We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something draws me here.”

Cafe Peon Contreras
Ranked #504 of 740 Restaurants in Merida
Cuisines: Mexican, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Spokane
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Something draws me here.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2013

I wouldn't say the food is excellent but it's adequate. The service is usually friendly but not a stand-out. But something always draws me to this place when I am in Merida. I love watching the world go by from these tables, I guess. The little Mayan girls selling me scarves delight me. And I do like the music (but could do without the movie). Not a rave review, I know, but not a bad place to eat and hang out.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KarynSpokane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    34
    29
    15
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Music is a bonus”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

We just had coffee and ice cream while we listened to the musicians who play every night. The outside tables and music provide a very pleasant evening near the Grande Plaza.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TXace49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schaffhausen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Terrible food, terrible service from the administration”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2012

People from Merida is very nice, kind and friendly but this place is totally the opposite.

The restaurant was a couple of meters away from our hotel, it wasn't full reason why we chose it.

The prices were very high for Merida and the quality of the food very poor, a total disappointment.

Our waiter was very nice, we asked to provide separate bills plus one invoice and he agreed, the problem was with the lady at the cashier, our bill took a round 20 minutes when I went to ask why our bill and invoice was taking so long, the lady was incredible rude and began to scream me and teaching basic accountancy, I requested to talk with the manager and it was even worst, the manager was as rude as the cashier.

If you want to have a lovely dinner and nice environment, please do not go to this place.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BCG84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ambience and Flavour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2012

Before or after a concert, this is the place to sit and relax, with a cofee or a Bandera (tequila with lemon and salsa). Snacks were delicious too.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa del Carmen
Level Contributor
312 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“good and cheap”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

Right downtown...if you want inexpensive and good basic food, this can't be beat...open all the time, great spot for any meal anytime...never disappointed.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank kwdoug1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Peon Contreras also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Peon Contreras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing