We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Recommended”
Review of Olivia

Olivia
Ranked #7 of 209 Restaurants in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Well Recommended”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We were recommended this restaurant by some friends and it more than lived up to our expectations. The service was great, the food excellent and it wasn't too expensive. If my stay here was longer I would definitely go back again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Race200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,467 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,116
    255
    69
    17
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“I Dream of Olivia”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We live in Montreal where we are spoiled with great Lebanese and Mediterranean food. Our good friend had told us Olivia was a must but we missed it on our last trip so made sure to go a few weeks ago when we returned to Isla.
In a time where food is so trendy and the words "best" and "epic" are tossed around for every instagrammed meal out there, I almost feel obnoxious saying that Olivia is one one the best meals I have had!
I could eat tapas for every meal for the rest of my life. Olivias fresh pitas, hummus, tzatziki and cheeses were a dream for me. We polished off all appetizers and barely had room for our brochettes but the meat and flavors were so good we stuffed that all in too. Really tasty kafta and chicken.
Margaritas were made fresh and were super tasty. I only wish I had room for dessert!
On top of the amazing food, the service and atmosphere were wonderful.
I can't wait to go back to Olivia. It was the best meal we ate on our trip and one of the nicest meals I have enjoyed in a long time!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mtl_habs_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good flavours, great service ”
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

What a nice surprise!!! The menu options are very good. The service is very good also, friendly, honest and efficient!

Creative atmosphere.
We all wanted to repeat our visit the next day!!!

Helpful?
Thank Mukhulu0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stillwater, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly good”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

This restaurant caters to European travelers and this is both its strength and weakness. Unlike other establishments, it greets with English and most customers and servers speak English. Thus the food, service, and prices reflect expectations for a more American-style service. I have walked by this restaurant on two other visits to the isla without really wanting to go in because it makes me feel like I am not in Mexico and they serve Mediterranean flavors, which I love, but usually don't crave there. Long story short, we had an excellent meal, especially the grilled meats and a chicken-olive dish that was unusualy hearty and had a rich, almost stew-like consistency. I'm glad we tried it. Really cute patio area in the back that felt tucked away from the street and well-decorated.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merida, Yucatan
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Am going back!”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Excellent atmosphere in a beautiful restaurant. Prompt service. Great food and a lively conversation with the owner!

I had the Pastilla. The filo dough pastry crust was perfect and the savory meat, crunchy pastry and sweet spices was right out of Morocco!

They found us a perfect bottle of Malbec. Well priced. Very nice.

The Baklava desert was perfect. Nutty and not to sweet.

There was so much stuff on the menu I was dying to try that we will just have to go back. Oink!

Make sure you a make a reservation! It is slow season here in November and this place was packed!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank miguelsmexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Olivia also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Olivia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing