We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upstairs, Downstairs staff not at par with Grande Dame”
Review of Gran Real Yucatan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gran Real Yucatan
Ranked #56 of 105 Hotels in Merida
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The Gran Real in Merida is carved out of one of those mansions that flourished in Merida at the end of the 19th and beginning of the 20th centuries. The lobby, around a courtyard is absolutely gorgeous, fit with fluffy sofas and chairs that make staying away from the brutal summer sun a joy. Rooms, bathrooms and breakfasts deserve the highest rating. Not so the staff. They were mostly helpful and amicable, but they were not well-trained or managed for such a hotel. Cleaning of the rooms was delayed sometimes until past 6 p.m. at night, which made getting back to your room a problem. They would then hurry and not finish the job properly. At the bar by the pool, which served great margaritas and mojitos, we asked a busboy to bring us a chair and argued with me as to why he couldn't. With a little touch from a manager, this hotel could rate as Top of the Line.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank siliobarber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (286)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 286 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed 5 nights at the Gran Real. I thought the hotel was very nice. The beds were comfortable, the air conditioning was cold and the rooms were clean. The breakfast buffet was very good, there are eggs, french toast, danishes and the wonderful fresh fruit and yogurt. The service was typical for Mexico. I really liked the bar and pool area. We spent quite a few nights just chatting over drinks after dinner. We did eat dinner at the restaurant a couple of times, the food was ok. There are so many other great places to eat within walking distance.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank southfloridagirl2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The Gran Real Yucatan is a pleasant looking Hacienda style hotel about a five-ten minute walk to the main square. The service is slow, even at reception, and they are not particularly welcoming, I had to collect my TV remote (did not work so I never watched it) and air conditioning remote at check in to stop people stealing them I was told, and there was a sign in the bathroom also warning the guest about taking any fixtures or fittings which I found a bit aggressive. The room I had was large but when I checked in the bed was not made up because the poor chambermaids had run out of bedding and had to wait for more from the laundry. When it arrived my room was sorted in five minutes. I got free wifi, there was a safe, the air conditioning was good but my curtain was poorly hung so light came into the room most of the night. Since I was staying one night I did not do anything about it. This hotel does have a nice pool in a central courtyard, it is not big but a nice place for a dip and seemed to be quiet for my entire stay. Breakfast is served in the central courtyard and is buffet style, but the food was average and the choice limited. The Gran Real Yucatan is in a good location and is comfortable but is let down by its atmosphere.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TokyoJimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The colonnaded foyer is lovely - and, erm, that's it really. Staff are pleasant. But the rooms are nothing special, bathrooms (as other users remarked) are not attractive. In temperatures of 40 degrees centigrade, we discovered to our horror that the aircon would only go as low as 28 degrees offering no respite from the heat. Food was almost edible - you'd have to be starving. The swimming pool just didn't look clean - and I'm not fussy. Would stay elsewhere on a return visit.

Room Tip: See if the aircon works in ANY of the rooms - you will need it. Merida gets very hot and there is n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We spent one night here during a tour of the Yucatan. The lobby area is lovely with comfy sofas and lovely planting. I have to say we didn't find the reception staff could understand English, but our daughter speaks Spanish so this wasn't a problem for us. The room was lovely, the breakfast fine, although not a buffet as the hotel was very quiet. Sadly, we didn't discover the pool until late evening, but it looked very enticing.

The hotel was situated a short walk from the main square and a short walk from good restaurants
I wish we had stayed here another night rather than moving on to the next hotel..

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
granreal y, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Real Yucatan, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Thank you so much for stay with us.
We hope your travel experience here in Yucatán was beautifull.
We invited to you, come back in 1 of November, and enjoy with us the Hanal Pixaan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

The Gran Real is located a few blocks from the Cathedral and main attractions of historico centro Merida. Walking in, the lobby area is very impressive with bright lights and classic furniture with a mix of modern. Check in was easy, the staff are very accommodating and can understand English well. The room was a double with two beds, dresser, desk, and full bath...a great bathtub, something you don't find usually at this price range in Mexico. The rooms are clean with free wifi that works pretty well, TV, though you only get English movies on occasion, toiletries are provided and the towels are like bath sheets..very nice touch.

There is a restaurant and bar area, though we did not have breakfast included in our rate, so did not eat there as there are a lot of places within walking distance. There is elevator access to the upper floors, and a beautiful big pool outside. The rooms face into the courtyard pool area, most with small balconies and sliding doors for fresh air. It is very quiet for the most part, though the ceilings and walls have no insulation from noise, so you can hear when a chair is pulled out or a soft muttering every now and then. Its to be expected in an older hotel in Centro. There are in room safes for valuables, though I never felt unsafe or uncomfortable at all here.

Its a beautiful hotel with many modern amenities and the price was quite reasonable for what you get.

Room Tip: we were in 201 and it was right off the elevator on a corner, it was convenient and fairly quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GUNN704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I was a bit worried about staying here having read the previous reviews but I was very impressed and would definitely stay again. Our room was quite large with a little balcony overlooking the pool. Airconditioning worked well and even had a sleep mode for quiet operation during the night. We ate at the outside restaurant and even though the service was slow the staff kept us informated. Lovely breakfast the following morning. The only negative was a lack of coffee making facilites in the room, but this was easily rectifed by visiting the bar which had lovely views over the pool or the stylish inner courtyard which also hosts the restaurant tables.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah_and_Stuart77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.3 mi away
Piedra de Agua Hotel Boutique
0.5 mi away
La Mision de Fray Diego
La Mision de Fray Diego
#22 of 105 in Merida
306 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel del Peregrino
Hotel del Peregrino
#13 of 105 in Merida
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Gran Hotel de Merida
Gran Hotel de Merida
#30 of 105 in Merida
273 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa del Balam
Hotel Casa del Balam
#15 of 105 in Merida
544 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Continental
Hotel Casa Continental
#52 of 105 in Merida
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Real Yucatan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Real Yucatan

Address: Calle 56 No 474, Merida 97000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 105 Hotels in Merida
Price Range: £31 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gran Real Yucatan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gran Real Yucatan is a five star hotel located in a former 19th century French style mansion, in the historic center of Merida, Yucatan. It offers two Master Suites, two Junior Suites, 18 Delux Plus bedrooms and 52 Delux bedrooms. The wide facilities and personalized service provide with comfort and luxury for a better experience. The hotel’s restaurant, “El Emperador”, offers a great variety of local and international dishes and the bar, “Los Vitrales”, next to the swimming pool, has a wide selection of cocktails and wines. All rooms are equipped with air conditioning, safe box, LCD flat screen tv with remote control, telephone in the room and bathroom, WIFI, fully equipped bathroom including amenities and bathtub. All rooms have balconies with views to the pool or garden. The hotel’s location makes it a perfect choice for every traveler since is located only a few steps away from the cathedral and Main Square, also close from the colonial “barrios” or neighborhoods of the center area. It is also strategically located for the business travelers; it is only a few blocks away from the business and commercial district, Paseo de Montejo. You will be able to find a wide variety of restaurants, bars, churches, parks, souvenir and boutique stores and more. Stay in the Gran Real Yucatan to make your stay a unique experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Gran Real Yucatan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Real Yucatan Hotel Merida
Gran Real Yucatan Merida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing