We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently good”
Review of La Casa Lorenzo

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Merida
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Casa Lorenzo
Ranked #16 of 80 Merida B&B and Inns
Chicxulub, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

I have stayed at La Casa Lorenzo on several occasions, and I have always found it clean and comfortable. And just as importantly, Larry, the owner/host, is a wealth of information about places to go, special events, things to see, and how to get there. I live on the coast, but when it's convenient to be in Mérida for a few days, I can't imagine a better place to stay. The pool-side bar (bring your own booze) is a great place to gather, or you can sit in peace and quiet in the colonial living room (sala) where there are books to choose from and a computer for guest's use. A great place.

Room Tip: Choose between 1 queen or 2 doubles. My personal favorite is #3 (queen).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LynndChicxulub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry N, Owner at La Casa Lorenzo, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
And here at La Casa Lorenzo we will strive to be keep on being "Consistently Good".

Drinks and conversation at the pool bar are always fun.

And thanks for mentioning the choice of rooms. La Casa Lorenzo has rooms with one queen size be and also rooms with two double beds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    12
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
45
18
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

I was so happy that my husband chose this place as a starting point for our Yucatan travels. We were celebrating our 20th anniversary, so it was important to get it right. La Casa Lorenzo is a sweet, lovely place and Larry was a wonderful host. We got a separate room for my 14 year old son, which we all enjoyed. We stayed at Casa Lorenzo for five days as we explored Merida. The rooms were beautifully decorated, comfortable and spotless. Larry made wonderful, hearty breakfasts, and proudly introduced us to local specialties. Larry gave us tips on getting around and helped us arrange a good, inexpensive car rental, so we were able to take side trips to Progresso beach and the pyramids on our own. I would second everything positive that has been said in the other reviews here. You get a big bang for your buck at La Casa Lorenzo, personal service beyond anything you would expect. Larry will make you into a fan.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are good, some are different sizes and configurations. It may be true that the wi-f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmmgood2U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry N, Owner at La Casa Lorenzo, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
It was nice to have your family visit.

Yes, I try to make sure the breakfast gives you the energy to enjoy our great city.

As for the wi-fi, it was improved since your visit. The thick stone walls typical of the colonial construction tend to soak up the wireless signal but additional "access points" have been installed and high speed coverage is available in all rooms and spaces on the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boring, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We stayed with Larry at La Casa Lorenzo for 5 days in July. The experience was fantastic. Larry is a pleasure to stay with and was accommodating and a joy to be around. His suggestions for places to visit and things to do were "spot-on". We already had other arrangements, or we would have loved to stay for the entire two-week vacation that we had planned. The location of La Casa Lorenzo is fantastic, close to everything. The rooms (the whole property) were tastefully decorated and super comfortable. It felt like we were home! We rented 3 of the 5 rooms and every one was great.

The breakfast was always creative and delicious, with an authentic flair. Larry and Yuri obviously love what they do and it shows.

We are already planning our next trip, and we won't consider staying anywhere else!

If you are going on vacation or traveling for business anywhere near Merida, STAY HERE - you will be glad you made the choice.

Darrinn & Kimberly

Room Tip: Every room in the place was great. The room nearest the bar/pool has the best WIFI coverage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darrinn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry N, Owner at La Casa Lorenzo, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Darrin, Kimberly, and the rest of the big family were fun to have visit. I look forward to their next trip to Mérida.

Note that the wi-fi is now much better. The thick colonial stone walls suck up the signal so additional WAPS (wireless access points) have been installed. High speed internet 100% throughout the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mérida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

I stayed there with my partner in 2012, unfortunately we could stay there only 1 night as I had some previous arrangements, but we did enjoy since the first day, Larry prepared for us some delicious margaritas and we enjoyed his hospitality.

next day we had our breakfast, we could stay longer but probably next day we will do it.

the pool smal, cozy, nice , i can say that the casitas( rooms) are very nice , comfy, and in veru good conditions.

Thank you Larry6 for evrything

Michael and Jesse
Denmark

Room Tip: try it, hospitality is nice !
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank onn_toi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

A little over two years ago three of us stayed at La Casa Lorenzo for a weekend and had a very positive experience. This time I was alone for two days and had a similar one.

Larry is a great host who serves delicious and fulfilling breakfasts (one day it was cochinita pibil, a Yucatan slow roasted pork specialty, and the other day it was eggs rancheros - both dishes ok'd by guests in advance) and offers comfortable rooms with large private bathrooms and plenty of hot water for showers. There is also plenty of safe drinking water.

With no more than 10 guests at a time it is easy to meet travelers from all over the world and share experiences and recommendations for shopping, tours and miscellaneous adventures in Merida and the Yucatan. The courtyard has a pool and a covered bar which is the gathering place for guests and an occasional visitor from the neighborhood.

It is a short walk from Larry's B & B to the central square - a walk which offers shops, restaurants, churches and other unique sites only found in a old colonial city.

I highly recommend La Casa Lorenzo and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: If you enjoy drinks in the afternoon and evening, be sure to supply your alcohol and mix. Alcohol is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

We stayed at La Casa Lorenzo for 8 nights and used it as our base to explore Merida and the Yucatan. The whole experience was welcoming and wonderful beginning with our point of initial contact. Larry provides a very comfortable environment, good food, nice rooms, and helpful tips for places to see and things to do. We were able to combine relaxation and exploration perfectly to make this one of our best trips. We found great restaurants in the neighborhood, good shopping, interesting museums and sites, and always felt safe and welcomed. Having a home-base like this, that truly feels like home (complete with friendly neighbors) is an excellent way to see the Yucatan. We are already contemplating a return trip!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djbpdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We stayed at the bed and breakfast for 5 nights at the end of our 5 week travels in the Yucatan. It was an amazing place to relax and travel to the ruins and cenotes. Larry the owner is a wonderful host and cook. He made you feel right at home and was ready with information about places to go and eat in the exciting city of Merida. The courtyard, bar area, pool and common living room is a perfect place to relax after a busy day of site seeing or walking around the city. There are many restaurants and places to hear music within walking distance. The neighbourhood is safe and quiet. The rooms and bathroom are beautifully decorated and spotless. if only need to ask if you need something! Once you enter the beautiful wood doors you walk into a peaceful paradise. I would not hesitate to stay their again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are a little different. It all depends on your bed needs. I would not hesitate to rese...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Syracusehope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.6 mi away
Luz En Yucatan
Luz En Yucatan
#3 of 103 in Merida
997 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Casa del Balam
Hotel Casa del Balam
#13 of 103 in Merida
507 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Continental
Hotel Casa Continental
#49 of 103 in Merida
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Fiesta Americana Merida
0.4 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Merida
Hotel Hacienda Merida
#7 of 103 in Merida
449 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Del Maya
Casa Del Maya
#1 of 80 in Merida
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa Lorenzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa Lorenzo

Property: La Casa Lorenzo
Address: Calle 41 # 516A | Between 62 and 64, Merida 97000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the newest B&B's in the colonial city of Mérida, Yucatan, Mexico. All rooms newly done with fan, A/C, tiled bathrooms with large showers, hihg quality mattresses and linens. Located on a very quiet street in St. Ana neighborhood. Close to Paseo de Montejo, galleries, museums, restaurants, etc. Pool with bar/entertainment area for guest use. Breakfasts vary and include local cultural treats. Telephones in rooms with voice mail and USA lines. And...you put the toilet paper in the toilet! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing