We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Affordable!”
Review of Aventura Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aventura Hotel
Ranked #94 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very Affordable!”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here the end of September 2013. This place is extremely affordable and the service is awesome! This is a minimalist hotel, but there is AC, hot water, WiFi and TV. The beds are pretty comfortable! Very cute hotel and within walking distance of lots of great food, architecture and you can take the bus to the beach for $1 per person round trip! There is so much to do in Merida. Why not stay somewhere affordable and enjoy every bit of it?! I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Leann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    6
    3
    7
    4
See reviews for
6
11
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

I stayed here for 2 weeks in July 2013. This hotel more than ticked off all my boxes. Within budget, close to the center of town , airconditioning and wifi. The rooms are nice and cosy with ensuite shower and hot water.

The staff without exception are eager to please , from Carlos the manager who provided me loads of useful information, about where to go and what to do, to the house keeper who kept the room immaculate. I would definitely recommend this gem.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alt_de_lette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

I chose aventura based on its proximity to the bus station as i planned to stay in merida for only a night. The amenities for the price of $16, as of this review (low season), were unmatched - safe, clean individual bedrooms, wifi, tv and ac. It delivered precisely.

Of course if the traveller is looking for a true downtown experience of Merida but willing to 'up' the budget, the choices can become much larger.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank faisaltraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mindanao, Philippines
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2011

This is an ideal budget hotel with a great staff and manager. Yes, it is no frills but you should know that after your research for a hotel. I stayed for about 5-6 days the first week of June 2011 and for 2 days in July 2011. Laundry service is available in hotel (just ask housekeeper; 30+pesos depending on size), many cocina economicas nearby and just a 10 minute walk to Plaza Grande which is not to be missed. There are two very large and fascinating mercados within a 15 minute walk or just hop on the city bus for fifty cents.
Merida is a very safe city that is far from the madness of other less fortunate cities in other regions. Walking back to hotel at night was no problem. No problem with hustlers and the like. People in this city are very noble and hard working.
These are just a few of the reasons a stay at Aventura Hotel is a good deal. If you speak some Spanish your stay will be even more enjoyable. The hotel is clean, air conditioning in some rooms(more being added) and a very helpful staff.
I will stay at Aventura hotel on my return this fall. A great bang for the buck!!!

Room Tip: Ask for air if you need AC
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank coconutman47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2010

The hotel was characterless with nothing else other than a reception room and the hotel rooms based along a long outdoor corridor. The staff were very loud inviting friends in until the early hours of the morning and the TVs in various rooms were also too loud to the point where I had to go out and ask for them to be be turned down. They do not speak English as the website had stated and were not very helpful at all.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fw777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Merida hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2009

We visited Merida mid-July 2009. We stayed at the Aventura for 5 days. Room 9 was spacious, quite basic with a small bathroom. We had daily maid service that always left our room immaculately clean, with fresh, snow-white towels daily. The air-conditioner is dated, but it did its job (took a little while to cool-off the room, but still it did it). The staff do no speak English at all, but they are so friendly and nice, and latin-based words (as well as gestures) did the trick. Every night the landlord would lock an iron, corridor door for extra safety. I am not sure what the previous traveler meant, as our experience (and at the same month!) was 100% different at the Aventura. For $25 a day, we got way more than that money's worth! We will definitely stay there again :o)))

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stellgp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2009

This place is one of the wrost hotels that I 've been in my life. We had a wedding in Merida and our budget was low. I check the website and the pictures and look cozy and clean. That's all that we needed. ok...the place does not look anything like the pictures..I dont know how they did it..There is no air condition and YOU HAVE TO HAVE A/C in Merida. Check the weather before you go...the rooms doesn't have WINDOWS!. The bathroom was dirty. We had only ONE dirty and old towel with "excrement" on it. And not only that...we were dinner for the red ants...When the light went of they ate us alive! The only reason that we stayed that night was that we got there at 2AM. The next morning we run away as fast as we could and we had the bugs bites for at least a week in our skin... DONT EVEN THINK ABOUT IT! BELIEVE ME! IT'S NOT WORTH AT ALL. SPEND A LITTLE BIT MORE (LIKE WE ENDED UP DOING AND YOU'LL BE WAY MORE HAPPY.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yayalola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel San Jose, Merida, Mexico
0.0 mi away
Las Americas
Las Americas
#82 of 103 in Merida
8 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Santa Maria
Hotel Santa Maria
#61 of 103 in Merida
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Montejo
Hotel Montejo
#50 of 103 in Merida
59 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Posada Toledo & Galeria
0.9 mi away
Hotel Santa Ana
Hotel Santa Ana
#41 of 103 in Merida
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aventura Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aventura Hotel

Property: Aventura Hotel
Address: Calle 61 # 580 | btwn Calle 74 and 76, Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only two blocks from Santiago Square in the Centro, Aventura Hotel is a clean and comfortable place. The Aventura Hotel is under new American management, and priced the way hotels used to be in Mexico. Muy barato! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Aventura Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aventura Hotel Merida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing