We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get married here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Isla Mujeres Palace
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
6
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Get married here!”
Reviewed 17 May 2008

My new husband and I recently got married here on Good Friday 2008. I have been wanting to write a review since returning from our dream weddingmoon, but could not seem to find the words to describe our time there -- it was incredible.

We married with the water swirling around our feet in the most beautiful setting we could have imagined. Endless thanks to the entire staff and wedding coordinator (Rebeca) who went above and beyond to make sure our day was perfect. It was told to me, before I walked out to meet my new husband, that the staff was picking seaweed, by hand, out of the sand!! Talk about attention to detail! They set up a beautiful gazebo draped with flowing white linen, brought the sound system to the sand, and managed to find a minister that executed a touching, memorable ceremony as he rolled up his pant-legs and led us to the water.

Usually at resorts like this, they treat you like an "assembly line" wedding. Most places do weddings every hour, 6 days a week. Not at the Isla Palace-we were treated like the king and queen of the resort our entire 7-day stay. Days leading up to the ceremony, everyone, from waitstaff, to cooks, to bartenders, to the entertainment staff, and front desk workers continually told us how excited and honored they were to host our wedding. Daniel, the GM, even wrote us a personal letter of thanks. We were the first to marry there.

I have spent some time and detail telling you about our wedding just to prove that the service here is the best. I can't imagine going anywhere else and being treated better. My only hope is that Palace Resorts treats these employees well and pays them a decent salary. They deserve it.

Now onto details:
Rooms: We stayed in 101 -- ask for it -- perfect sunset and ocean views. Rooms were immaculate. Beds were clouds. 24 hour room service a +

Waitstaff -- Hector - #1 -- endless smiles. All were attentive and extremely gracious. One day they did not have guacamole out at the buffet. I asked for it and it was made personally for me.

Food: Fresh, excellent choices, something for everyone. No complaints. Come to dinner hungry.

Entertainment Staff: They work so hard and have a difficult job. It is a small resort (and even though it was spring break, it was at half capacity because it's new). The entertainment staff works hard to liven up a sleepy resort.

Mood: My new husband and I are in our late 20's and we looooved the laid back atmosphere of this resort. Although there are limited options on things to do, less choice is actually more relaxing, I think. Downtown Isla is a short cab ride away. Go to Bar Om.

Down sides: Not many - I've read many reviews of the loud club next door. I actually found it quite entertaining watching the action from a distance. Whatever -- we were all in college once and it is not the resort's fault. I think the Palace Resorts should put more of a quota on guests they allow in from other Palace Resorts. It got a bit busy and I felt bad for the lunchtime staff in the restaurant because they didn't seem to be staffed for these larger numbers of people in the morning and afternoon. These daytrippers, although large in number, actually bring a nice energy to the resort. By mid afternoon they are gone and you have your own private paradise back.

My new husband and I would recommend this resort to anyone who is in the midset to be treated like royality and have a laidback island vacation. The only people I could imagine not having a great time here are teenagers who like more of a social scene. But if you do bring children and teenagers, it is a good opportunity to bond and spend time with them.

Within days of being here, you will be on island time and not want to leave. We miss it and feel blessed to have had one of the most important days of our life here. Thanks to the staff that served strangers like us, with an endless smile.

  • Liked — The service and beauty; wedding photographer Antonio was fantastic! Ask for him.
  • Disliked — Can't recall a thing!
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank funtimes6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    797
    219
    61
    22
    16
See reviews for
75
887
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Milford NJ
Level Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2008

We are Palace Resort Members and wanted to try this particular resort out. We were NOT disappointed. We wanted a relaxing and restful vacation, worry free and that is what we got.
I suggest this resort for the 35+ crowd not traveling with children. There is not much for kids to do on the Island. This is not the "Party Palace", but you surely can get your fill of cocktails and friendly people to talk to.
Be aware that the resort becomes noisy from 7:45 to 10:30pm when a Royal Carribean Tour boat arrives with a couple hundred people to see the show at the resort next to the Palace Resort.
If you are looking for a more active vacation or you have children, I would reccomend staying at one of the other Palace Resorts IN Cancun and taking the ferry over to Isla Mujeres for half a day.

  • Liked — No Worries, All Inclusive, All Transfers booked and paid.
  • Disliked — No Quality Evening Entertainment/Shows
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank WM-Roadrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2008

The Palace resort on Isla Mujeres was fabulous! The accomodations, the gym, the pool, the restaurant were all top notch. However, it is the staff that makes your stay incredible. Since there are only 62 rooms (and only 7 other couples were there the week we were there!) they call you by name, they know what you prefer to drink, they take care of every last detail for you. Hector, Julio, Leo, Jose, Glendy, Francisco and others are part of the reason you will never forget your vacation there. The island itself is gorgeous, with white sandy beaches and ice blue warm waters. The town is quaint and has a charm that you will not find in Cancun. No Mc Donald's, no Starbucks, no Carlos and Charlies- but instead, fresh caught seafood daily, helados from the street vendors and Texas Hold Em in the lobby bar at night. We will DEFINITELY make this our annual getaway spot.

  • Liked — The rooms
  • Disliked — Beach area a little small
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ACLTX69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worcestershire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2008

We stayed at Isla Mujeres Palace from March 19-26. This is the perfect place to relax and chill out.

First can I say this was not our 1st, 2nd or even 3rd choice of palace hotel for this holiday but as it turned out we could not have been more pleased .

As previous posters have stated All of the staff were fantastic, the rooms beautiful and the food good.

One of our concerns was that there was only one restaurant (we are used to Moon Palace so lots of choice) no problem the menu is a mixture of Italian, Mexican and Chinese and is changed every other day.

The atmosphere is just so laid back you want to spend all day doing nothing, then you don't even have to think about where you want to eat on an evening.

We watched the fire show from the balcony of our room and was excellent. The Mexican show took place in the restaurant while we had dinner which was nice.

We only left hotel once when we got a golf cart and went into town had a fun day.Had snacks at a small place by the docks and watched the sun go down( The sunset was amazing.)

As others have said yes there is some noise from the disco next door but it was only two nights while we were there and it does not go on late. I have to say it didn't bother us.

The boat people arrive about 9am, most go on tours. Those that stay enjoy the pool or beach areas. (there is more than enough room for everyone).

Isla Mujeres Palace was fantastic glad we found it before it gets to popular. We WILL be returning.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank newfigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vermont
Level Contributor
82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2008

If you want a hotel all for yourself go here. The place is new and it is not always full, it has 62 rooms anyway. The service is second to none ,after the first day most of the staff will know your name. Dario is the best bartender, Eduardo and Jose at reception cant do enough for you. The wait staff is incredible, too many to name. The entertainment crew led by Braulio will have you entertained with some great shows during dinner. During your stay you should rent a golf cart downtown cost 15 per hour or 55 for 24 hours. You can see the whole Island in a few hours and go back to the places you liked and still have time . Town is unspoiled(no McDonalds ,Walmart, Diamonds Intl etc) its the real thing. Two things about the hotel I must tell you about. There is a supper club next door and they have boats trips there 6 nights a week music they play is loud, goes till after 10 some nights. after they leave you can hear a pin drop. Hotel is working on this problem with their Legal dept. (I hope). Second thing is not too bad. The Palace chain brings 3 boats over 6 days a week also. They are here from 9-2:30. gets crowded at the pool and around the grill in the restaurant. Just reserve your beach chairs before they get here and youll be O.K. When they leave youll have the place to yourself. I dont recommend place for kid as there is nothing to do at night. If you are over 40 and want to be alone to read etc go here. If you want to dance and party stay in Cancun.

  • Liked — the staff
  • Disliked — the noise from the club next door
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mrslick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Mujeres
1.3 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
6.6 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 180 in Cancun
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,703 reviews
12.5 mi away
Sun Palace
Sun Palace
#10 of 180 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Beach Palace
Beach Palace
#13 of 180 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,770 reviews
6.3 mi away
Secrets Playa Mujeres Golf & Spa Resort
9.2 mi away
Secrets The Vine Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isla Mujeres Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isla Mujeres Palace

Property: Isla Mujeres Palace
Address: Carretera Garrafon Vista Alegre Mz 63 Lote 1 SM 007, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Isla Mujeres
#2 Luxury Hotel in Isla Mujeres
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Isla Mujeres Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What better location for this small haven than at a small island once a sanctuary to Ixchel, the Mayan goddess of childbirth and medicine? Isla Mujeres (Island of Women) with its scenic views, tranquil beaches, marine parks, and sculptured cliffs, is nature at its best. Small and luxurious, this all-inclusive couples only resort is sure to guarantee a private and relaxed stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelbag, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Isla Mujeres Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isla Mujeres Palace Hotel Isla Mujeres
Hotel Isla Mujeres
Palace Hotel Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing