We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleasant B&B, near the center of town” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Jardin Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Jardin Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #25 of 83 Merida B&B and Inns
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Very pleasant B&B, near the center of town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

Positive: very nice owners, free parking, delicious breakfast, information on the area, a 5-minute walk to Merida's historic district, and relatively quick access to the highway.

Negatives: there was a lounge right outside our room, which we thought would be great until the guests from a neighbouring room used it at 5am, shining a light directly into our room.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Quebermuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    13
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
27
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winterthur, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2011

"EL JARDIN" is a small bed and breakfest just a few blocks away from the main center.
The owner is very friendly and gives you a lot of information about the town and the region. We really enjoyed the two days we stayed there!

The Hostel itself has large rooms with comfortable beds, bathroom and tv. (if you need)
The rooms are very clean. (including new towels everyday)
There is also a kitchen you can use and a small "jardin" to hang out.
We also could leave our backpack for free the hole day after checking out and could come back to take a shower at night.

We liked it very much and can recomend it for longer stays or just to relax.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebi_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2011

This place is a very nice B&B, with nice rooms with tv & bathroom.
Elsy, the owner, she is always attentive of the guests needs, and she also takes her time to recommend a lot of places to go and things to do. Every morning your continental breakfast is waiting for you.
El jardin is located in the middle of the bus central CAME and merida down town, so you can move everywere so easy.
I lfell in love with Mérida, el jardin and Elsy service.
Totally recomended!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IxGonzalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yoho National Park, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2011

Elsy made us feel at home in El Jardin. It was always so peaceful to enter through the door.
We stayed 10 days.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1366hudson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulum
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2010

I've been here in El Jardin for 3 weeks and i've felt like home. The experience was so great that the hostel is right now my "hub" in Merida. If you study or travel in Yucatan this is a very good start point to visit places all around Merida. Of course you have the use of kitchen, fridge, microwave, tools etc. Rooms are cleaned every day, you have sheets and towels, hot water and in the morning breakfast included. The night you can sleep very well, it's really silent and beds are comfortable. You can choose a room with air conditioning or fan. All the rooms are with private bathroom and TV. Everything is around a cozy, relaxing garden.


The hostel is located in a safe street just few blocks (5 minutes walking) from the central square and really close to the ADO bus station as well.

The owner, Elsy, is really kind and she's helpful in lots of different manner, from tips on what you can see, to what bus to take or which restaurant to choose. She has even helped me to learn spanish and Yucatan cooking!!!

Perfect place for both long and short stays, and very cheap!!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ansivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2010

The owner, Elsy, is on the premises every morning to serve a breakfast of coffee, bread, a piece of fruit and sometimes yogurt. She is a sweetheart and speaks English very well. The hostel is in a great location, just blocks from the grand plaza. The rooms are very basic - just a bed, ceiling light, fan and AC and vary in size. You get thin towels and sheets, a small bar of soap, and hot water. You must buy your own drinking water. You can share a refrigerator and microwave and prepare some meals.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RandKLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2010

We have found the place while we were looking for accommodation in Merida, just doing a google search. We just dropped in, without reservation. Finally we have spent two weeks here last Christmas. It's not the cheapest but if you are looking for a place with private bathroom and hot water, wifi in the room, breakfast included, it is a good choice. Rooms at the street side are noisy, try to get one in the back. The owner is a very nice lady, good to deal with. She answers all your questions and also gives good advice on what to visit, where to eat and so on.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank silviamarek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel San Jose, Merida, Mexico
0.1 mi away
Hostal Casa Nico
Hostal Casa Nico
#41 of 83 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostal Zocalo
Hostal Zocalo
#1 of 68 in Merida
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Casa de dos Tortugas Bed and Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Las Escaleras Guest House
0.7 mi away
Casa Del Maya
Casa Del Maya
#1 of 83 in Merida
5.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Jardin Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Jardin Bed and Breakfast

Property: El Jardin Bed and Breakfast
Address: Calle 70 N. 509, Merida 97000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of Merida´s historical center, El Jardin is located just 3 short blocks from the main Zocalo. The ambiance of El Jardin, as described by our many repeat guests, is like an oasis, a peaceful refuge where one feels far from the excitement and activity of the city center although conveniently that´s exactly where we are! "Behind the walls", you can refresh and rejuvenate while passing time relaxing and enjoying. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your El Jardin Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing