We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa de las Columnas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Casa de las Columnas
Ranked #53 of 83 Merida B&B and Inns
New Zealand
Level Contributor
93 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Gorgeous hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2010

When we first arrived at this hotel I was amazed at how gorgeous it is! So intricately done, quite spectacular. The man at reception was very welcoming and helpful and answered lots of questions for us. Our room was comfortable, the only thing mising was a mini fridge. It is a fair hike into Centro (especially in the heat) but Collectivos run past the front door all the time and cost next to nothing, or you can flag down a metered taxi. Having said that, it's partly due to the fact that it's not in the middle of town that it's so tranquil and peaceful, and that's a welcome thing.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank veedub72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    28
    9
    5
    8
See reviews for
25
27
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
denver colorado
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2010

The hotel was very nice, clean and comfortable. Really enjoyed our stay here and would definately stay again or recommend it to others.

Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank max-albert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Encino, CA
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2010

Thankfully I did my research to stay in Merida especially in Casa de Las Columnas! About a 15-20 minutes walk from central lies a places that exhibits tranquility, simplicity, beauty, culture, family, and authenticity! I traveled with my dad and stayed here for 4 days/3 nights. This small establishment is family-run, and we instantly bonded with the owners. Everyone was very kind and hospitable which made it feel like home. The hotel is built and decorated with antique pieces literally from floor to ceiling. I couldn't get enough of it! The walk from the hotel to central benefited us since it gave us the opportunity to see the character of this historic town on foot. There is also a grocery store called AKI just around he corner where we had bought our snacks, fruit, and water. It's a town that feels like we've always lived there. Next time I'm in Merida, I would definitely stay there again! If you want to experience culture right up front, well my friend, this place is it!

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderer319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle, wa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2010

After driving all day from Tulum, our B&B was a welcome site! It is about 8-10 blocks outside of the city center, but it worked out perfect. They have off street parking for your car at night, and street parking in front during the day. The courtyard is absolutely charming, the rooms large and nicely decorated. The staff is very friendly - the language barrier was a bit of the challenge with some of the staff but we all managed quite well. There is a supermarket a short walk across the street in case you need anything. We ended up parking the car and hailing a cab - they come by every few minutes - to get into town (about 30 pesos - $3 each way). Easy decision to let the locals do the driving as Merida can be super busy. Since the B&B is located on the outskirts of town, it was easy to get on the main roads to see the flamingos, which are about 2.5 hours away. Free internet was available as well. Would definately return!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank issylhSeattle_Wa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
97 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2010

Incredibly beautiful and sympathetically renovated colonial house with attentive and helpful staff. It was a delight to wake every morning and open the door of my bedroom, beautifully furnished with elegant antiques, and step out into the columned courtyard with the pool, waterfall and palm trees.

The owners of the hotel (Jose and Nidia) treat every guest like a member of the family, with a wide smile and offers of lifts to various places, advice on where to get the best meals, what events are on and where in the town, help with booking flights, trips, anything you need. NOTHING is too much trouble and you really feel welcome. In fact, I extended my stay by another week, I liked it so much!

Drinks and snacks of various kinds can be purchased for a small fee all day long, and the continental breakfast actually consists of Mexican pan dulce (sweet breads), mixed fresh fruit salad, freshly squeezed orange juice and coffee, and is served on the beautiful covered patio, overlooking the pool.

Quite centrally located, it is only four blocks from Plaza Santiago, two from the zoo (worth seeing!), and nine from the very centre of town: so easy walking distance to most places you will want to see.

All in all, I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to wake up in the morning and KNOW they are in colonial Merida!!!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Motovun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
182 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2009

A beautifully decorated, comfortable, family-run hotel outside the main tourist district – about 20 minutes walk into the main plaza. Each of the large double rooms is furnished according to a theme and is an absolute visual delight. However, the same things that make it so visually attractive also contribute to its drawbacks. The lovely ceramic tiling and layout around a central courtyard mean that all conversation in the courtyard area is audible from every room, and the management is not fussy about asking the guests for a bit of consideration for other guests after a certain hour. Breakfast is adequate, and the fruit and juice are fresh and very yummy. Our laundry was not returned when promised, but the management sent it on to us the following day at their expense. The family members really do go out of their way to make one welcome and to ensure a pleasant stay. Highly recommended, if you don’t mind the walk into the centre.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank In60s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarzana
Level Contributor
83 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2009

The Casa is a gem of a B&B in the midst of Merida, an easy walk to historic sites, cafes, churches, museums and shops. The sidewalks near the hotel are being repaired -which makes for quite a mess- but still it is easy to walk around (just pay attention). The hotel's staff were super-friendly and helpful, the room comfortable, clean and outfitted with great air conditioning and ceiling fan, pretty furniture and a fully tiled shower with perfect pressure. The price is right, too, and includes all taxes and a continental breakfast of cereal, sweet bakery bread, fresh fruit, coffee and fresh oj. The gardens, courtyards and patios are lovely and colorful and peaceful. A true bargain in the city that I do recommend.

Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravelTarzana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Zamna
Hotel Zamna
#40 of 103 in Merida
5.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Mision de Fray Diego
La Mision de Fray Diego
#20 of 103 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Merida
Hotel Hacienda Merida
#6 of 103 in Merida
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Koox Art 57 Boutique Hotel
1.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Palomino
Hotel Casa Palomino
#21 of 83 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel Meson de la Luna
Hotel Meson de la Luna
#20 of 83 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de las Columnas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de las Columnas

Property: Casa de las Columnas
Address: Calle 80 Y 82, Merida 97000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa de las Columnas 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Casa de las Columnas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing