We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Happy hour under the stars.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pancho's

Pancho's
Ranked #33 of 718 Restaurants in Merida
Price range: US$15 - US$30
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Drinks, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Uno de los mas antiguos y queridos restaurantes en el centro histórico de la ciudad de Mérida, a solo dos cuadras de la plaza principal o plaza grande.
Shelton, Washington
Level Contributor
71 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Happy hour under the stars.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Two for one drinks with very good pours. Excellent botanas and delicious (and ample) guacamole. The bartenders are personable and more than competent. The popcorn is always crisp and the food, if you choose, is very good. This is a regular stop in Merida for many of us who live in Merida on Friday evenings. If you find yourself unhappy with anything, let the staff or management know and they will do their best to fix it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave1271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    202
    70
    32
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Loved the food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

We loved everything we ordered.The decor and ambience were amazing.Outdoor dining was under a huge tree,sitting in a courtyard felt so Mexican!!Our cocktails were delicious and the waiters were helpful and friendly.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank glamviva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
106 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Overpriced mediocre food in a nice outdoor garden”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

This is the typical overpriced tourist spot we try to avoid on our travels. The margaritas were watery and the food was just so-so--edible but unremarkable. The atmosphere is fun though, with large trees and a bar area in the outdoor garden. We felt like it was a Mexican version of TGI Friday's--not terrible, but not really original or notable for its cuisine. The prices are higher than most other restaurants in Merida, and in our opinion, Pancho's isn't really worth it.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dream_genie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Make this your evening restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We tried finding other restaurants of equivalent calibre but kept returning here. Food is good, service is friendly, there are fans to cool you down.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
422 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 306 helpful votes
“A really good dining experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

There are many restaurants in Merida to choose from, many of while serve up great food at a very reasonable price. Pancho's is not quite in this category, being more expensive than the average eating place, although still pretty good by US standards (a family of four cost atou US$110, including a bottle of wine).

The food was really good. My enchillada's in green sauce were just what I wanted, and so much like Tex Mex (oh, by the way, this is not the best place for authentic Yucatan or Mexican food by any means). My wife really enjoyed her soft crab (one of the specials) and the chocolate brownie at the end was heavenly.

For me, the best part of the experience was the atmosphere and the service. We had a table outside on the back patio, a space that is totally enclosed and full of trees and shrubs. In March this was a very pleasant setting but I imagine it's rather sweaty in the summer.

Overall, I would recommend this place if you want to spend a little more on a meal and guarantee good food, atmosphere and service.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank OilRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pancho's also viewed

 
Merida, Yucatan
 

Been to Pancho's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing