We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place!”
Review of La Casa Lorenzo

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Merida
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Casa Lorenzo
Ranked #17 of 86 Merida B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We stayed with Larry at La Casa Lorenzo for 5 days in July. The experience was fantastic. Larry is a pleasure to stay with and was accommodating and a joy to be around. His suggestions for places to visit and things to do were "spot-on". We already had other arrangements, or we would have loved to stay for the entire two-week vacation that we had planned. The location of La Casa Lorenzo is fantastic, close to everything. The rooms (the whole property) were tastefully decorated and super comfortable. It felt like we were home! We rented 3 of the 5 rooms and every one was great.

The breakfast was always creative and delicious, with an authentic flair. Larry and Yuri obviously love what they do and it shows.

We are already planning our next trip, and we won't consider staying anywhere else!

If you are going on vacation or traveling for business anywhere near Merida, STAY HERE - you will be glad you made the choice.

Darrinn & Kimberly

Room Tip: Every room in the place was great. The room nearest the bar/pool has the best WIFI coverage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Darrinn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry N, Owner at La Casa Lorenzo, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Darrin, Kimberly, and the rest of the big family were fun to have visit. I look forward to their next trip to Mérida.

Note that the wi-fi is now much better. The thick colonial stone walls suck up the signal so additional WAPS (wireless access points) have been installed. High speed internet 100% throughout the property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2013

I stayed there with my partner in 2012, unfortunately we could stay there only 1 night as I had some previous arrangements, but we did enjoy since the first day, Larry prepared for us some delicious margaritas and we enjoyed his hospitality.

next day we had our breakfast, we could stay longer but probably next day we will do it.

the pool smal, cozy, nice , i can say that the casitas( rooms) are very nice , comfy, and in veru good conditions.

Thank you Larry6 for evrything

Michael and Jesse
Denmark

Room Tip: try it, hospitality is nice !
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank onn_toi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

A little over two years ago three of us stayed at La Casa Lorenzo for a weekend and had a very positive experience. This time I was alone for two days and had a similar one.

Larry is a great host who serves delicious and fulfilling breakfasts (one day it was cochinita pibil, a Yucatan slow roasted pork specialty, and the other day it was eggs rancheros - both dishes ok'd by guests in advance) and offers comfortable rooms with large private bathrooms and plenty of hot water for showers. There is also plenty of safe drinking water.

With no more than 10 guests at a time it is easy to meet travelers from all over the world and share experiences and recommendations for shopping, tours and miscellaneous adventures in Merida and the Yucatan. The courtyard has a pool and a covered bar which is the gathering place for guests and an occasional visitor from the neighborhood.

It is a short walk from Larry's B & B to the central square - a walk which offers shops, restaurants, churches and other unique sites only found in a old colonial city.

I highly recommend La Casa Lorenzo and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: If you enjoy drinks in the afternoon and evening, be sure to supply your alcohol and mix. Alcohol is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edward S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

We stayed at La Casa Lorenzo for 8 nights and used it as our base to explore Merida and the Yucatan. The whole experience was welcoming and wonderful beginning with our point of initial contact. Larry provides a very comfortable environment, good food, nice rooms, and helpful tips for places to see and things to do. We were able to combine relaxation and exploration perfectly to make this one of our best trips. We found great restaurants in the neighborhood, good shopping, interesting museums and sites, and always felt safe and welcomed. Having a home-base like this, that truly feels like home (complete with friendly neighbors) is an excellent way to see the Yucatan. We are already contemplating a return trip!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djbpdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We stayed at the bed and breakfast for 5 nights at the end of our 5 week travels in the Yucatan. It was an amazing place to relax and travel to the ruins and cenotes. Larry the owner is a wonderful host and cook. He made you feel right at home and was ready with information about places to go and eat in the exciting city of Merida. The courtyard, bar area, pool and common living room is a perfect place to relax after a busy day of site seeing or walking around the city. There are many restaurants and places to hear music within walking distance. The neighbourhood is safe and quiet. The rooms and bathroom are beautifully decorated and spotless. if only need to ask if you need something! Once you enter the beautiful wood doors you walk into a peaceful paradise. I would not hesitate to stay their again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are a little different. It all depends on your bed needs. I would not hesitate to rese...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Syracusehope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

La Casa Lorenzo is clean, comfortable, with well-appointed rooms and a beautiful outdoor cantina. Larry, the owner was very kind and helpful to my daughter and me. We thoroughly enjoyed meeting Larry's other guests; he seems to attract well traveled, well educated guests who are a pleasure to know.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

my wife and I were looking for a place to stay near our house which is being remodeled. We decided to try La Casa Lorenzo because it is only two blocks from the house. We have walked by this little B&B many times. It is identified by two flags and a blue awning out front. There are only five rooms making it a very cozy place to stay.

Breakfast, prepared dail by Larry was very good. The breakfast was different each day during our stay. The owner, Larry, believes in hands on management. He is reasonable and very helpful.

The rooms are spacious and well appointed. Beds were very comfortable. The wifi also worked well. There is a small pool in the beautiful garden.

Given the wonderful owner, location within walking distance of Santa Ana Park and the Centro as well as many cafes, art galleries and restaurants, this is a very desirable place to stay. Another plus is that it is very gay friendly.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, quiet and with ac.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morrislegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.6 mi away
Luz En Yucatan
Luz En Yucatan
#3 of 106 in Merida
1,006 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Merida Santiago
Hotel Merida Santiago
#2 of 106 in Merida
441 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Del Maya
Casa Del Maya
#1 of 86 in Merida
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Verde Merida
0.8 mi away
Ochenta Y Dos [an urban bed & breakfast]
0.5 mi away
Hotel Medio Mundo
Hotel Medio Mundo
#4 of 86 in Merida
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa Lorenzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa Lorenzo

Address: Calle 41 # 516A | Between 62 and 64, Merida 97000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Merida
Price Range: £52 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the newest B&B's in the colonial city of Mérida, Yucatan, Mexico. All rooms newly done with fan, A/C, tiled bathrooms with large showers, hihg quality mattresses and linens. Located on a very quiet street in St. Ana neighborhood. Close to Paseo de Montejo, galleries, museums, restaurants, etc. Pool with bar/entertainment area for guest use. Breakfasts vary and include local cultural treats. Telephones in rooms with voice mail and USA lines. And...you put the toilet paper in the toilet! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing