We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a quiet adult retreat” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Isla Mujeres Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Isla Mujeres Palace
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not a quiet adult retreat”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Isla Mujeres Palace over Christmas. Reviews neglected to mention albeit an adult only property, the hotel is flanked on either side by destination large party boats who operate daily excursions to adjoining beaches. Large party crowds of adult, families and singles descend onto the adjoining beaches and it's party time from noon to midnight. Pounding music, voice overs and meandering guests walk along the beachfront in front of the hotel as you try to quietly rest. The food was disappointing, repetitive, boring and unimaginative. The staff were pleasant and eager to please but beverage orders from time to time would either be forgotten, or take more than 20 minutes to arrive at your table or the beach. OK hotel but not standard of other Palace properties. Spa and salon services as advertised were not consistently available. Room service and housekeeping services weren't reliable and required follow up calls or visits to the front desk. The staff have big hearts and open smiles but this property needs a strong talented manager to focus and train staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Retreat_Hunter2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,065 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    754
    214
    61
    21
    15
See reviews for
66
851
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
foodieil
Level Contributor
96 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed at the Sun Palace in Cancun, and visited this palace for the day. What a change of pace, when we arrived everyone was sleeping in their pool chairs, listening to the soft waves crash on the beach. Beautiful small resort with a little beach front, a palace resort so we can only assume the service is above average. If you are looking for more people watching, partying and socializing, you may want to go elsewhere. We agreed we may be staying here next time.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank foodieil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

My husband and I travel to a different beach each Christmas and this year we chose the Palace from Dec 21-28. we were greeted at the ferry by Daniel and Pepe who whisked our luggage and took us straight away to the resort. Upon on arrival we were greeted by Roxana with a cool towel and adult beverage. She familiarized us with our lovely hotel room and we quickly unpacked and changed and went to the pool. From the moment we arrived till the time we sadly had to leave, the entire staff was exceptional. If we wanted something to eat that we didn't see on the menu, it was made for us!! All of the bartenders, especially Dario were attentive and never left us thirsty. The wait staff knew our names by day two and remembered our preferences. Jose and Karen got us involved in the daily activities such as bocci ball or blackjack, kayaking or paddle boating. Even with the occasional rain showers that we experienced, nothing could dampen the mood of our stay. We met several other couples that were such a pleasure to spend time with. Even though we have arrived back home, we are still smiling when we think about our vacation!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lally0202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

A wonderful getaway. We stayed from Nov 11-16 for our honeymoon. I'm not a huge fan of all inclusive resorts so we booked this one because it was small. Also because I didn't want to worry about food while on our honeymoon. The best part was the excellent service and the loads of other honeymooning couples. Jose was the best. We had fun! The $1500 credit isn't able to be spent as the spa is continuously booked (and there is $300 spa limit) at this location. We were bummed to have to go to Cancun to get a couples massage. Got a bit bored with the food selection so I could see the benefit of doing an all inclusive in Cancun so you could try the other locations' restaurants. We enjoyed the two shows during our stay and the couples dinner arranged for our honeymoon. If we go back to Isla, we will check out the boutique hotels to get a bit more island flavor. That being said, it was a beautiful location and a quiet stay--perfect for our honeymoon.

Room Tip: higher floors. try for ocean view but there are a lot of trees and not as much beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Danielle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hummelstown, PA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

We also stayed at Isla Mujeres Palace from Dec 1-8. This was our first time at a resort this small, so we were a little apprehensive. I was concerned about transporting our luggage, but Palace transfered us to the ferry, someone met us there and loaded our luggage. We did transport it off the ferry, but then the cab driver took over from there. When we arrived at the resort, Roxanne met us at the desk and we were in our room with our luggage in 5 minutes! Try to get that service at a larger resort. We were on the beach by 1 p.m. This was the first time we were in Mexico on December 1st to see the lighting of the Christmas tree. Very lovely and by 6 p.m. the first day, I felt as if I had been there for three days! Ulysses at the front desk was always very helpful!

Jose tried his best to get engage everyone in the resort activities! The first day I walked with him to the turtle farm and saw a baby albino turtle hatch and actually got to hold him! Quite a rare treat. We also took a walking tour to the church, the cemetary (which is very beautiful) and stopped at the Women's Bead Cooperative (a block from the resort) and purchased beautiful beaded bracelets and necklaces. Do not miss this! Jose also gave me private salsa lesson...and he's pretty good too!

The resort is small enough, that you eventually get to know the staff as well as the guests. We met wonderful folks from Toronto, Michigan, England, Ireland, etc. The first Thursday of every month there is an Arts Festival in the square downtown. That was lots of fun.

As other folks have said, if you are looking for lots of action and nightly entertainment, this is not the resort for you. You do have to go to the bar to get your own drinks most of the time, but that wasn't an issue for me. There are many tours and activities though--Garrafon Park, dolphin swims, snorkeling and lots of scuba diving. I think of it more as a diamond in the rough. Two years from now, it will be hard to book a room! Lots of folks rented golf carts and had a blast! If you don't rent a golf cart, every cab ride is about $5. It's a small island.

The food was fine, much better than I was expecting. Everything you can get any other Palace resort without the lines and waits. There is only one restaurant, but many evenings they allow you to pick from two or three menus. And, every seat has an ocean view. They even allowed you to order things that weren't on the menu.

The rooms were large and we had an ocean view. The beds were amazingly comfortable!

We were scheduled to spend our second week at Adventura Spa Hard Rock or whatever it is called now. We read on the internet that they were still having severe construction issues and everyone was very unhappy for one reason or another. My husband and I decided to see if we could get into either Playacar Palace or Moon Palace or any other resort. We asked Roxanne at the front desk and she was able to switch us to Playacar Palace in a matter of 10 minutes and found us at the pool to give us our confirmation number. Very impressive!

We can't wait to go back. One of the most relaxing vacations I ever had!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KLPeffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington, Michigan
Level Contributor
98 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

We also stayed at Isla Mujeres from Dec 1 - Dec 8th and what a great week in beautiful Mexico. While this is a small all-adult resort that is the exact reason that we went. We will be returning! If you want the absolute fanciest resort with staff waiting to cater to your every little want, this is not the place for you. So, please don't come and whine about it - go to LeBlanc. As stated by others, DO visit if you value a relaxing setting with everything close at hand. The staff is fantastic and treat you like family. You can make some great friends with the staff and fellow guests! The resort and island are very relaxing and tranquil. EVERYTHING is very close. The local artisan jewelers co-op is a MUST. Within walking distance of the resort, there are a number of special 'hidden' little gems that are available to those willing to be adventurous! Small artisan market on Thursday evenings from 4 -7 features many island residents who have made Isla Mujeres their home, mostly American and Canadian. Daniel, the manager, is readily available and is a friendly host! Our thanks go out to all of the staff but be sure to get to know: Julio Caesar and get started with some great omelettes; Hector who is full of energy and can be found everywhere; the bartenders Dario, Edy, and Daniel; wait staff members Jose, Christian; and Roxana, Jose Alvarez, Jose B, Rosa, and Sharayne. And, if you like to dive or snorkel, Isaac and Zach are awesome. As I said, WE WILL BE BACK!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Bay
Level Contributor
77 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

We had a very pleasant stay here for one week in Dec. Airport transfer was perfect, public ferry was fun with live musicians! It is a very small resort with 62 rooms, so it is very quiet and relaxing. Staff were superb, hats off to Jose for taking us on walks abouts and for the water aerobics! Juan's Mayan coffees never failed to impress, and Arturo's flambed crepes were delicious! Very friendly...rent a golf cart and go exploring!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather_Gray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Mujeres
1.3 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
6.6 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 181 in Cancun
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,570 reviews
12.5 mi away
Sun Palace
Sun Palace
#11 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Beach Palace
Beach Palace
#13 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,598 reviews
5.8 mi away
Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa
6.3 mi away
Secrets Playa Mujeres Golf & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isla Mujeres Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isla Mujeres Palace

Property: Isla Mujeres Palace
Address: Carretera Garrafon Vista Alegre Mz 63 Lote 1 SM 007, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Isla Mujeres
#2 Luxury Hotel in Isla Mujeres
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Isla Mujeres Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What better location for this small haven than at a small island once a sanctuary to Ixchel, the Mayan goddess of childbirth and medicine? Isla Mujeres (Island of Women) with its scenic views, tranquil beaches, marine parks, and sculptured cliffs, is nature at its best. Small and luxurious, this all-inclusive couples only resort is sure to guarantee a private and relaxed stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Travelbag, Odigeo, Holiday Gems and Hotels.com so you can book your Isla Mujeres Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isla Mujeres Palace Hotel Isla Mujeres
Hotel Isla Mujeres
Palace Hotel Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing