We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay on Isla!”
Review of Casa Flamboyan

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla Mujeres
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Flamboyan
Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Hawaii
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay on Isla!”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

This was our second trip to Isla, first time at Casa Flamboyan. The house was very nice, clean, and had great views of both sides of the island. We really enjoyed sitting by the pool under the overhang and watching the ocean while not getting sunburned. The rooftop was very nice to hang out at as well.

The housekeeper is very good and keeps the house clean, and cleaned a few times while we were there. Location is great - close to town, we could have walked, but we rented a golf cart to get around all over the island.

We will definitely stay again!

Room Tip: We liked staying in Azul since you walk past the "real" suite to get to Azul.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bridgette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
70
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We have just spent a week at Casa Flamboyan upstairs in Villa Real. The room was huge and perfectly clean, in the morning the balcony overlooking the beach is the perfect spot for sunrise and breakfast and the back deck and rooftop for sunset, also with hammocks.

The infinity pool was perfect for cooling off. Lupe the housekeeper does a fantastic job any request and she was there within half an hour.

The location is great only a short, easy 15 minute walk to the town centre. We hired a scooter and explored the whole island checking out other accommodation but if we came back we would 100% stay in these apartments again.

Room Tip: Both rooms upstairs looked equally as good however I liked the layout of Villa Real more. Wifi was O...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lola_J_89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We just returned from a 5 night stay on Isla Mujeres. Let me first say that pictures do not do Isla Mujeres and Casa Flamboyan justice. What a wonderful place to visit. I would have to say that this trip ranked on the top of my list of vacations I have taken.

Casa Flamboyan is a beautiful house/condo that is owned by Richard and Harriet. To start with they are great hosts! From the first time I talked to Harriet over email she was very responsive and most helpful with questions that I had since I had never been to Isla Mujeres. The rental process was very easy with zero issues.

Once we arrived that is where all the fun began. Lepe the housekeeper met us and showed us everything we needed to know about the place. Casa Flamboyan has two units that sit right next to each other on the 2nd floor of this beautiful house. The house sits right on the Caribbean sea. The front of the house faces the bay between Cancun and Isla Mujeres. On both sides of the house there is a deck. The front deck is shared and the back deck is private. Since this house sits East/West you get the best of both worlds with incredible sunsets and sunrises. There is also a roof deck that is a 360 degree view. I was able to get some really nice sunset pictures from there. While the house is on a road the sounds from the sea are more than enough to cover any noise that might hear. It was actually very quiet.

The interior of Casa Flamboyan is just as nice as the surroundings. Harriet and Richard have put lots of personal touches to their rental that you will not find in a hotel. From very nice art work to a mostly stocked kitchen. When we arrived they had chips, butter, eggs, coffee and 2 cervezas waiting for us as well as plenty of water for drinking.
The bedroom has a very nice king sized bed and a very nice shower that over looks out into the Sea. One thing about the shower that we found out is that the faucet lettering doesn't correspond to what you think it should. There is a "C" and an "F". C doesn't stand for cold but rather caliente which is hot and F stands for frio or cold in spanish. Once you figure that out the shower is very nice and warm and is heated by the sun rather than gas. The water is also very soft which feels great after sitting on the beach all day. There is also an A/C unit in the bedroom which works very well if needed. There is quite a breeze coming off the Sea so you might not need it.

The beach that is below the house isn't for swimming but you can definitely walk on it. We were lucky enough to be there during a full moon which made the whole visit all that more magical. We sat on the beach one night when the moon was out and it was quite mesmerizing.

As for Isla Mujeres, what isn't there to say about this wonderful island. Its small, clean, very beautiful and the people are very friendly. The food is awesome by any standard! 3 places of many that I would recommend are GreenVerdi, Mango Cafe and Bistro Francais. What struck me most about the island is how much the people who live there seem to really take pride in their island and surroundings. We never once felt unsafe even at 1a in the morning. Yes, there is tourist stuff in parts of the island but if that isn't your thing then just don't go there. Playa Norte Beach and Playa Sur are definitely places to check out. One of the funnest things on the island is renting a golf cart and zipping all over the place. You don't need a car as you can get anywhere you need to go by foot or golf cart. Parking the cart is very easy and most of the companies include the cost of fuel in the daily rate.

I could go on and on about Casa Flamboyan and Isla Mujeres but I will leave the rest to you to explore. I cannot wait to come back to IM and CF again in the very near future. If getting away from the craziness of the mainland is something you aspire too then you will love coming here! I mean you will LOVE it! I would also recommend trying both sides of the island as they are different and very cool in their own ways. The south part of the island is where most of the islanders live and there is some very neat culture there. Enjoy!!

Room Tip: The suites each have their own character and you cannot go wrong with either.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank davekall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Our 3 week stay in Real at Casa Flamboyan was simply magical. It's so close to the sea you basically feel like you're on a boat and the incredible breeze coming off the Caribbean is definitely what I will miss the most (we didn't turn on the AC a single time, even on the hottest days). The sitting area on the opposite side of the water was great for playing cards and eating dinner since the house acts as a buffer from the wind. Adequately equipped kitchen and the space somehow maintained a strong sense of privacy even though there were folks staying next to and below us. Will definitely go back again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abigale A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 23 March 2014

This was our 6th time to the Island and has been about 7 years. Great to see it keeps it charm and would not hesitate to visit and will visit again.

Case Flamboyan Real is one of two units to rent. Wonderful hosts and cannot go wrong with renting and highly recommend. Having stayed on the Island multiple times this would be the location I would return to. The walk into town is just enough and easy to do with always something interesting going on. The restaurants in town we always enjoy and the people as well. Lupe is wonderful and cleans the unit very well and is always has that smile. The owners are always approachable but yet are not in any way to involved in your stay.

I highly recommend a boat ride with Storm, you will not be disappointed and as we always do a rental cart for around the Island at least once is a great day trip.

Gracias Harriet and Richard

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanta
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Casa Flamboyan is simply a perfect place to stay in the perfect location, Isla Mujeres.

We stayed in Casa Azul for 7 nights and we could not find anything wrong, only more than we ever imagined. After a way too busy holiday season our time at Casa Flamboyan was flawless. Way too easy! We were able to completely disconnect and revitalize our lives.

Richard and Harriet were wonderful hosts, while not being intrusive. We could always ask them anything especially about where to dine, what to do, all the details. They did a great job of providing a lot of advance info and we would recommend the transfer they use. Lupe, our housekeeper, was amazing. Plan on a couple of hours for her cleaning service because she cleans it all at least twice a week! Not just the bathroom, everything, including the sheets and towels.

You are within easy walking distance of the entire north and central part of the island. About 1 mile to the tip of North Beach and a less than a mile to restaurants in town. Walking on this island was a real pleasure. We even walked to the big grocery store on the south end of the island one day. The island is very clean and really friendly people.

In summary under promised and over delivered! Don't even hesitate on this one, otherwise it will be gone. We are already booked for 2 weeks next year! Now shhhhhhh, and don't tell another soul...

Room Tip: Azul is perfect for 2 people. Not much counter space but the restaurants are great, close and cheap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NANCYANN727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

I just returned from a 2 week stay at Casa Flamboyant. I have been travelling to Isla for more then 20 years and have stayed in most areas. I was unable to locate something right in town, so Casa Flamboyant was my second choice. I would highly recommend this apt. It is very ideally located with your own private front row seat to the daily sunrise & sunset. The kitchen is very well equipped and in every room there is the wonderful ocean breeze. Forget the AC, you really don't need it here. The owners Richard & Harriet were very helpful and gave me endless information...I'm glad I was unable to stay downtown. Casa Flamboyant was better then any things there.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willy38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
1.1 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
1.0 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
1.1 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
#7 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,052 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marina Paraiso
Marina Paraiso
#14 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
1.0 mi away
Privilege Aluxes
Privilege Aluxes
#4 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Flamboyan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Flamboyan

Property: Casa Flamboyan
Address: Carreterra Aeropuerto por el mar Caribe | Lote 11, Isla Mujeres, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 40 Speciality Lodging in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
These spectacular, colorful, oceanfront suites take complete advantage of their perfect location; from every vantage point in each suite you can see the Bay of Mujeres, sunsets with sailboats anchored and Cancun in the distance, and the Caribbean Ocean sunrises with incredible shades of turquoise, green, and blue. Real and Azul at Casa Flamboyan are two suites on the second story of a stunning, contemporary Mexican retreat. Casa Flamboyan is within easy walking distance of the downtown shops and restaurants, the ferry pier, and North Beach. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing