We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little oasis”
Review of Rescoldos Mediterranean Bistro - CLOSED

Rescoldos Mediterranean Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$12
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A little oasis”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

A lovely courtyard restaurant within walking distance of the city center. A lovely couple from Canada who offer great service and exceptional pizza in a very calm outside courtyard.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank jamesv913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

310 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    63
    29
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Napa, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Yummy Greek food”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Rescoldos is an adorable spot that is owned by a husband and wife. The garden is beautiful and the staff welcoming. I had the falafels and pita bread. THe pita bread is made in the wood burning stove and falafels are home made. Everything about this place is charming and delicious.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hrocca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Yummy food.......delicious....my mouth is watering thinking about it”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

My husband and I went to Rescoldos after finding it by accident, and are we glad we did.
It was late, and we weren't that hungry but we sat in the beautiful night lit courtyard at the back and ordered a few tapas. We had the potato/feta cakes which were delicious and the falafel which were the best I've ever had. We had a few glasses of wine, and then some homemade ice cream which was scrumptious. The tapas were very filling and since we were eating lightly only, we kept it to that but drooled looking at the other foods going to other tables. We can't wait to go back and try some more dishes, and plan to bring our family when we all come back to Merida.
The owners are very friendly and told us about their story of coming to Merida and we found them very charming.
I'm a very fussy food person that doesn't eat meat, and avoids wheat, and sometimes in Merida that can be a challenge. Not at Rescoldos.....the food we had was perfect and right up my alley. A potato appetizer? And....falafel that weren't dry and were extremely tasty ? perfection in my books. This is my new favorite restaurant in Merida and we will come back for sure.
We loved that there were different choices than the usual.
The staff was attentive, and we loved that it was dark with night lights in the courtyard, and we had little lights to check out the menu. Nice atmosphere. Can't wait for more.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jandrews57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merida Mx
Level Contributor
81 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice environment, good food”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

For good fresh pasta and wood-oven baked pizza in Merida, don't miss Rescoldos; prices are very accessible, very good service. The cool evenings are perfect for the courtyard tables.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaleSolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
columbus,ohio
Level Contributor
71 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“An oasis ,a little hard to find”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Recommend it for an outdoor harden setting.wood fired pizza oven.good soup and salad also.
Close to Paseo del Montejo

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank tuzik2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rescoldos Mediterranean Bistro also viewed

 
Merida, Yucatan
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing