We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A destination wedding with family and friends”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Isla Mujeres Palace
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Broomfield, Colorado, USA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A destination wedding with family and friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2010

We arrived in early July and had over 40 guest join us during the week before our wedding. Our guest enjoyed the spa, swimming with the dolphins, visiting the park with zip lining and snorkeling, driving around in the golf cart, shopping at the market, and enjoying the friendly people on the island. The service, food, spa, employees, beach, pool, bars, and rooms were top notch!
If you are considering doing a wedding at the resort it was amazing! Rebecca is the wedding coordinator at the resort and you can completely trust her and know she will do an amazing job. She truly makes sure everything is taken care of! Monica in the spa does a great job on your hair and make-up. She is very relaxed, and professional.
The service and food for the reception couldn't have been better. We had a 5 course meal and bar on the beach. We also hired a DJ from Cancun and had dancing on the beach.
We did not hear one complaint from any of our guest. We had guest with young children and guest that came and enjoyed time together ranging in ages from 4 years old to 70 years old. The entire experience was truly amazing and the resort did EVERYTHING to make the day as special as possible. We already have guest planning on returning!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CP2_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,093 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    777
    217
    61
    22
    16
See reviews for
72
872
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cortez, Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2010

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our trip to Isla Mujeres. Isla Palace is perfectly located by being a short cab ride away from the hustle and bustle of downtown, but offers quiet and seclusion with 5-star service.
On a day we decided to spend on the hotel beach, we found all kinds of sea life while standing in knee high water. Urchins, octopus and multitudes of fish. We also took a walk over to the east side of the island to observe fabulous sunrises that can't be accurately captured on film.
The staff, especially Jose were outstanding and we definitely plan on returning.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomasBocaGrande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
austin
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2010

the food was below average and i would have been better off eating at mc donalds. It took close to 45 mins to get a meal, but they only had 30 people staying at the entire hotel so at any given time you would only have 2 or 3 tables eating at a time. the service was horribly disgusting. NO one speaks english and about 6 times in 3 days we would order one thing and after waiting close to an hour get the wrong meal. some food was edible and some even for free i would not eat. so most of the time we would order two meals each and only expect to be able to eat one.... some times neither would be edible and i would just order a plate of fruit. the water is so bad i did not see one person swimming in it. the kayak you can take out only goes 20 feet or so out and you need a life jacket? it is only ankle deep so why you would need a life jacket is beyond me just stand up. the entertainment was not great at all but i knew that before going so i cant complain about that. the ride from the ferry to the hotel is a horrible ride because the hotel is at the end of the island and your driving through a ghetto to get to it. not my idea of luxury at all. When we went to walk around the security at the club right next door said we had to go back that hotel guests could not walk past the hotel so forget about a mid night stroll. I also had a pair of $200 oakleys stolen out of my room on the second day. I did not leave the hotel so i know i did not leave them any where

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank drooster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slidell, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2010

Were one at the resort was fun and friendly.
The room was always clean and it was very spacious.
We enjoy the location the place is wonderful.
This was our second trip to Isla Mujeres Jose the bellman is friendly and funny. Jose Luis , Grendy, Patrica, Edy, Wilma and the young man that ran the pool entertainment and nightly entertainment was wonderful.
This is the BEST Palace Resort it is our favorite and we will return.
They made my husband birthday wonderful.
We were the first to have the special dinner using our Palace money it was WONDERFUL and we will do that again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gyzmoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Palace on Isla Mujeres after staying at the Sun Palace the year before. We knew we wanted a more relaxed vacation that we would find in Cancun proper, and the Isla Palace hit the spot. The pool never had more than 20 people in it at a time, and the service was impeccable ( thank you everybody!) . ... Two things I value most on a relaxing vacation.
The rooms were clean and the bed was super comfortable. There was a nice mix on the menu at the restaurant, so it made up for the fact that there was only one dining option.
As people have mentioned previously, the staff is truly what makes this hotel such a pleasure.
I had the opportunity to chat poolside with a couple who had come for the day from Cancun Palace and they said that people at their hotel woke up at 6AM ( ON VACATION!!!) to go down to the pool to lay out towels to claim seats for the day. That would have been my version of torture, so Im thrilled that we chose the Isla Palace instead. We initially were a bit skeptical about the fact that they allowed children at the hotel and there was no designated adult pool, but we took a chance and were pleasantly pleased with the outcome even though I was disappointed by the beach. There isnt really a place to swim as the water is full of weeds, and the government doesnt allow the resorts to clean them out anymore. All in all, the pool was lovely, but the beach was just "meh".

Isla is definitely more casual than Cancun. There is no urge to get fancy for dinner, and we only did so once when we had dinner at the Casa Rolandi ( which was amazing). If youre looking to party, this isnt the place for you... but if you want to relax, it is a perfect option.

On a side note, the best thing we did on this vacation was visit the " Floating Island" which is a must see on any trip to Isla Mujeres... It is an island totally composed of recycled materials, and it floats on pallets laid on bags of empty plastic coke bottles!! The man Richart that owns it is both funny and knowledgable. Even if you are not an eco-nut it is an extremely inspiring experience to go see how Richart lives and tour his home. ( there is a 50 peso donation expected per person.. approx $4.50 USD.. for Richart's time and to help maintain the island... but it is well worth it for the 20 minute tour). Have fun!!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flipflopgirl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2010

Beautiful, luxurious hotel! My husband and I stayed here for about 4 nights and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We had a jacuzzi bathtub in the room, and it was wonderfully romantic to soak in a bubble bath with a glass of wine. The room was spacious and clean. We got this room through some points so didn't pay for it, otherwise I don't think we would have paid the ~$400/night for this.

The food in the restaurant for dinner was quite good, but the lunchtime fare was just mediocre. The staff were really friendly and went above & beyond to help out. One day my husband and I were touring the island on the golf carts (a must do activity!) and stopped by the resort for a quick lunch. The staff noticed and asked if we wanted to grab "to-go" boxes and have a picnic out on the island!

The beach on the hotel's property was nice although we didn't swim much there. The only thing is, the hotel is on the opposite side from the downtown. This is nice if you like a quiet atmosphere, but if you're looking for nightlife (bars, restaurants, etc) it's like a 5 min taxi ride. The resort is also within walking distance to the turtle museum, which wasn't that exciting but had some cute turtles

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hoting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2010

We were at the Palace Resort for our son and his fiancee's wedding with the ceremony being held there. We were a group of 23 and all but 4 stayed at the palace. And we cannot say enough good things about the resort and their staff. All employees that we encountered were absolutely great, very pleasant, very helpful and went out of their way to accomodate us.
It rained pretty much nonstop for the first 3 days of our stay, but the weather cannot be controlled! As such, we were unable to explore the island as we had hoped, but that just gives us reason to go back and again stay at the Palace.
The food was excellent. Breakfast and dinner were ordered from a menu until the weekend rolled around and then breakfast and lunch were buffet style. Dinner was always off the menu. The dining room menu and room service menu are exactly the same so check out both. If we wanted something that was not on the menu we asked for it and the staff did their best to make it happen.
The water has a lot of seaweed in it, so you can't really play in the water but they are constantly raking up the seaweed to keep things clean.
The wedding site and decor' were absolutely stunning and everything was perfect (with the exception of clouds building up in the background - but again, the weather cannot be controlled.) The staff made sure that everything was perfect for the ceremony and we couldn't have asked for anything more.
The resort is towards the south end of the island with shopping, restaurants and nightlife being on the north end of the island. But it's all just a short, cheap cab ride away.
It was after "peak season" when we were there (April 13th through April 19th) so the resort was only about 1/2 full and pretty quiet. There were a couple of floor shows during dinner and kaorake a couple of nights but otherwise pretty quiet, which was just fine with all of us.
The rooms are spacious, clean and beautiful. The beds expremely comfortable.
As a group, I don't think there were any complaints about anything the resort had to offer. We will be back!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MNgal_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Mujeres
1.3 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
6.6 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 182 in Cancun
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,630 reviews
12.5 mi away
Sun Palace
Sun Palace
#10 of 182 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Beach Palace
Beach Palace
#14 of 182 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,686 reviews
6.3 mi away
Secrets Playa Mujeres Golf & Spa Resort
9.2 mi away
Secrets The Vine Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isla Mujeres Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isla Mujeres Palace

Property: Isla Mujeres Palace
Address: Carretera Garrafon Vista Alegre Mz 63 Lote 1 SM 007, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Isla Mujeres
#2 Luxury Hotel in Isla Mujeres
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Isla Mujeres Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What better location for this small haven than at a small island once a sanctuary to Ixchel, the Mayan goddess of childbirth and medicine? Isla Mujeres (Island of Women) with its scenic views, tranquil beaches, marine parks, and sculptured cliffs, is nature at its best. Small and luxurious, this all-inclusive couples only resort is sure to guarantee a private and relaxed stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Holiday Gems, Travelbag, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Isla Mujeres Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isla Mujeres Palace Hotel Isla Mujeres
Hotel Isla Mujeres
Palace Hotel Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing