mujeres, must be Casa Sirena. Not a family hotel and not large by any means, but the setting and the care as experienced by those wise enough to stay fro a few nights will be a highlight of your stay in Mexico. Best I can say, is just do it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gcruik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve B, Owner at Casa Sirena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

With only six rooms (and only 12 seats in our private rooftop bar), Casa Sirena strives to provide exceptional hospitality in an intimate setting. Thanks for taking time to write you review and contribute to the Trip Advisor community!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We again stayed at Casa Sirena in 2014 from February 18 through February 27. The accommodations are great, the breakfasts are outstanding and the happy hour at the roof bar each evening is unmatched on the island. Every detail is thought of in advance and all one needs to do is ask and Steven has the answer. We needed to leave the island on the 8:30 am ferry, and even though the breakfasts officially start at 9 am, Steven asked his staff to prepare a meal for us. A wonderful touch, and very much appreciated. We're already planning to visit Casa Sirena in 2015!
Larry & Cathy

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mmelck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve B, Owner at Casa Sirena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

We thank you for returning to Casa Sirena, and for taking the time to write another review. It would be a joy to have you back next year for another round of Margaritas at happy hour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Hotel looks like something in a travel magazine! Gorgeous, with every small detail taken into consideration. The rooms are perfectly sized, some with ocean views, some just views of everyday Mexican life. Breakfast is served every day except Sunday and is delicious traditional Mexican food. It is served downstairs in a walled courtyard with a small bubbling pool. The ambiance is astounding. Happy hour at the roof top bar is a tradition not to be missed! Steve, the owner is full of wonderful suggestions for food: Cubana, Soggy Peso, Ballyhoos on the beach, etc. You can walk to all above mentioned places and to the beach. It is very close to the seawall path, which also affords great views. Make your reservations early as it fills up quickly!

Room Tip: Room 6 has great views of ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TarheelsofVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve B, Owner at Casa Sirena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

One of the benefits of a smaller hotel is personalized service. As I get to know each guest, I strive to tailor recommendations for restaurants and activities to help you fall in love with the island as I did 20 years ago. Hope you can return: there is a lot more food and fun waiting

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.4 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#4 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,412 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#2 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
745 reviews
1.6 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#7 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
442 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Secreto
Hotel Secreto
#9 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
366 reviews
3.5 mi away
Casa de los Suenos
Casa de los Suenos
#8 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Sirena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Sirena Hotel

Address: Av. Hidalgo between Bravo and Allende | Centro, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Isla Mujeres
Price Range: £123 - £604 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Sirena Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For travelers who believe that the best part of a journey is the people you meet along the way. Located in a quiet residential neighborhood the heart of a quaint island village, Casa Sirena guests are a short walk from wonderful restaurants, colorful shops, and the finest white sand beaches. Breakfast and happy hour are the heart and soul of our hospitality. Start your day with a hearty vegan-based locally-sourced organic breakfast (egg, diary and meat options available). Enjoy the company of fellow travelers at our complimentary "Sunset for the Fun Set" evening cocktail party. Our 80-year old Spanish colonial-style residence has been carefully restored, preserving its unique historic ambiance while adding the comforts of a contemporary boutique hotel. Guest rooms are elegantly-appointed with Tiffany-style reading lamps, espresso maker with capsules, 450-count cotton sheets, bathrobes, imported Turkish beach towels and Land's End canvas beach bags. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Casa Sirena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Sirena Hotel Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing