We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and service”
Review of Gran Real Yucatan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gran Real Yucatan
Ranked #58 of 105 Hotels in Merida
Reviewed 11 May 2012

We stayed here in April 2012 for 4 nights. The staff were excellent, nothing was a problem, and the receptionist in particular went out of his way to help us. The hotel is located within walking distance of all the main attractions. The breakfasts were consistently good with plentiful portions. The free wi-fi was an added bonus. The building itself is beautiful and really authentic, the gardens and planting were lovely. However, our room was quite noisy due to some electrical equipment making noise all night outside by the pool. We ate at the hotel one evening and regretted it, whilst breakfast was tasty, dinner certainly wasn't! Luckily the receptionist recommended us a good local restaurant (La Chaya Maya) for our last night which was lovely.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harrietstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (286)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 286 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2012

If you want to pay 1200 pesos for a room with a dirty bathroom, cheap soap and not even a fridge, go there. At 2am, we were woken up by a running noise which force me to go to the reception. I was told thet the noise was from the "tuberia"...no news for the staff. So we had to change rooms, packing up and ending up in another room where the AC was not working out.
Breakfast is horriblee, with canned sausages charged at 98 pesos, insipid coffee, and fresh juice that has been made thee day before.
This hotel is primerly catering for huge groups and does not care for individual travellers. The rooms are quite small also, with regards to the amount charged. Avoid it ! Last but not least, when connecting to WiFi, the service is offered by a third party which logs your browsing habits. Privacy ???

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vROEbVNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Been to Merida dozens of time and first time at this property and it was a treat. The location very close to everything right downtown. The hotel lovely iwth nice rooms, great towels and beautiful pool and deck area. The people warm and helpful. Delightful

only negative, is why do they have tiny flat screen TV's you can't see very well from the bed????/ And not very many channels....otherwise perfect and good value

Room Tip: alll rooms have balconies overlooking beautiful pool area, but I liked my ground floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kwdoug1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

I was very disappointed in my room, considering the grandeur of the court yard and cost for one night. The room just felt grungy and there was black mould in the bathroom. Thankfully, I'd only booked for one night.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anasaskia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

If you don't run into any problems, this hotel is fine, very modern with a nice courtyard. But should you run into trouble you cannot count on the competency of the staff. I needed to call my bank in the US to cancel my bank card. They did offer me the phone, but said I had to pay about $3/min for the call. They would not let me use the hotel's calling program and when I asked how to get a phone card he could not say where to go to get one, but had a vague notion there was one a couple blocks away.
In the end I went back to our previous hotel, Hotel Julamis, where the owner immediately offered me the phone to call the US direct.
In addition, there was no hot water in our room. We had let the sink and the shower run and run four about five minutes. The staff came to help and he ran it for another five minutes when it started to finally warm up. In the morning there was no hot water again, of course, since nothing had changed with the actual plumbing. When I told the very young man at the desk, he did not know what to say.
I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Great location for exploring galleries, restaurants, shops, and the plaza on foot. Also near banks and pharmacies. Property is beautiful and meticulously groomed. Air conditioning and plumbing are superb. Enjoy your meals around the lush tropical courtyard. Have cocktails or an afternoon icecream at lovely pool side. Staff is always gracious and friendly. Quiet courtyard room was perfect. So bright and airy. Soooo happy here that I extended my stay.

Room Tip: Courtyard room at pool side gives you sound of waterfall and lovely garden pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mkaytravelready
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

lovely, nice, wooow! totally enjoyable! its and antique "casone" with new touch! great decor, elegant and modern, stay here, located in down town and great first impression which stayed for the whole stay!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.3 mi away
Piedra de Agua Hotel Boutique
0.5 mi away
La Mision de Fray Diego
La Mision de Fray Diego
#22 of 105 in Merida
306 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel del Peregrino
Hotel del Peregrino
#15 of 105 in Merida
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Gran Hotel de Merida
Gran Hotel de Merida
#30 of 105 in Merida
273 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa del Balam
Hotel Casa del Balam
#14 of 105 in Merida
544 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Continental
Hotel Casa Continental
#51 of 105 in Merida
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Real Yucatan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Real Yucatan

Address: Calle 56 No 474, Merida 97000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 105 Hotels in Merida
Price Range: £31 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gran Real Yucatan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gran Real Yucatan is a five star hotel located in a former 19th century French style mansion, in the historic center of Merida, Yucatan. It offers two Master Suites, two Junior Suites, 18 Delux Plus bedrooms and 52 Delux bedrooms. The wide facilities and personalized service provide with comfort and luxury for a better experience. The hotel’s restaurant, “El Emperador”, offers a great variety of local and international dishes and the bar, “Los Vitrales”, next to the swimming pool, has a wide selection of cocktails and wines. All rooms are equipped with air conditioning, safe box, LCD flat screen tv with remote control, telephone in the room and bathroom, WIFI, fully equipped bathroom including amenities and bathtub. All rooms have balconies with views to the pool or garden. The hotel’s location makes it a perfect choice for every traveler since is located only a few steps away from the cathedral and Main Square, also close from the colonial “barrios” or neighborhoods of the center area. It is also strategically located for the business travelers; it is only a few blocks away from the business and commercial district, Paseo de Montejo. You will be able to find a wide variety of restaurants, bars, churches, parks, souvenir and boutique stores and more. Stay in the Gran Real Yucatan to make your stay a unique experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Gran Real Yucatan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Real Yucatan Hotel Merida
Gran Real Yucatan Merida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing