We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“value for your money”
Review of Hotel Ibis Merida

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ibis Merida
Ranked #19 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Cancun, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“value for your money”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

its not a 5 star but you definitely get what you paid for. plus its located right in the heart of the city near everything walking distance. doesnt have a pool or fitness center, but if you're in this town you're not there for the pool or to workout, get out and around to really get to know the town.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eduardo O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    224
    90
    22
    21
See reviews for
99
148
61
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 November 2013

My son and I spent a few days in Merida, Mexico in order to see the Mayan ruins at Chichen Itza and Uxmal. We stayed at the Ibis Merida.

- The rooms are functional but not luxurious. They are bigger than expected, and everything worked fine.

- The hotel is located 2-3 miles north of the city center. Taxi fare to the city is 40-60 pesos. The hotel will call a taxi when you need one.


- The restaurant at the hotel serves breakfast, dinner, and snacks. The breakfast buffet (95 pesos) is adequate with several local dishes each day. Dinner is OK when you do not feel like eating in the city center or in a restaurant near the hotel (only a few choices locally).

- The hotel can arrange tours to Chichen Itza and Uxmal. Tours include hotel pick-up and lunch.

- The hotel staff is friendly and helpful. Their English is good.

- Free wi-fi is available throughout the hotel.

- There is a Banamex bank branch nearby with an ATM.

If you are looking for an inexpensive place to stay while visiting the Mayan ruins, Ibis Merida is a good choice.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 November 2013

The stay at Ibis Merida has been very comfortable. We stayed here 3 nights and were a bit concerned about noises as other posts describe, but we didn't hear anything. It is located in a quite residential neighborhood and a couple of minutes walk to main streets. The staff is very friendly and the buffet breakfast was good. Its an economy hotel catering to business travelers with small rooms but the hotel was neat and clean and the staff ensured guests had a pleasant stay. They helped make phone calls to tour companies and other cities at no charge from the lobby. Wi-fi was working as well.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor perhaps to avoid any street level noises, if any. But the elevator could be sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RahulChe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merida, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

I've stayed in other Accor hotels all around Europe and this one was disappointing. Front desk was not helpful with a reservation problem and cancelled my original booking. When we returned to the hotel in a few hours with the required printings they gave us a two single bed room. Not a huge problem but still annoying. Room was clean, small and exactly as other Ibises. Actually the bathroom was bigger than the Europeans. The hotel was very noisy. I could hear everything of the rooms above and next to us. Breakfast buffet was cheap and varied.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GinaReyesG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenteG_13, Gerente at Hotel Ibis Merida, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay at the Ibis Merida. I would like to offer my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused in reference to your stay.

I am so sorry that your experience with the reservation did not fully meet your expectations. Please rest assured that matter is been investigated by myself and I can assure you that actions will be taken to prevent a similar occurrence.

About the noise, let me remember Ibis hotels have a service "contract 15 '" which is that we solve your problem in 15 minutes or else you will be our guest. The customer service is valid at any time of day or night, all year. We could have made a room move

I am very concerned that your impression of Ibis hotel has been marred by this experience and in particular the impression of Ibis Merida, as we are very proud of the customer care we give to our guests.

Once again, apologies for the inconvenience and We are hopeful that you will present us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Ibis for one month and were VERY happy with the hotel. Yes, it is economy and the rooms are no frills. But, you have what you need. Comfortable bed, TV, air conditioning that works. The staff was very, very responsive and treated us very well. I would highly recommend for long-term stays, business trips and those wanting to save money. Not a vacation spot, but centrally located, good wifi and a restaurant in the building are all very convenient. Free parking and again, the staff could not be nicer!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StealthTraveler5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Business traveler's hotel that has great value for tourists too. Checked in morning of and all employees were friendly. I recommend staying here if you are on a budget but want above a hostel. Free parking if you are driving and lots of air conditioning!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanJorgeson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Doralba Inn
Hotel Doralba Inn
#35 of 103 in Merida
686 reviews
1.4 mi away
Gamma de Fiesta Inn Merida El Castellano
3.6 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Inn
Hotel Hacienda Inn
#31 of 103 in Merida
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Gran Hotel de Merida
Gran Hotel de Merida
#30 of 103 in Merida
266 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel del Peregrino
Hotel del Peregrino
#18 of 103 in Merida
480 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fiesta Americana Merida
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ibis Merida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ibis Merida

Property: Hotel Ibis Merida
Address: Calle 58-a 495 | Col. Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ibis Merida 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Mérida Hotel is only 3.1 miles (5 km) from the city center and 6.2 miles (10 km) from the international airport and is ideally situated for exploring the "White City" and the tourist hot spots of Uxmal and Chichén-Itzá. Book one of our 120 comfortable and modern rooms for your business or leisure trip. We have a restaurant with a 24/7 snack service, a bar, car park and free wireless Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ibis Merida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing