We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casa Alvarez Guest House”
Review of 62 St. Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
62 St. Guest House
Ranked #19 of 88 Merida B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 January 2014

My boyfriend and I just got back from a trip to Merida and Campeche, and stayed for a week at Casa Alvarez. The room was spacious and clean, as was the bathroom. The highlight of the experience, however, was the staff. Miriam, whom we met when we first arrived did everything she could to make our stay comfortable. I am a very light sleeper, which was noted when we made the reservation, and Miriam chose a room that she thought would be the most quiet. I slept every night like a baby. The location can't be beat; very close to the centro, with many restaurants, shops, cafes and bars nearby. A wonderful stay. I would not hesitate to recommend this guest house to anyone. The only member of he staff who wasn't always friendly was Charlie the cat, but he's a cat, what do you expect?

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iodoggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2014

Casa Alvarez has a great location like a block from Parque Santa Lucia. The real gem is Miriam who runs the operation. Although a bit dated (but then all of Mérida is probably dated), the place is spotless. It has a nice mix of guests. If you enjoy good conversation with someone who knows her way around the city and has views on any number of topics, then this is probably your place with Miriam as your host(ess).

Room Tip: Any room is fine as noise is not a factor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bruce b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Miriam is a lovely person and I felt very well taken care of. The house is kept spotlessly clean and includes use of the communal kitchen with coffee, tea, toast and cookies complimentary each morning. The location is close to Santa Lucia park and the centro, just a few blocks on foot. There are always a lot of people out walking and I felt safe walking home from dinner alone. There are lots of great restaurants from which to choose and the beautiful Paseo de Montejo is also only about a 10 minute walk. The guests ranged from retired people who return each year to families to backpackers. All very nice and considerate guests. There are several day trips that Miriam can arrange for you. I went on the trip to Dzibilchaltun and Progreso. It happened to be a rainy day, but our guide was very knowledgeable and I enjoyed the small group tour. This was my first visit to Merida since I was in college 14 years ago and I couldn't have asked for a better experience.

Room Tip: The street us rather busy, so ask for a room further back if the noise will bother you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pamela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We randomly found this guesthouse in our Frommer's Guidebook and are so incredibly happy we did -- it's wonderful, perfectly located, and a professionally run accomodation that made us feel like we were staying at home! It's beautifully managed by brother/sister team Enrique and Miriam, who are warm and hospitable and always on hand to assist, answer questions, or make recommendations. We were greeted by them every day and really enjoyed our conversations (and playing with Charley the cat!).

For $46/night, it was an excellent value. Our extremely clean room (#15) was charming, quiet, and comfortable with a private bathroom on the upper floor. It was cleaned and the towels were changed daily. We had a mini-fridge, A/C, locking safe, and a ceiling fan -- the room was cool and breezy and we found that we didn't even really need the A/C at night. Breakfast was light and easy in the shared kitchen with coffee and biscuits. The kitchen is also stocked with a water cooler so you can fill up/re-use your water bottles day and night and not need to worry about buying water all the time.

The location is also PERFECT. Right near Santa Ana Plaza and just a few blocks from the Plaza Grande. It's very quiet inside the courtyard area and rooms. Best of all, it's professionally run and managed by delightful people. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paquitaladelbarrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

As long as you understand that this is not a hotel or a real B&B, this is a wonderful place. It's a simple guest house, run by really helpful people, right off the center of the old city. It's an old property that the owners keep scrupulously clean to the extent that is possible given its age. We stayed in room 10 which was huge with a really nice king bed. As for breakfast, they supply brewed coffee in the self service kitchen, plus bread and jam, but that's it. In other words, but pastries and yogurt the night before, and you're set. You also have access to a microwave, fridge, unlimited purified water, and cookware. It's the winter home of several American snowbirds, and gets a lot of French and other European guests. The day of our departure Miriam, the owner, got up early enough to help us hail a taxi at 5:45 am, which was going way beyond the call of duty. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Our room was spacious, as it appeared all were, had great lighting, a big window to the courtyard where we could sit outside under the porch or lounge at the small pool. We had a small fridge in our room (which we always love) but there is also a large shared kitchen with full size refrigerator as well. A simple breakfast is available for free as well as coffee/tea and all kinds of small snacks. This was a beautiful, clean place with comfortable beds. As everyone says, the hosts, Miriam and Enrique really make the stay. We were on the move so we only stayed 2 nights buts we would like to come back here and hang out. Staying with the family would allow us to greatly improve our Spanish. It seems the hosts don't speak much English but you wouldn't know it because communication with them seemed as if we were all speaking the same language. They made sure we had everything we could possibly want. Here you are close enough to anything you might want to see, do, buy or eat.

Room Tip: There are a lot of options so check them out. Most rooms have a little 'private' sitting ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eddice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Merida is a beautiful city and Casa Alvarez is the place to stay. Miriam was waiting for us right when we got there and she was more than helpful with all of our questions. The room was big, comfortable bed, clean sheets, very quiet, family oriented and a lot of character for the guests to fell just like at home. The swimming pool was great, the AC works perfectly and the well equipped kitchen with some breakfast every morning was well done. We are in love with Mexico and can't wait to go back to chat with Miriam.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marciadefoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casa San Angel
Hotel Casa San Angel
#36 of 105 in Merida
235 reviews
0.2 mi away
Luz En Yucatan
Luz En Yucatan
#3 of 105 in Merida
1,034 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gamma de Fiesta Inn Merida El Castellano
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Carmita
Hotel Casa Carmita
#9 of 88 in Merida
99 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Piazzetta
Hotel La Piazzetta
#3 of 88 in Merida
179 reviews
1 mi away
Ochenta Y Dos [an urban bed & breakfast]
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 62 St. Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 62 St. Guest House

Address: Calle 62 #448 x 53 Centro, Merida, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Merida
Price Range: £27 - £29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your 62 St. Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Alvarez Guest House Hotel Merida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing