We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A boutique hotel near the centre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Merida Santiago
Ranked #2 of 104 Hotels in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A boutique hotel near the centre”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We stayed five nights at the Hotel Merida Santiago, our first visit to the Yucatan and Merida. Rita and Jan are great hosts, and went the extra mile to accommodate last minute changes in our travel plans. Breakfasts were varied and delicious, in general the service was excellent. The hotel is in a converted house about fifteen minutes walk from the centre of town, but much closer to the square in the Santiago neighborhood where there are many restaurants, shops, dancing, etc. The construction is entirely modern, the rooms are very comfortable and quiet. We had a room with a jacuzzi part of the time. But perhaps the best part of our stay was meeting other guests, interesting and from different countries, with whom we shared travel experiences.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms are perhaps a little more quiet and provide a bit of a view beyond the walls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank peterbooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    413
    13
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
55
277
19
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

A small modern 6 room hotel in a very quiet street and set around a very pretty pool area, and a 10 minute walk to the Zocalo.
It is owned and run by a very friendly and helpful Dutch/Mexican couple who speak excellent English. A home cooked Mexican breakfast is available - always with extra helpings available!
Large modern bedrooms but could do with some storage space.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank footlooseski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Me and two girls arrived at Merida after a long road trip from Tulum and we were literally exhausted. Luckily, the hosts were extremely friendly and helpful. They even sat down with us and provided us with refreshments and thorough information about Merida in general. The hotel is located in the old town Merida and everything is within walking distance. The hotel has a very beautiful courtyard and swimming pool. The rooms were very clean and spacious. I would by all means recommend this hotel to anyone who is visiting Merida. Great choice!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yuhan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
227 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Jan and Rita are great hosts and have created a great little bolt hole in Merida which is calm, welcoming and extremely comfortable. We stayed for 3 nights and Jan has lots of suggestions on places to see and restaurants to go to. Jan also booked a trip for us to see the Flamingos in Celestine which we really loved. Apoala and La Tratto restaurants were particularly good and ideal as within walking distance.

The lovely bedroom and bathroom were really spacious, the double bath was great although the separate shower was not particularly powerful, often the case in the hotels we visited in Mexico.

Nice breakfast which changed each day, served outside by the pool was relaxing and well worth the additional cost.

The pool was great to relax by and read although not warm enough to brave a swim in January. I bet it is great for the bulk of the year.

We drove into the city and were glad of Jan's directions as the property is a bit difficult to find with the one way systems. Parking was no problem and we always felt safe in the City, whether walking or driving (which we did not do a lot of).

If I was ever in Merida again I would not hesitate to stay in this great B & B.

Room Tip: Loved our room upstairs with the double bath, worth paying the extra for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob+Diane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We just returned from 9 days in Mexico. The first 3 began with a drive from Cancun to Merida (avoid the toll highway ("quoda" -$24 usd) and take the highway "libre"). After flying all morning, renting a car, and driving 3 hours (with a lunch stop in Vallolodid), we pulled into Merida after dark and exhausted. We found the HMS on a quiet side street near the Centro of Merida. Its streetside facade gives little away about how warm, welcoming and comfortable it is once you cross the threshold. The owners Jon and Rita greeted us at the door and we entered a poolside dining courtyard that made you completely forget your were in the center of a city of 1 million. Jon offered me a cold cerveza and immediately gave us an orientation of the city, the do's and don'ts, the surrounding area, etc.

Our room was the large king room above the living quarters. It was perfect. I found the bed very comfortable (a bit on the harder side) and the wifi, etc. worked well. The parking is on the neighborhood street in front of the HMS and never an issue. THe breakfasts were local, home prepared with fresh ingredients, and the coffee was excellent. We did use the pool one hot afternoon after a long day of exploring Merida, and it was cool, clean and refreshing.

HMS is not a "Hacienda" or similar resort experience. But if you want a very affordable and lovely appointed hotel with charming hosts and staff, you will not go wrong here.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lzemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

although the term seems overused in the reviews i can't find a better term to describe it. Behind the modest blue wall a beautiful courtyard and stunning pool. we booked the suite on the front above the living quarters and it came with a private patio (no view but great for chilling out) that we really enjoyed. The breakfast is not to be missed and came with fresh fruit, fresh juices, eggs or other main dish, fresh french bread, delicious coffee and some form of amazing desert (yes desert for breakfast) all for $8. We loved the pool and the fact that there were only about 7 rooms so very few guests. Jan and Rita were very helpfull with local tips and trips to do. The only ugh was the spotty internet but i know Jan was working on correcting this.
We will be back here again.

Room Tip: book the room at the front with the patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Surferjoe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campeche, Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

What a lovely place this is. A ten minute walk from the city centre and once your pass the door, you'll experience an urban oasis with the warmth hospitality of Jan and Rita. We had a spacious room with a bubble bath and we felt like royals. Also the custom made mexican breakfast was muy excellente! Thumbs up for Jan and Rita!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.2 mi away
The Diplomat Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Merida
Hotel Hacienda Merida
#7 of 104 in Merida
4.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Casa del Balam
Hotel Casa del Balam
#14 of 104 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Fiesta Americana Merida
0.7 mi away
Luz En Yucatan
Luz En Yucatan
#3 of 104 in Merida
5.0 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mision Merida Panamericana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Merida Santiago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Merida Santiago

Property: Hotel Merida Santiago
Address: Calle 74-a barrio Santiago - Centro 499 | x 57 y 59-A, Merida 97000, Mexico (Formerly B&B Merida Santiago)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 104 Hotels in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Merida Santiago 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Merida Santiago is a relaxed Yucateca colonial style hotel located in the historic center of Merida. It's walking distance from Merida's main attractions: the central market square (990 m), the zoo (800 m), Palacio del Gobierno (990 m), the old market Lucas Galvez, Paseo de Montejo and much more. Hotel Merida Santiago has six luxurious and spacious suites, each with its own character. Five suites offer comfortable king sized beds and the sixth suite has two queen size beds. All come with refrigerators and valuables safe. Large en suite bathrooms feature double sinks and walk-in rain showers. Two suites have Jacuzzi tubs with hydro jet massage. Massage is available on request. The central courtyard offers guests a place to relax, eat, drink and swim. It's an excellent place to escape Merida's tropical heat. The bar is fully stocked and the pool is open 24 hours a day. We serve a full Yucatecan style breakfast and a vegetarian version is available as well. At night there is a social time in which guests are encouraged to try free local drinks and botanas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, getaroom.com, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Merida Santiago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing