We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hosts” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Merida Santiago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Merida Santiago
Ranked #2 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Esher, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

Rita and Jan have created a lovely, small hotel and are wonderful hosts. We stayed here for five nights and they were always happy to advise on the itinerary for the next day. The room was very clean and had all the amenities you could wish for. The swimming pool was very clean and nice for dip at the end of the day. The breakfasts were different each day which was a nice touch.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DinoC61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    409
    13
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
54
276
18
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

I stayed here twice on a recent visit to Mérida. It is an extremely pleasant oasis in the city. The courtyard is lovely and built around a small swimming pool. The whole place is impeccably clean and isolated from street noise. The rooms are very spacious, clean, and nicely appointed. Good beds and nice bedding. Bathrooms are very large with big showers.
Breakfasts are offered as an addition and are beautifully served in the courtyard.
The best part of all is the the hosts, Rita and Jan, are very welcoming, friendly, and helpful with any travellers' needs. They are full of good suggestions about where to eat, from whom to rent a car, and tours offered.
I highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: I stayed in the two upper rooms at the west and these were both very good -but I don't think the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicentine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacifica, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

The two of us stayed in Suite 1 and it was a very nice experience. Beautiful, small property with a nice courtyard and "hacienda" pool. Plenty of space for lounging and chatting with the other guests. Breakfast, though not included, gave the day a good start. Location was perfect for us, as we like to be near, but not in the center of towns we visit. Best part were the innkeepers, Rita and Jan, who seemed sincere about helping their guests, and providing useful information. Overall a pleasant stay in Merida.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janherwitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anywhere
Level Contributor
330 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

Always good to be back here. A really home away from home feeling. Location is great, centric but in a quiet street in Santiago. Due to the fact that the have just 6 rooms, it will never get crowded or noisy in the hotel and patio. Rooms are spacious and tasteful decorated and have all you need: flatscreen, wifi, airco etc. The owners are more than happy to provide you with any kind of information for your visits in the city or trips outside of the city.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PELOWELOMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

You may look high and low but you won't find better. Everything was just as described in the web sight. Very close to Centro Merida. Easy walk to main square. Breakfast was very good and lots of it. Very Mexican Style We have been to Merida a couple of times and will be back next year

Room Tip: All the rooms are the best I have encountered in Merida.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theborg35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
141 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

We decided to visit Merida for Thanksgiving weekend. Fortunately, we were able to snatch their last room via Booking.com.
We have to say that we were extremely happy with our choice.

What we loved about Hotel Merida Santiago was the wonderful hospitality shown by Jan and Rita. We prefer to stay in smaller boutique hotels rather than large cooperate establishments when traveling. We've met a handful of excellent hosts throughout our travels, but Jan and Rita were by far the most helpful and sincerest people ever. They always took time to answer our questions and gave us honest suggestions. They are also very good listeners. (Sorry, we talked too much!)

Breakfast isn't included in the rate, but, at only $8 per person, it is definitely worth trying. They serve different foods every morning and they are fresh and delicious.

The neighborhood was completely safe to walk around. Many interesting restaurants are located only 6 blocks away on Calle 62.

We sincerely thank Jan and Rita for making our trip to Merida super easy and enjoyable.
We feel like that we found new lifetime friends!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PTRABBIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgique
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights at the merida santiago and we absolutely loved it! Rooms are spacious and nicely decorated, everything is sparking clean: room, bathroom, hotel... The small terrace/balcony was an appreciated private space outside.Breakfast is a 3-course meal with lovely and tasty dishes.
On top of this, owners Rita and Jan are really taking care of the guests, spending time explaining all the sights and attractions in Merida and around,finding solutions for all your needs, from restaurant to rent-a-car.
The two ladies working with them and cooking breakfast are absolutely lovely!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marie-Michael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.2 mi away
The Diplomat Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Merida
Hotel Hacienda Merida
#7 of 103 in Merida
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fiesta Americana Merida
Fiesta Americana Merida
#20 of 103 in Merida
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Casa del Balam
Hotel Casa del Balam
#14 of 103 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
0.6 mi away
Koox Casa de las Palomas Boutique Hotel
1.0 mi away
Mision Merida Panamericana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Merida Santiago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Merida Santiago

Property: Hotel Merida Santiago
Address: Calle 74-a barrio Santiago - Centro 499 | x 57 y 59-A, Merida 97000, Mexico (Formerly B&B Merida Santiago)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Merida Santiago 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Merida Santiago is a relaxed Yucateca colonial style hotel located in the historic center of Merida. It's walking distance from Merida's main attractions: the central market square (990 m), the zoo (800 m), Palacio del Gobierno (990 m), the old market Lucas Galvez, Paseo de Montejo and much more. Hotel Merida Santiago has six luxurious and spacious suites, each with its own character. Five suites offer comfortable king sized beds and the sixth suite has two queen size beds. All come with refrigerators and valuables safe. Large en suite bathrooms feature double sinks and walk-in rain showers. Two suites have Jacuzzi tubs with hydro jet massage. Massage is available on request. The central courtyard offers guests a place to relax, eat, drink and swim. It's an excellent place to escape Merida's tropical heat. The bar is fully stocked and the pool is open 24 hours a day. We serve a full Yucatecan style breakfast and a vegetarian version is available as well. At night there is a social time in which guests are encouraged to try free local drinks and botanas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Merida Santiago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing