We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay - wish it had been longer”
Review of Gran Real Yucatan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gran Real Yucatan
Ranked #55 of 105 Hotels in Merida
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We spent one night here during a tour of the Yucatan. The lobby area is lovely with comfy sofas and lovely planting. I have to say we didn't find the reception staff could understand English, but our daughter speaks Spanish so this wasn't a problem for us. The room was lovely, the breakfast fine, although not a buffet as the hotel was very quiet. Sadly, we didn't discover the pool until late evening, but it looked very enticing.

The hotel was situated a short walk from the main square and a short walk from good restaurants
I wish we had stayed here another night rather than moving on to the next hotel..

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
granreal y, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Real Yucatan, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Thank you so much for stay with us.
We hope your travel experience here in Yucatán was beautifull.
We invited to you, come back in 1 of November, and enjoy with us the Hanal Pixaan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (283)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 283 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2014

The Gran Real is located a few blocks from the Cathedral and main attractions of historico centro Merida. Walking in, the lobby area is very impressive with bright lights and classic furniture with a mix of modern. Check in was easy, the staff are very accommodating and can understand English well. The room was a double with two beds, dresser, desk, and full bath...a great bathtub, something you don't find usually at this price range in Mexico. The rooms are clean with free wifi that works pretty well, TV, though you only get English movies on occasion, toiletries are provided and the towels are like bath sheets..very nice touch.

There is a restaurant and bar area, though we did not have breakfast included in our rate, so did not eat there as there are a lot of places within walking distance. There is elevator access to the upper floors, and a beautiful big pool outside. The rooms face into the courtyard pool area, most with small balconies and sliding doors for fresh air. It is very quiet for the most part, though the ceilings and walls have no insulation from noise, so you can hear when a chair is pulled out or a soft muttering every now and then. Its to be expected in an older hotel in Centro. There are in room safes for valuables, though I never felt unsafe or uncomfortable at all here.

Its a beautiful hotel with many modern amenities and the price was quite reasonable for what you get.

Room Tip: we were in 201 and it was right off the elevator on a corner, it was convenient and fairly quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GUNN704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I was a bit worried about staying here having read the previous reviews but I was very impressed and would definitely stay again. Our room was quite large with a little balcony overlooking the pool. Airconditioning worked well and even had a sleep mode for quiet operation during the night. We ate at the outside restaurant and even though the service was slow the staff kept us informated. Lovely breakfast the following morning. The only negative was a lack of coffee making facilites in the room, but this was easily rectifed by visiting the bar which had lovely views over the pool or the stylish inner courtyard which also hosts the restaurant tables.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah_and_Stuart77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We approached our stay here with some trepidation after two very bad stays en route and with the negative reviews we had read. The hotel is situated on an unprepossessing street but a short walking distance to the (delightful) town centre. You enter into an airy patio/courtyard with the restaurant on one side. All our rooms were in a modern (3 years old) block and were large and comfortable with solid old fashioned looking furniture and modern bathrooms. Looking over a small courtyard, they were also quiet.
We had dinner out but some of our group ate in and pronounced it fine. We had breakfast on the patio and it was also fine. We had no problems checking in or out. There were not that many people staying so maybe that was a factor as to why our experience is so different from others.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fupi14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

Travelling around a country it's important to have somewhere comfortable to rest when not walking around sightseeing. You wouldn't want to spend a moment longer than necessary here. The rooms were small and poorly fitted out with nasty bathrooms (we had two, and the shower didn't work in one). The beds had crunchy plastic mattress covers - classy...
Breakfast was literally indelible so we resorted to a bowl of cornflakes and left it at that.

Stayed: December 2013
4  Thank Trouper2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We were not too impressed by this hotel. The hotel itself is beautiful and well kept. When we arrived on a weekend we had to wait for forty minutes before we could even start the process of check in. There was a couple before us complaining about something which should have been a red flag. Then the credit card machine would not work. Finally after an hour we got the keys to the room. The first thing we noticed upstairs was a horrible smell in the corridor and our room. Musty smell. We had made the mistake of booking via Expedia--big big mistake as they will never let you change your reservation. Another mistake we made was to book a hotel. We have travelled six times to Latin America this year and have always gone with bnb, always.

This hotel has clean rooms and the bathrooms are nice. The water is hot. The internet is horrible! Forget about getting online in your room! This is areal issue if you want to check emails or Google maps to plan your trip. The maid takes great pains to do a good job, tip them well. The restaurant is a joke and the food lousy, don't even botherr. The AC did not work the first night nor did the safe. The distance from the centro is not bad. The walls are quite thin so you will hear noises all around you.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

After reading so many negative reviews, I'd never think people were talking about the same hotel! My husband and made a quick stop in Merida on our honeymoon,we planned to stay two days, but ended up staying a whole week. The staff was unbelievably helpful and gave us info and directions on how and when to get to all the hot tourist stops. We did not tour w groups, we went everywhere on our own using the rental car the receptionist got us for a really good price! The breakfast and sweet bread was the best we've had at any other hotel! We still rave about them after so long! Our room was super comfortable, clean and the restroom was super clean and not "aged" at all , as other reviews suggest. We took off to another hotel since we decided to stay another day in Merida before taking off to Valladolid, and boy did we REGRET IT!!! Gran Real was by far more inviting, cleam and comfortable. We never would have thought that other hotel would be that terrible after all the great reviews we read on it! I guess it all comes down to we each talk about our own experiences, and dedinitely no two will be the same. But we will definitely book at Gran Real when we return to Merida... so sorry to hear so many people had a bad experience in such a lovely hotel :(

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ilianaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.3 mi away
Piedra de Agua Hotel Boutique
0.2 mi away
Hotel del Peregrino
Hotel del Peregrino
#16 of 105 in Merida
497 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Mision de Fray Diego
La Mision de Fray Diego
#22 of 105 in Merida
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Gamma de Fiesta Inn Merida El Castellano
0.2 mi away
Gran Hotel de Merida
Gran Hotel de Merida
#32 of 105 in Merida
272 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa del Balam
Hotel Casa del Balam
#14 of 105 in Merida
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Real Yucatan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Real Yucatan

Address: Calle 56 No 474, Merida 97000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 105 Hotels in Merida
Price Range: £38 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gran Real Yucatan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gran Real Yucatan is a five star hotel located in a former 19th century French style mansion, in the historic center of Merida, Yucatan. It offers two Master Suites, two Junior Suites, 18 Delux Plus bedrooms and 52 Delux bedrooms. The wide facilities and personalized service provide with comfort and luxury for a better experience. The hotel’s restaurant, “El Emperador”, offers a great variety of local and international dishes and the bar, “Los Vitrales”, next to the swimming pool, has a wide selection of cocktails and wines. All rooms are equipped with air conditioning, safe box, LCD flat screen tv with remote control, telephone in the room and bathroom, WIFI, fully equipped bathroom including amenities and bathtub. All rooms have balconies with views to the pool or garden. The hotel’s location makes it a perfect choice for every traveler since is located only a few steps away from the cathedral and Main Square, also close from the colonial “barrios” or neighborhoods of the center area. It is also strategically located for the business travelers; it is only a few blocks away from the business and commercial district, Paseo de Montejo. You will be able to find a wide variety of restaurants, bars, churches, parks, souvenir and boutique stores and more. Stay in the Gran Real Yucatan to make your stay a unique experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Splitty, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Real Yucatan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Real Yucatan Hotel Merida
Gran Real Yucatan Merida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing