We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply the best!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Sirena Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casa Sirena Hotel
Ranked #2 of 34 Isla Mujeres B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply the best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2008

Amazing atmosphere, amazing food, amazing host, beautiful rooms, excellent service, awesome rooftop Happy hour parties! I could never ask for more on a tropical island vacation! Thank you Steve for your hospitality and taking the chance on something that has proved to be a diamond in the rough! See you again soon I hope!

Ciao,

Shige T.
Boise, Idaho, USA

  • Liked — Atmosphere, cleanliness, modern touch on a historic building
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Poppinshug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    819
    8
    3
    0
    4
See reviews for
58
521
39
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2008

Recently celebrated a wedding anniversary with a long weekend stay at Casa Sirena and all I can say is that if you're going to Isla Mujeres you must stay at Casa Sirena.

Casa Sirena is a cozy and impeccably clean place. Steve creates a relaxed and welcoming atmosphere, from the delicious breakfasts and rooftop happy hour each night. Steve also makes great recommendations for restaurants and spa services.

Don't make a mistake and stay somewhere else...stay at Casa Sirena.

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank jglarock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2008

Simply one of the best stays ever.
If you don't stay here you will regret it.

Great service, food & atmosphere.
They even had a french chef make me a incredible birthday cake!
Law & Kit

  • Liked — Steve the owner
  • Disliked — Not on beach, but only a few blocks away!
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank HOTELEXPERTY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2008

I found Casa Sirena here and decided to give it a shot for our stay in Isla Mujeres from Oct. 31st - Nov. 4th. We were in no way disappointed.

I'm not sure why the people who have complained here about the neighborhood the property is in would even go to Isla Mujeres to begin with. It ranks lowest on the touristy factor of all the places I've been to in Mexico (Cabo, Ixtapa, Cancun, Playa del Carmen). If you like to stay in a Mexican all-inclusive and never leave your resort, this is probably not the destination for you. If you whine about having to walk to the beach, this is definitely not the place for you.

Our hosts (Steve and his stand in Daniel) were most kind, gracious and entertaining. I'm pregnant, and Steve was considerate enough to stock happy hour with non-alcoholic beverages and made me the most delicious limonada. Steve, Daniel, and Jose all had spot-on recommendations for beach-sitting locations, restaurants, and fair prices for golf cart rental. Jose booked a scuba diving trip for my husband which was very reasonably priced with knowledgeable and entertaining guides. Jose also booked our transportation between the Cancun airport and the Isla ferry.

Our room had the most calming traditional Mexican ambiance. We were there over Dia de los Muertos and Steve put traditional sugar skull decorations in our room. Yes, we had a view of the hodge-podge of a building next to us in addition to the sea, but Steve told us the story of its owner who had been randomly adding on to the building over the past 20 years. We found this wonderfully eccentric and authentic.

Breakfast was prepared in local treditions and was quite scrumptious. On Sunday when the staff was off a mouth-watering pineapple upside down cake was still provided for breakfast.

We will be going back and will be sending friends there as well.

  • Liked — Hospitality, Style, Value, Breakfast, Happy Hour
  • Disliked — Can't think of a thing.
  • Stayed November 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank kerpupples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2008

We stayed in Casa Sirena in late July for 5 days and loved every minute of it! The owner Steve was just amazing in his urge to make his guests feel good. Although Isla Mujeres was pretty small and seen in few days we could have easily stayed longer just to breathe the warm atmosphere of Casa Sirena. Definitely one of the best (or even the best) stay in our around the world trip! We´ll be back some day!

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Julio80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conifer, Colorado
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2008

Stayed at Casa Sirena from Oct 30 to Nov 4th. All said here is true. Were lucky enough to be guests at the Halloween party where we met many of the locals and local expats. This being our fifth time on the island, it goes down as one of the most fun. The happy hours were really a blast with delicious drinks and snacks and the food at breakfast was excellent. Steve had to leave on the 1st to go to the mainland and his friend Daniel took the helm and did a smashing job of it! He had us laughing and smiling the whole time. The concierge Jose, will take care of any questions for things to arrange on the island. You will not be disappointed! Steve was very accomodating when we requested a room with a balcony. They were all booked but he looked at the schedule and worked it out to let us stay in room 5 for two nights and then room 1 for the rest of our stay. Both rooms very lovely and clean, staff unobtrusive and right on task with everything. If you like being anonymous and aloof maybe this isnt the place for you, but if you want an experience and to meet other people who will quickly become friends, then this is the place. We will definitely be back!

  • Liked — The whole experience, happy hour, the food and mostly the people.
  • Disliked — Nada
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank tropictripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
irving
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2008

The hotel & staff are perfect. Friendly and extremely helpful.

Steve has thought of everything and the attention to detail is amazing.(funnels for filling water bottles at the water cooler)

All of the other reviews are right on. Trying to think of any negatives and I can not.

Neighborhood seems a bit sketchy at first sight, but it is absolutely safe and any apprehension vanishes instantly.

Halloween Party was off the hook.

Enjoyed meeting Pirates,Hulkette, Cletus & wife, Lipton, Rave Girl,etc etc

A couple tips:

Stop at the fruit stand right next to the square each time you walk by and get a fruit popsicle (7 pesos) or some juice.

Eat lunch at Mininos (sp?) right on the water & watch the fisherman unload their fish

Pizza rock pizza is good and tastes better than it looks.

Go to the grocery store on the square if you need anything.


Thanks for happy hour and all the Halloween fun Steve and gang.

See you soon.

Chris Y Sharon Dallas,TX

Everythings mas grande in TX.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank cjlmlml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
1.6 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
0.5 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
#7 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,940 reviews
3.5 mi away
Casa de los Suenos
Casa de los Suenos
#6 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
2.8 mi away
Isla Mujeres Palace
Isla Mujeres Palace
#3 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Sirena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Sirena Hotel

Property: Casa Sirena Hotel
Address: Av. Hidalgo between Bravo and Allende | Centro, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Sirena Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For travelers who feel the best part of a journey is the people you meet along the way. Located in a quiet residential neighborhood the heart of the quaint island village, Casa Sirena guests are a short walk from wonderful restaurants, colorful shops, and the finest white sand beaches. Breakfast and happy hour are the heart and soul of our hospitality. Start your day with a hearty Mexican breakfast with fresh-squeezed orange juice. Enjoy the company of fellow travelers at our complimentary "Sunset for the Fun Set" cocktail party. Our 80-year old Spanish colonial-style residence has been carefully restored, preserving its unique historic ambiance while adding the comforts of a contemporary boutique hotel. Guest rooms are elegantly-appointed with Tiffany-style reading lamps, espresso maker with capsules, 450-count cotton sheets, bathrobes, imported Turkish beach towels and Land's End canvas beach bags. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Casa Sirena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Sirena Hotel Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing