We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below average”
Review of Aventura Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aventura Hotel
Ranked #96 of 105 Hotels in Merida
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

We would like to give this place a good review because the man running it was so friendly, but him and the killer wifi was about the only things going for it.

Our room was smokey, and I found it unpleasant to breathe the air inside the room. We are not usually too fussy about stale smoke as it seems like people do sneak cigarettes in a lot of Mexican hotel rooms, but the smell here was overpowering.

The room was dirty, and the sheets had not been laundered (there were someone else's hairs all through the bed). We slept on top of the covers rather than sleep between the sheets. Generally we didn't think the room was very clean.

The location is not very good. It is walking distance to the zocalo, but there are many other accommodation options that are much more central.

Price was about 350pesos for a double room.

Stayed: May 2014
2  Thank robby71187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2014

I have traveled extensively in Mexico, and always on a budget. There are many hotels in Merida of similar price and distance to the Zocolo (walking distance, not close). My room had mildew growing on the walls & copious mold in the air. (The manager told me that all rooms in the Yucatan have mold. Please, I'm not that stupid!) The mattress was thin, flimsy and covered in a heavy, noisy plastic. The two women at the desk were too interested in their computers to be bothered by the customers. Adventura is owned by 2 American men, clearly not fully invested in the hotel. One owner, Tim, seems to care somewhat about his guests. The other emitted an arrogant, uncaring attitude. It's sad that Mexico is losing its charming, warm, family-owned hotels to investors from other countries, interested only in your money. My advice is to try one of these family-owned lodgings: Hotel Angelita, close to ADO on Calle 69, #567 (between 70 & 72) Tel/fax: (01-999) 930-96-63. Or Posada Lucy, Calle 60, #561 (between 69 & 71) (no sign, ring bell), Tel: (01-999) 924-72-25.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evann1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

My friend and I stayed for 5 days at this hotel and loved every minute of it. Carlos is a wonderful host and went out of his way to help me send my backpack to Canada. The rooms were very clean, hot water, wifi, ac and t.v. All of the staff were pleasant and helpful and I especially liked the lady who cleaned our room. she was always smiling and happy to see us. I would stay here again in a heartbeat. Lovely place and lovely people. Merida is a beautiful city and we had no problems getting around from the Aventura hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kathleen63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here the end of September 2013. This place is extremely affordable and the service is awesome! This is a minimalist hotel, but there is AC, hot water, WiFi and TV. The beds are pretty comfortable! Very cute hotel and within walking distance of lots of great food, architecture and you can take the bus to the beach for $1 per person round trip! There is so much to do in Merida. Why not stay somewhere affordable and enjoy every bit of it?! I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Leann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

I stayed here for 2 weeks in July 2013. This hotel more than ticked off all my boxes. Within budget, close to the center of town , airconditioning and wifi. The rooms are nice and cosy with ensuite shower and hot water.

The staff without exception are eager to please , from Carlos the manager who provided me loads of useful information, about where to go and what to do, to the house keeper who kept the room immaculate. I would definitely recommend this gem.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alt_de_lette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

I chose aventura based on its proximity to the bus station as i planned to stay in merida for only a night. The amenities for the price of $16, as of this review (low season), were unmatched - safe, clean individual bedrooms, wifi, tv and ac. It delivered precisely.

Of course if the traveller is looking for a true downtown experience of Merida but willing to 'up' the budget, the choices can become much larger.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank faisaltraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2011

This is an ideal budget hotel with a great staff and manager. Yes, it is no frills but you should know that after your research for a hotel. I stayed for about 5-6 days the first week of June 2011 and for 2 days in July 2011. Laundry service is available in hotel (just ask housekeeper; 30+pesos depending on size), many cocina economicas nearby and just a 10 minute walk to Plaza Grande which is not to be missed. There are two very large and fascinating mercados within a 15 minute walk or just hop on the city bus for fifty cents.
Merida is a very safe city that is far from the madness of other less fortunate cities in other regions. Walking back to hotel at night was no problem. No problem with hustlers and the like. People in this city are very noble and hard working.
These are just a few of the reasons a stay at Aventura Hotel is a good deal. If you speak some Spanish your stay will be even more enjoyable. The hotel is clean, air conditioning in some rooms(more being added) and a very helpful staff.
I will stay at Aventura hotel on my return this fall. A great bang for the buck!!!

Room Tip: Ask for air if you need AC
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank coconutman47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
2.3 mi away
Hotel Montejo
Hotel Montejo
#53 of 105 in Merida
72 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel San Jose, Merida, Mexico
5.6 mi away
Hotel Santa Maria
Hotel Santa Maria
#61 of 105 in Merida
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Santa Ana
Hotel Santa Ana
#43 of 105 in Merida
171 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Colon
Hotel Colon
#85 of 105 in Merida
81 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Doralba Inn
Hotel Doralba Inn
#38 of 105 in Merida
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aventura Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aventura Hotel

Address: Calle 61 # 580 | btwn Calle 74 and 76, Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 105 Hotels in Merida
Price Range: £16 - £23 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only two blocks from Santiago Square in the Centro, Aventura Hotel is a clean and comfortable place. The Aventura Hotel is under new American management, and priced the way hotels used to be in Mexico. Muy barato! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Aventura Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aventura Hotel Merida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing