We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks for all your sweet”
Review of Hostal Santa Lucia

Hostal Santa Lucia
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Santa Lucia
Ranked #41 of 81 Speciality Lodging in Merida
Reviewed 22 June 2012

COME STAY HERE!

Nice People, not expensive, air conditioning at night so it´s easy to Sleep.
The hostel provides the pool of a hotel that is near the hostel and is very good
will miss Merida.

Room Tip: You can choose any that all have air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2012

The only experience we have with this hostal is that is was closed when we were there.
We had a reservation for the 24th and 25 of december 2011 and paid a amouth a couple of months before..
We also got a confirmation from the hostal itself by email, 2 weeks before we were going to stay there..
We checked the next three days and it was still closed.
Terrible they didn,t tell us anything.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank anoniem461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

I live in Cancun and went to Merida for a wedding. I had made a reservation two weeks prior through their website and received a confirmation number and everything. I even wrote to ask that the reservation had been made a few days before. I received no response.

The day of the wedding, however, I arrive only to be told that there was no reservation in my name. I gave the clerk my confirmation number, which, it turns out, was not necessary since they logged all reservations in a notebook. I asked if they could check online for my reservation and was told that the owner was the one who receives all reservations and calls them in every morning to set the rooms aside. I was given a semi-private room (I wanted a private) and it turned out to be a small room within the women's dormitory. The walls did not reach all the way to the ceiling so I could basically hear everything that the other women in the room were saying.

When I came back from the wedding, early in the morn, I found that they locked the main gate. I tried my key and as it turns out, did not work on the door. I eventually had to go to another hotel and have them call. It turns out that there is a door bell but because the gate was closed, you can't see it from the street.

There was complimentary breakfast of fruit and eggs that next morning, which I will have to say was the best part of the stay.

When I received my credit card statement, I found that they had also charged me for 10% of my entire stay to "reserve" the room. I wrote to the owner to ask for a refund and explained my situation. For some reason, that email was also not answered.

I would recommend this hostel for walk-ins but I would definitely not stay here again and have decided that I would definitely pay the extra money for privacy.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tauromaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2010

This was the worst place we stayed in in 4 mths of travel.
The worst case of bed bugs i have ever seen.
They say on the net there is breakfast, we were never offered it and didn't see anyone eating in the morning. Staff is very cold. The enterance to the private rooms are inside the womens dorm so men are walking through it anyways.
dorm is super hot.

stay at the nomada a block down the street. WAY better hostel!
STAY AWAY FROM THIS PLACE!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dreamingtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2010

Friendly atmosphere, friendly employees, Great location, Clean rooms/bathroom(s)

Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
Thank AshleyS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2009

I just spent 4 nights at Hostel Santa Lucia. I chose it because it was half the price of Hostel Nomadas and they have a nice website. The amenities are the same as most hostels, the staff is friendly and helpful, and the ambiance changed each day as new people arrive and leave.

The dorms are clean (metal bunk beds, no bugs!), they turn on the air conditioner at night (no long sweaty nights!) There is a female dorm available, I didn't see inside it.

The breakfast is simple but tasty (fruit, pancakes, eggs, coffee.) The hostel sells beer and soft drinks, or you are welcome to bring in your own. Open access to the kitchen too. Hot water for showers.

The location is 3 or 4 blocks from the Grand Plaza. There is a laundry place across the street. Convenience store 2 blocks away, and plenty of good restaurants nearby.

So, I would recommend this hostel. You can be social if you want or you can sleep in peace without people being noisy.

It is a good home base for any vacation in the Yucatan.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: El servicio es muy bueno, cualquier cama o habitación serán buena elección!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Ibis Merida
Hotel Ibis Merida
#21 of 105 in Merida
565 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fiesta Americana Merida
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Merida
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hotel Santa Maria
Hotel Santa Maria
#62 of 105 in Merida
58 reviews
1.1 mi away
InterContinental Presidente Merida
2.4 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Inn
Hotel Hacienda Inn
#34 of 105 in Merida
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Santa Lucia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Santa Lucia

Address: Calle 55 bet. 512 x 64 y 62, Merida, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 81 Speciality Lodging in Merida
Number of rooms: 29

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing