We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great option”
Review of Hostal Zocalo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Zocalo
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great option”
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Great option in the centre of Merida. Right on the zocalo, a perfect base to explore the inner city.

The breakfast was excellent. All the fruit you could eat plus an omelette and beans.

Male toilets were unclean- urinals didn't flush, shower curtains for the toilets, which sort of draped over you when sitting on the toilet, shower pretty average.

We had a room facing the zocalo with its own balcony - very nice! Obviously a little noisey but worth it as room was nice.

Our room was very hot at night. I know Merida is hot in May, and not sure if the heat problem could be solved, but had to get up at night and have a few cold showers - worth mentioning as aircon is not an option here.

We found the staff pleasant and helpful except for the young male who works their who was rude and unhelpful for our entire stay.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank robby71187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    345
    156
    59
    15
    20
See reviews for
31
189
177
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Decent hostel. Excellent location on the main park (no view of it though). Giant lockers outside of rooms, can fit 2 backpacks in there. Most of the dorms were single, not bunk beds. Bed linen was very stained but clean. Big bathroom, no hot showers. Apparently the boys bathroom had no privacy. Great breakfast with huge variety and omelets. Free water and WiFi. Some of the dorms are too hot, even with fans. Some staff were lovely and helpful, others were not helpful at all. Sometimes there were too many staff and friends of theirs hanging around. Big kitchen, lots of hang out places.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Den367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

Thanks oscar and the team at hostal zocalo for a great stay at your hostal. Zocalo is perfectly located on the square in Merida. The large bed in the private room was the most comfortable I've stayed in in my 3 weeks in Mexico. Breakfast is abundant and fresh, and if you request a room overlooking the square you have a great spot to people watch. Guests were all friendly and the common area was well serves by wifi - sadly it didn't extend to the bedrooms, but that was a small price to pay. The hostal also offers well priced tours, which are worth while taking up to see some of the lock area.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank somedays_i_am
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Located on the main street which borders the central plaza in Merida, this place was a pleasure to stay in.
The staff is very friendly and helpful, and they are like a big family as most of them seem to have been working there for years. This seems to reflect good working environment for the employees and makes a pleasant atmosphere for the guests.
The included breakfast is massive with lot of choices, eggs, cereal, fruit, yogurt, etc.
We stayed in a private room, but for the people staying in the dorms they have available the biggest lockers we have ever seen, that are perfect to fit backpacks and suitcases, so security won't be an issue.
The building is interesting in its shape with high ceilings.
If you are planning to stay here we recommend you to book in advance to secure your place and also because the price is cheaper on the hostels searchers websites than if you just walk in.
Would definitely stay there again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabesse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,339 reviews
172 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 332 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

This hostel has beautiful architecture and a perfect location.
The prices are a bit high for a backpacker but can be negotiable depending on the time of the year and availability (see photos section for prices).
They have an amazing breakfast included in their prices. Breakfast consists of 5 different types of cut fruits, natural yogurt, 2-3 types of cereal, milk, omelettes, coffee and tea.
They also have a computer for the guests to us, alongside a good WiFI connection.
We stayed in room 21 downstairs which had a perfect coolness (temperature-wise) to it.
There are several bathrooms available to use and all are kept clean and in good condition (including hot water 24/7).

The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful, perhaps with the exception of the young lad that works there (I think his family owns it), which came across a bit arrogant and annoying at times. Though this was not to ruin our pleasurable experience.

One last thing worth mentioning, my G-Shock watch went missing during our stay. I can't blame anyone for sure but just be careful where you leave your stuff.

Overall, highly recommended!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TravelReviewer1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

$ 150 per person/night in 6 bed dorm (however we were put in a 4-bed private room) 29th-31st March, 2014

Vibe: There isn't one. Although this hostel serves a purpose, the hodge-podge of clientelle and lack of vision left us wanting to leave sooner rather than later. Everywhere feels half-finished and if only some more money, care and love was given to the details, this could be a gem.

Location: Good location, right on the main square, in the midst of the historical centre, about 15 minute walk from bus station.

Best thing: Roof access. Most people don't appear to venture up here, so you will have the undisturbed views of the city to yourself.

Worst thing: Our room. Very little natural light, an ant infestation and sweltering heat abated only by the noisiest fans we are yet to encounter.

Value for money: If you are simply looking for a good base in Merida, and are fortunate enough to be placed in one of the upstairs rooms (which looked an awful lot nicer), you may well be happy with this hostel and its decent breakfast.

Recommended for: People who are passing through and in need of a good location.

Top tip: Make use of the excellent kitchen and try to request a room on the upper level.

Rating: 6/10

For photography, guides and travel tips, visit www.alongdustyroads.com

Room Tip: Make sure to request a room on the upper floor, otherwise you will be stuck down below with very lit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alongdustyroads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

This hostel is situated in a nice colonial building on the main squarw in Merida. The private rooms are cheap compared to other hostels, and they have an enormous included breakfast buffet, with fruit, cereals, coffee, yoghurt. The staff is very helpful.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ben_RC2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.2 mi away
Gran Hotel de Merida
Gran Hotel de Merida
#30 of 103 in Merida
268 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luz En Yucatan
Luz En Yucatan
#3 of 103 in Merida
1,001 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Ibis Merida
Hotel Ibis Merida
#19 of 103 in Merida
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa del Balam
Hotel Casa del Balam
#14 of 103 in Merida
523 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mision Merida Panamericana
0.5 mi away
Hotel del Peregrino
Hotel del Peregrino
#17 of 103 in Merida
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Zocalo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Zocalo

Property: Hostal Zocalo
Address: Calle 63 #508 Planta Alta x 60 y 62 | Off he central square of Merida City, Merida 97000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 72 Speciality Lodging in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old residence of the famous yucatecan artist Jose Peon Contreras, located in the heart of Merida, with a spectacular view of The Plaza Grande on 63rd Street in the ancient Mayan City of Tho' founded, whatever it was rigth in the palace of warriors. Here is your home! We ensure that your rest is pleasant, with hot water, comfortable beds and clean cotton sheets. The kitchen is the heart of this space, where you can meet people from all over the world, that tell fantastic historis about great travelers... In a creative and free environment. And to be sure you will to the march whit a firm step through these lands of the Mayab, we offer the best breakfast you can find, rich, healthy, varied, plentiful and quality; whit all The fruit you could want, eggs, cereal, bread, milk, coffee, tea, jams, caramel milk, peanut butter, honey, brown sugar, yogurt and more.... YOUR ARE WELCOM! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal Zocalo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Zocalo Hotel Merida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing