We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service”
Review of Gran Real Yucatan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gran Real Yucatan
Ranked #56 of 105 Hotels in Merida
Reviewed 26 February 2012

If you don't run into any problems, this hotel is fine, very modern with a nice courtyard. But should you run into trouble you cannot count on the competency of the staff. I needed to call my bank in the US to cancel my bank card. They did offer me the phone, but said I had to pay about $3/min for the call. They would not let me use the hotel's calling program and when I asked how to get a phone card he could not say where to go to get one, but had a vague notion there was one a couple blocks away.
In the end I went back to our previous hotel, Hotel Julamis, where the owner immediately offered me the phone to call the US direct.
In addition, there was no hot water in our room. We had let the sink and the shower run and run four about five minutes. The staff came to help and he ran it for another five minutes when it started to finally warm up. In the morning there was no hot water again, of course, since nothing had changed with the actual plumbing. When I told the very young man at the desk, he did not know what to say.
I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (283)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 283 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2012

Great location for exploring galleries, restaurants, shops, and the plaza on foot. Also near banks and pharmacies. Property is beautiful and meticulously groomed. Air conditioning and plumbing are superb. Enjoy your meals around the lush tropical courtyard. Have cocktails or an afternoon icecream at lovely pool side. Staff is always gracious and friendly. Quiet courtyard room was perfect. So bright and airy. Soooo happy here that I extended my stay.

Room Tip: Courtyard room at pool side gives you sound of waterfall and lovely garden pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mkaytravelready
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

lovely, nice, wooow! totally enjoyable! its and antique "casone" with new touch! great decor, elegant and modern, stay here, located in down town and great first impression which stayed for the whole stay!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We enjoyed our stay in this converted and mostly maintained hotel. The courtyard is a great feature and the main area is pleasant. The staff are attentive and helpful, even if the speak only Spanish, they try and if you try you can make it work. What we couldn't understand was why there was banging in the halls and one time even on our door. Was it a ghost? Or was it just the tour groups coming and going. But would definitely stay again when in Merida. The breakfast buffet was always well stocked. We did feel safe there.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank docrod05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

My wife and I reserved for 1 nigth at thit beautiful hotel because we read great reviews, but we really liked the hotel and enjoyed very much the pool, the location, downtown and the "serenato" from Santa Lucia, a litlee park close to the hotel with typical serenatos avery thursday. The rooms are very nice, bathrooms great, beautiful building, good food, nice pool, well, I really would recommend this plece, I dare to say is the best in downtown and a great option in Merida.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Stayed here for two nights with a 28-people tour group. The hotel is situated about 7 minutes walk to the Parque Central and close to all restaurants and shopping. The front is an old colonial building, so when you walk inside, it’s an open courtyard, with nice, big comfortable sofas and armchairs to the right, a little garden in the middle and then breakfast area to the left of the courtyard. Behind this old building is the newly added hotel with the rooms. They’re spacious, nice new furniture, comfortable beds, good aircondition.
The quality of breakfast depends on your luck though I guess : the first day it was only our tour group, so it was a meager continental breakfast, the second day there were three groups so they made a buffet, which was quite OK choise-wise. Got a little crowded there with about 80 people though.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeannine2708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

We stayed here just for two separate nights in August, 2011, and had no problems at all. We found the place to be clean and welcoming. The rooms were fairly big, nice bathroom, view of the pool, everything you wanted, really. We found the service to be very good. When we returned for the second night, the room smelt of cigarrettes. We were going to put up with it, then decided that we should call it to the attention of the staff. The young man was most apologetic and said the rule is that people don't smoke in the rooms, but it does happen. He offered immediately to move us to another room, and indeed, came and helped us move our things.

There are only two negative things we would say: one is that the hotel, while comfortable, has little character, and could be anywhere (some people of course may prefer this!), and the other is that when we were leaving, we were asked to wait while they radioed for a member of staff to check our room. This made us feel anxious because we had a bus to catch, and it took several minutes, but also slightly offended that they felt the need to do this. I understand they do this with everyone, but it would have been better to have been warned!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaretjoe28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.3 mi away
Piedra de Agua Hotel Boutique
0.2 mi away
Hotel del Peregrino
Hotel del Peregrino
#16 of 105 in Merida
497 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Mision de Fray Diego
La Mision de Fray Diego
#22 of 105 in Merida
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Gamma de Fiesta Inn Merida El Castellano
0.2 mi away
Gran Hotel de Merida
Gran Hotel de Merida
#33 of 105 in Merida
272 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa del Balam
Hotel Casa del Balam
#14 of 105 in Merida
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Real Yucatan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Real Yucatan

Address: Calle 56 No 474, Merida 97000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 105 Hotels in Merida
Price Range: £39 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gran Real Yucatan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gran Real Yucatan is a five star hotel located in a former 19th century French style mansion, in the historic center of Merida, Yucatan. It offers two Master Suites, two Junior Suites, 18 Delux Plus bedrooms and 52 Delux bedrooms. The wide facilities and personalized service provide with comfort and luxury for a better experience. The hotel’s restaurant, “El Emperador”, offers a great variety of local and international dishes and the bar, “Los Vitrales”, next to the swimming pool, has a wide selection of cocktails and wines. All rooms are equipped with air conditioning, safe box, LCD flat screen tv with remote control, telephone in the room and bathroom, WIFI, fully equipped bathroom including amenities and bathtub. All rooms have balconies with views to the pool or garden. The hotel’s location makes it a perfect choice for every traveler since is located only a few steps away from the cathedral and Main Square, also close from the colonial “barrios” or neighborhoods of the center area. It is also strategically located for the business travelers; it is only a few blocks away from the business and commercial district, Paseo de Montejo. You will be able to find a wide variety of restaurants, bars, churches, parks, souvenir and boutique stores and more. Stay in the Gran Real Yucatan to make your stay a unique experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Splitty, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Gran Real Yucatan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Real Yucatan Hotel Merida
Gran Real Yucatan Merida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing