We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super location, wonderful host!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Su Casa Beach Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla Mujeres
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Su Casa Beach Cottages
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Super location, wonderful host!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013

We have just returned from our second stay at Su Casa. We had the pleasure of having the Hacienda. The location can not be beat...the Caribbean was at our door step, the views were amazing. There are activities on Sac Bajo to keep you occupied such as the Turtle Farm and Zama beach club is almost next door for a bite to eat and a swim. Of our five day stay we rented a cart for three and that gave us easy access to the North End but allowed us to have a quiet stay that we needed.
The owner Miriam is a delight and such a gracious hostess, she made us feel appreciated.
The house is rustic and charming with a huge bed in the main bedroom and a double in the side room and a futon my son slept on in the front room that doubles as a couch during the day. I can't imagine staying anywhere else. It is great value for the cost!

Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank shopkadyshop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    9
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
5
20
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

If you've got a small group together, stay in the main house (hacienda). This is literally the most beautiful vacation home I have ever stayed at. We just had our wedding here and booked the main house for 5 friends (2 couples and a single). It was so perfect in so many ways. The house is stunning, like an artists palace, and you basically have a gorgeous beach all to yourself. The sun rises and out comes the iguanas, whom sun bathe on your front porch. So much natural sunlight and reviving ocean breeze. Perfect home for people who don't dig modern all inclusive blah, blah blah. Stay here!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kinipeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

My husband and I have visited Isla several times and were excited to stay at Su Casa instead of in a hotel. Overall the place was okay and we enjoyed having a kitchenette but I don't think I would go back. The room was fine, but a double bed can feel quite small when you are hot and we chose not to pay the daily charge of $10 to use the A/C. We had a covered porch with a couple chairs and enjoyed sitting outside. The bathroom definitely needed some work though. The water pressure was non-existent, it took running the water for 5 minutes to get hot, the toilet was super finicky, and the line of ants constantly parading through the shower did bother me a bit. Cabin 1 (garden view) is quite close to the road so it was pretty noisy. We met several couples there who stay for months every winter so maybe the other cabins are nicer. I think that an ocean view cabin would have made it a difference being there. The other problem was that we didn't realize how far outside of town we would be. There are plenty of taxis in the area but the trip is about 100 pesos with tip each way so it can get a little expensive if you want to go to town once or twice a day and negates the savings of the rental. Marcos, the manager, and the owners were very nice and helpful. We did not have any problems with the dog but it was tied up. Having a beach right there was nice and there were lounge chairs and palapas for the guest's use. The ocean did have a lot of sea grass so I mostly relaxed on the beach not being a fan of swimming in that. My husband did quite a bit of snorkeling and said the piers on either side provided him the opportunity to see some local sea life. Overall Su Casa could be right for you but wasn’t really for me.

Room Tip: Cabin #1 is proably the worst. Ocean view cabin would definitely be worth the extra $10 a night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JGWIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
missouri
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

We offer no complaints. Our first visit to this property, but had toured it a couple years ago and found it delightful This area was quiet, slow, and non-tourist. Exactly what we were expecting. The cottage had everthing we needed, kitchenet, double bed, living space, bath and deck. Number #3 was oceanfront, within 10 yards of the sea. Beach with white sand and no waves. We were able to walk along beach as far as we wanted. The owner, Mariam was so kind and interesting, with many stories of the island as it was 40 yrs ago. We rented a cart for the week which enables us the freedom to go when and where we wanted. Perfect week.

Room Tip: Quiet part of the island. Away from town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank howardmonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkton, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

What a beautiful location . Su Casa was envied by all our family members as we were on the Island for a Family wedding which took place on the beach in front of our Su Casa Cottage.No wind, beach front and so peaceful.There was no part of our stay that we did not enjoy. The sunsets were incredible..This is the side of the Island to stay on for a quiet vacation.What a nice break from the cold Saskatchewan winter. We will be back.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Saskcin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

we had our reservations booked months in advance, called a week before arrival to see that all was on track..the owner had overbooked, no place for us, she said she would see what she could do, we did get a small room, had to be shifted around several times to other rooms to accommodate guests, two nights before we leave, the owner informed us she needed our room so we had to move to another location, other guests received fruit baskets upon their arrival, we never, other than the many inconveniences..the place is quiet and we met friendly guests

Room Tip: small room has an upstairs room over it, can hear dog, or people ,could be noisy room with ocean v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank merryfieldwellness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saskatoon, canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2011

if looking for 4 star destination this is not not the place. if love quiet, friendly people, your own little piece of paridise definately the place to go. this was our second time to
su casa and we have booked for two weeks in 2012

Room Tip: we rent the separate beach house and love it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donpattison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.0 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marina Paraiso
Marina Paraiso
#14 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.0 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
#20 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
#7 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,947 reviews
0.0 mi away
Na Balam Beach Hotel
Na Balam Beach Hotel
#12 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Su Casa Beach Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Su Casa Beach Cottages

Property: Su Casa Beach Cottages
Address: Sac Bajo Peninsula | Q. Roo, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 39 Speciality Lodging in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Su Casa Beach Cottages Hotel Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing