We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Spectacular location”
View From Mar Y Cielo
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View From Mar Y Cielo
Entry Conversation Group
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
7 reviews
View From Mar Y Cielo
Entry
Conversation Group
From Balcony in Living Room
Entertainment by Netflix
Living Room Sofa
Kitchen From Sofa
Kitchen with Ceramic Stovetop
Hallway from Kitchen
Kitchen/Dining Area
View From Kitchen
Dining Area/Living Room
Hallway to Bedrooms
Master King or Two Singles
Roomy Closet
Bathroom
Queen Bedroom
View From Queen bedroom
Bay of Mujeres From Balcony
Sailfish Building
View from Large Terrace
Snorkelers at Garrafon de Castilla
Loungers and Umbrella on Terrace
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Isla Mujeres, Yucatan Peninsula

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
kayaker60...
Maine
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Spectacular location”
Reviewed 12 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017
3
people found this review helpful

We made wonderful memories during our two week stay at Mar Y Cielo. The condo is spacious and well equipped. It was meticulous upon our arrival, and then cleaned again at the end of our first week. The view from the 5th floor is truly spectacular. You can count on it looking exactly like the picture - gorgeous!! The sunset was beautiful each and every night. We got our exercise walking to Punta Sur to see the sunrise, running up the stairs to the condo several times a day, and snorkeling close by. There's no water access right in front of the condo, but Garrafon de Castille is a stone's throw away, and only costs 70 pesos ($3.50 US) for a full day of swimming / snorkeling at the beach there. The bigger Garrafon Reef Park is a short walk up toward Punta Sur, and although more expensive, it offers a lovely pool, drinks and buffet, zip-line, trampoline, etc. making for tons of fun. Also nearby is "The Joint" (fun reggae restaurant) and Casa de los Suenos, where there are fire dancers every Friday and Saturday night (no cover charge). The show was excellent and the walk back to the condo lovely under a full moon. There's a taxi stand close by in front of Garrafon Reef Park, and taxis are super cheap on the island, so if you want to go to Playa Norte, you can easily get there for only 100 pesos ($5 US). Our two weeks was dreamy; we're huge fans of Isla Mujeres and Mar Y Cielo. Highly recommend!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rhumrunne...
Cozumel, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Comfortable place with amazing views”
Reviewed 30 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
3
people found this review helpful

This condo was a great place to stay and we all considered it a good value. It was clean and nice linens and towels were provided as well as a fairly well equipped kitchen.. The view was perfect and we enjoyed it morning noon and night. The reasons I couldn't give a higher rating were as follows: the grounds and building itself are in need of some TLC, the stairway was not very clean and several sections of railing were broken and, it is quite a hike up 5 floors with no elevator, not for the faint of heart! Had I realized the climb, it might have been a deal breaker. Although I would recommend this place, I would caution anyone not in good physical condition.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Those God awful stairs
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2016
Many thanks for your review and feedback. One of the things I stress in the description is that it is a penthouse location(thus the superb views) and is recommended for active people. The stairs should of course have been clean, that can be remedied, as can the broken railing, which I was unaware of, so thanks for letting me know. Again, thanks for the helpful feedback.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beachdrea...
Centennial, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Amazing view”
Reviewed 6 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I had a last minute change to a vacation we had scheduled on the Mayan Riviera. I only had 3 days to book a totally different trip. We decided on Isla Mujeres and I found Mar y Cielo. The owner Vicki was a dream to work with and she got us all set up in her condo and with a gulf cart. Unfortunately my husband ended up with a flair up of an existing health and we had to leave earlier than planned. But once again Vicki was great and helped with those changes as well. Her condo is on the southern tip with breathtaking views of the ocean. The colors are amazing and you can take it all in from her comfy balcony or larger rooftop area with loungers and umbrella. The condo is very spacious and beautiful inside. It's an older building so the outside had seen some wear due to oceanfront location. But don't let that be z concern because inside is great with good A/C, very impressive water pressure and very fluffy bath towels. The unit was very clean as well. A great find on the Island and a very good value!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mateo2016
North Mankato, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Mar y Cielo: Our home for 3 weeks”
Reviewed 25 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Mar y Cielo is a newly renovated top floor penthouse condo in the quiet Garrafon neighborhood of Isla. We really enjoyed our time near Punta Sur and this condo quickly became a great home base for our 3 weeks of exploring Isla Mujeres. Everything was in new condition and we had everything we needed. The full kitchen was nice for preparing breakfasts on the deck. The bedrooms were comfortable. Highlights included spectacular sunsets and night time star shows from the deck. We also used the beach club across from the condo. We met some friendly neighbors and even attended a condo potluck dinner one night. Vicki went out of her way to make sure we had everything we needed.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole E
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Condo! ”
Reviewed 20 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in this Condo during our stay on Isla Mujeres. The location is superb- on the best snorkeling beach on the island! The views from the balcony and private rooftop sunning terrace are spectacular!

The condo itself is nicely decorated with beautiful art and modern furnishings and has everything you need to prepare meals and relax. She even has a roku with Netflix!!!!

Vicki was easy to get ahold of for questions and I would highly recommend her property. Thanks for a wonderful week in a beautiful location!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 28 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Liked best: The views & light
Liked least: Not accessible.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing