We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sea Hawk Suites and Divers - great location and value!”
Review of Sea Hawk

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sea Hawk
Bastrop, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Sea Hawk Suites and Divers - great location and value!”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Very handy place to stay and great folks to dive with. Bonnie and Ariel were on holiday for Christmas, too, when we arrived but our room was ready and waiting for us. The staff was friendly and helpful from the wonderful woman that greeted us to the night watchman. It being Christmas, the next morning was fully booked for divers so we booked a single tank for the afternoon. After that we made sure we were on the list for each morning two-tank dive. The room we had was on the first floor with a king bed. It opened out to a patio where there were tables for morning coffee and a line for hanging clothes to dry. A family next door with 3 children were visiting for an extended holiday. They, too, were pleasant and the children well mannered. Most nights we slept with just the ceiling fan and was quite comfortable. After some noises on about the 6th night we decided to close up and use AC. That and the next night being New Year's Eve and our departure was on New Year's Day we again opted for the AC and some measure of quiet. Bonnie and Ariel arrived on the afternoon of the 29th and went straight to work. WOW! Bonnie helped us the next day with transportation from the ferry at Cancun to the airport as there had been some terrible confusion on the other side and we had to procure different service for transport to the ferry. Bonnie also scheduled me an appointment for a massage on the last day of our stay.

Diving was just OK for us. Being experienced divers we were hoping for more pristine conditions but found the areas outside of the marine park to be almost barren of fish and sealife. The dive master was awesome for us, tho. We are not fast, busy divers and Eduardo was quite acommodating. After he found that we were pretty safe he let us pretty much dive on our own while he either led others or was searching out fish and lobster for his dinner. Dives are relatively shallow and time restrictions were 1 hour maximum. We registered only 1 safety stop on our computer throughout the entire week of repetative dives.

We certainly enjoyed our stay and found that Sea Hawk Suites and Divers were very, very cost effective for our short trip. The place is clean, friendly and helpful. Everyone spoke and understood English. This place is so convenient. We could walk everywhere thru town or if we wanted to go further an available taxi was always nearby.

I would definitely recommend Sea Hawk Suites and Divers to our friends visiting Isla Mujeres.

Room Tip: We were in one of two patio rooms and ours had a king bed while the other had 2 queen beds to acommo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Faithe917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    17
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
7
32
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013


Mexican warm hospitality? perhaps this is the right place.
Clean and cost/ effective accomodation?
You won't be disappointed.
An experienced and professional diving center?
You are in good hands.
Ariel, Bonnye and theyr staff are working in Isla Mujeres for decades.. so they really know the island! And you know what? It still means passion and adventure!
Once you try, you'll be back!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aquilone66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We came across Sea Hawk while visiting the nicest beach on the island (it's located 20 meters from it) and decided to stay there because of the great location and the reasonable prices. During our stay there we were amazed to see how nice everyone are. Ariel and Eduardo were so helpful and they made our stay very enjoyable. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NY603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopkins, Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

customer service rates top notch - everyone spoke and understood English. They have beach chairs available (at no charge) which saves you 100 peso per day. I didn't know it but they also have coolers you can use for your day at the beach. Our reservation was a bit goofed up, but Bonnie made up for it. I would run the a/c at night even if just on fan, to drown out the barking dogs ALL night long. I understand that a women that lives directly behind there takes in the stray dogs that need medical attention (what a wonderful thing), but it does get on your nerves after awhile. The patio is always cool with a nice breeze and the roof top view is great, although there isn't much up there if you'd like to bring your cocktail and enjoy the sunset...you'll just be standing. If they added a few bar tables or small bar, some plants & decor up there it would improve the experience. The kitchenette is just a microwave, coffee pot and toaster (no cook top) and a sink, it comes with all your utensils. None of the rooms have a spectacular view, but it is only a short block walk to the best beach on the island (Playa norte).

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ybcuzuru1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake City, Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

I regret having to report this and I'm only revealing this unfortunate event to help ensure that other vacationers don't experience the same treatment/results that we did. I read some glowing reviews about the Sea Hawk Suites so last June I sent a reservation inquiry to Bonnie. I was looking for a unit with a Kitchen and a King size bed, she said that she has a King Suite available and gave me the address to mail her a check for the 3 night deposit. I did so on July 9th, 2012 and I saved the e-mail threads which clearly define what we were booking and what she confirmed for me. When we arrived on Sat. Jan 26th around 6pm Arial was there, Bonnie was in Playa Del Carmen attending a Yoga event and couldn't be reached. Arial informed us that his wife made a mistake because she had us booked in Room#2 all week and had rented out our King Suite for the entire week. He became frustrated with us after reading the e-mail messages that I had printed out and told us that "this was his Wife's problem, he doesn't deal with this part of the business and that we would need to take it up with her" He also said "I have a room for you, your can take it or I will give you the deposit back" We opted for the money back since this was not what we agreed to (IN WRITING NO LESS!) and he quickly counted out the cash in US Dollars and we left. I waited 2 weeks and Bonnie has never e-mailed or called us about this unfair and very poor business transaction. I hope for their sake that it's a remote occurrence on their part, but caveat emptor ! ! !

Room Tip: Make sure you save any e-mails from Sea Hawk about what kind of room you're booked into and have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NorthBeach_Lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nurenberg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 February 2013

Our family stayed at the Sea Hawk Suites while visiting Isla Mujeres for a family vacation. This was our second time on the island and first time in Sea Hawk. After several emails with Bonnie about room choosing we stayed in Room 1 which has 2 King size beds and light kitchenette. What we missed was a wardrobe, there was just clothes rail with many hangers. We had air condition, but we used just the two fans on the ceiling. Which were quiet and enough.
We found our accomodations to be very clean and welcoming. We appreciated the beach towels in our rooms. The bed and pillows were comfortable and we took full advantage of the kitchenette facilities. We could warm the babyfood in microwave or on the cooker.
The bathroom was spacious with a big walk in shower. We would like to give high marks for the entire staff which were very friendly. Our daughter loved all of them, she really blossom out! The Sea Hawk is just a few steps to Norte Beach, location is top! Thanks to everyone at Sea Hawk for nice vacation.

Just info for parents - almost in every shop like Oxxo and 7eleven is babyfood to find. In Chedraui (like small Wallmart) is large variety of baby stuff to buy, so it is not necessary to take everything with.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zuzabrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

I have stayed here twice now, and loved it both times. Very convenient to Playa del Norte, and a lovely, quaint little hotel. Get the king suite; it's the best room in the hotel. Hanging out on the deck is so nice, and it's always fun to get visits from the local iguanas. And it's a steal for the money. I've also done diving through the Sea Hawk dive shop. While Isla's diving is nothing to write home about compared to, say, Cozumel, it's still reasonably good diving, and they run a good shop.

Room Tip: Go for a suite, and get a great deck to hang out on
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony_and_Erica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.1 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
#21 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Na Balam Beach Hotel
Na Balam Beach Hotel
#12 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
#7 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,052 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Secreto
Hotel Secreto
#10 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Hawk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Hawk

Property: Sea Hawk
Address: Calle Carlos Lazo, Isla Mujeres, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 40 Speciality Lodging in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sea Hawk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing