We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your funky new home near the beach”
Review of Casa Sirena Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Casa Sirena Hotel
Ranked #2 of 40 Isla Mujeres B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 April 2010

Of all our travels around the world, this was the most interactive hotel in which we have stayed. I think interactive is the best word to describe it. Between the hosts, Steve & Robert, and the staff, Jose and others, this place quickly feels like your home with friends near the beach. Each day we would start out with a wonderful breakfast, and speak with the other guests or the innkeepers. This was not too much different from a normal B&B experience, with wonderfully varied menus and a lovely courtyard setting. But the real fun of the place comes in the evenings. We would head out to the beach after breakfast each morning, and spend several hours lounging at a beach club. We would return to the hotel around 3-4pm and then spend a couple hours at one of the small pools at the inn or swinging in the rooftop hammock. Then happy hour would take over, 6-8pm, or later. People would mingle freely, and we met several very enjoyable people, some of whom we even hung out with after happy hour concluded some nights. It made us enjoy being at the hotel. At breakfast, we would commiserate about hangovers from the nights before. And we would enjoy walking back to the place, which, again, did feel like home.

I don't know how Robert and Steve have managed to consistently put together groups of people who get along. I spoke with Steve at length one night about it, and he basically said only very rarely have people not gotten along and enjoyed themselves. All the reviews already on this site are good proof of this, I guess. All of this said, the point here is, if you re at all interested in meeting interesting people and having a great time every night, this is your place for sure. If you're looking for isolation or total privacy, not o much.

A few other notes I need to make. One, this place was beautifully designed, a true architectural gem. The multiple levels and nooks make it a delight to spend time within. That all being said, it's a bit of a hike to the beach. Nothing too bad - about 6 city blocks to the better beaches on the far north end - and nothing warranting the need to have a cart rental the whole time you're there (although one day is recommended to see the rest of the island). But it's a bit a schlep if you want to go back and forth a couple times a day. Also, avoid the beach clubs on the NW side of the island where all the day trip boats dock. It's worth the $150 pesos (credited back to the bar tab) to rent from a quiet place, more to the North and NE of North Beach. Another note, there is no service in the hotel on Sunday. If this meant no breakfast and no happy hour, that would be totally fine to me. But it also means no housekeeping. On vacation - especially beach vacation, with sand and salt and icky - coming home to a dirty room is unpleasant. Especially considering the shower causes a small flood in the bathroom. Finally, anyone who thinks the town on Isla is scary needs to avoid traveling anywhere outside a ClubMed. We were all around the Yucatan on this trip, and I found little of what I saw scary. But I could see where some people would disagree, especially in some of the lesser-traveled parts of Merida. But Isla felt like the safest place in the world, and the pedestrian mall Hidalgo Ave is a wonderful place to spend a day or night.

These are nitpicks though, really. Nothing's perfect. This place gets 5 stars because it's unique. And unique is something pretty special.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jahausa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SirenaSteve, owner at Casa Sirena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2010

Glad you enjoyed your stay at Casa Sirena. I apologize for the "small flood" in the bathroom; we had just installed a new pressurized water system and have since fine-tuned the water flow to resolve this problem.

Steve Broin
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (869)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

582 - 588 of 869 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2010

We loved Casa Sirena, Steve the owner and the location. It is situated near the restaurants, beaches and boardwalk. Our room was spotless and restful at night. We met wonderful people while staying there, and still are in contact with them. Carnival was going on when we were there, and it was fun to see the beautifully dressed people and watch them dance as we walked through town. We spent a lot of time walking the store and restaurant lined streets, and got to know the island well. It rained for the second half of our week, but it allowed us to focus on the town and not be distracted so much by side trips. We would not hesitate to stay here again, it is wonderful.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariaMag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2010

When we first arrived we were met at the door by Steve, the owner. He greeted us with cold, wet towels for wiping off after the water taxie ride. Cold water or beer were also offered while we sat with Steve and got acquainted. Very quiet and we really enjoyed the free happy hour upstairs with the other guest. Made new friends.
We will definately stay there again!

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank histotech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2010

This was our third trip to the island this year. Our second time staying with Steve and his wonderful staff. We brought friends along and they were absolutely wowed. The Casa is immaculate and so tastefully decorated. The beaches and color of the water are impossible to capture on film. A little piece of heaven every time we visit ! Will be returning next March for an extended visit and hope to visit the city of Merida as well. Thankyou again Steve for your Gracious hospitality and rockin happy hours. please give our best to Robert. See you in the future amigo. Markos and Jeannette

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lifesabeachMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2010

Wouldn’t it be wonderful to find an island B&B that lets you feel like a part of small town life, but one that is also a secluded romantic hideaway -- just 1 block away from crashing waves? And what if this authentic hotel was designed and run by a former graphic designer with an eye for lovely things at every turn? And what if this same gracious host could attract wonderful people from all over the world who want to share stories over a margarita or two? Casa Sirena is exactly this place. Book it. Go. Land. Take the ferry. Check in. Eat a fabulous breakfast. Then walk a few blocks to the best white sand beach in the world. Rent a chair under a palm tree for the day. Swim in amazingly warm water (never over your head). Dry off and order a Corona. Then settle in and read that book you’ve wanted to dive into. Sunset coming? Better go check out the infamous Casa Sirena happy hour and make friends. Then out for a $6 fresh fish dinner. It’s a rough life. It’s all true. What are you waiting for?

Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank CATARC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2010

Casa Sirena is in a great location on Isla Mujeres; just on the edge of 'downtown' with all it's charming shops and delicious food places, yet also within easy walking distance to the gorgeous white sand beaches, palm trees, and exquisite turquoise waters of North Beach. Owner Steve Broin and his inn staff are gracious, friendly, and helpful with any request. Happy hour is a favorite on the rooftop floor with an incredible view of both the Cancan seaward side, and the wild Caribbean side of the ocean. The free authentic Mexican breakfasts are out of this world, but for those wishing something more familiar, there is scrambled eggs and bacon, or yogurt, granola and fruit. A high-five from all of us!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twinie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2010

This was our first time to Isla Mujeres/Casa Sirena and it exceeded all of our expectations. The hotel is in a quiet location next to the center of town - an easy walk to restaurants, shops and the beach. The hotel has been restored to perfect condition with cool, clean, beautiful rooms. The daily rooftop happy hours were so much fun meeting the other guests and watching the sunsets - Lots of Laughs! Amazing full breakfasts, cold drinks, and friendly people.

We can't wait to go back to this wonderful hotel and to Playa Norte, Zama Beach Club and to the many charming restaurants. The golf cart tour of the island is a must. Steve and his friendly staff made this a fantastic, relaxing vacation. We will definitely plan another stay at Casa Sirena.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oscar092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.4 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
1,431 reviews
1.6 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#9 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Secreto
Hotel Secreto
#8 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
369 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#3 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
760 reviews
3.5 mi away
Casa de los Suenos
Casa de los Suenos
#7 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Sirena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Sirena Hotel

Address: Av. Hidalgo between Bravo and Allende | Centro, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Isla Mujeres
Price Range: £118 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Sirena Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For travelers who believe that the best part of a journey is the people you meet along the way. Located in a quiet residential neighborhood the heart of a quaint island village, Casa Sirena guests are a short walk from wonderful restaurants, colorful shops, and the finest white sand beaches. Breakfast and happy hour are the heart and soul of our hospitality. Start your day with a hearty vegan-based locally-sourced organic breakfast (egg, diary and meat options available). Enjoy the company of fellow travelers at our complimentary "Sunset for the Fun Set" evening cocktail party. Our 80-year old Spanish colonial-style residence has been carefully restored, preserving its unique historic ambiance while adding the comforts of a contemporary boutique hotel. Guest rooms are elegantly-appointed with Tiffany-style reading lamps, espresso maker with capsules, 450-count cotton sheets, bathrobes, imported Turkish beach towels and Land's End canvas beach bags. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Casa Sirena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Sirena Hotel Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing