We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“holy crap what a [--] hotel”
Review of Hotel Ibis Merida

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Ibis Merida
Ranked #18 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
1 review
“holy crap what a [--] hotel”
Reviewed 17 May 2010

Unfriendly staff, elevators that stop between floors,key cards that don't work over and over.(even after reprogramming) This hotel feels like a hospital complete with tired and grumpy staff. I would that recomend anyone in their right mind find just about any other hotel and save yourself the problems you will face at this joke of a hotel.I travel to merida 5 times/ year and have never been treated anywhere near as bad as I was treated at IBIS.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldinvester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accor_Mexico, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Merida, responded to this review, 9 August 2010
“I am very concerned about the bad image that has been able to collect from your stay with us. I remember Ibis hotels have a service "contract 15” which is that we solve your problem in 15 minutes or else you will be our guest. This customer service is valid at any time of day or night, all year. Really, I am also very concerned that your impression of Ibis hotels has been marred by this experience and in particular the impression of Ibis Merida, as we are very proud of the customer care we give to our guests. I hope that this experience will not deter you from using Ibis hotels in the future.”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    221
    90
    21
    20
See reviews for
98
145
60
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monterrey, Mexico
Level Contributor
45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2010

This hotel is very basic, but it works, the price is cheap, the best of it its the location, just one block away from Paseo Montejo which is great, it's clean and nice, the hotel staff is very friendly my compliments for them. But don't expect too much from it, its a nice hotel!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iram77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accor_Mexico, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Ibis Merida, responded to this review, 28 June 2010
We appreciated very much your comments, good services & location are what we constantly strive for.

Hope to seeing you soon, best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2010

The Hotel Ibis is a nice, clean, and basic hotel that would be good for solo travelers or couples. I think the rooms might be a bit small for families. The hotel was very clean and modern with free Wi-Fi and a flat panel television. However, there were not many outlets, so if you need to charge your gear, you'll need to do it in shifts.

The area is very quiet and safe, but it's about a 13-15 block walk to the main plaza. There is plenty of restaurants near the hotel and taxis are readily available. I don't have much to say about the staff simply because I didn't interact with them except for checking in and out, but they were nice and helpful in those instances. There is a 24-hour bar-like area where you can buy water and snacks, but no alcohol is served. There are two public computers in the lobby for those traveling without laptops.

The worst thing about the hotel is the elevators - they are very small and very slow. I ended up using the stairs a lot. All in all, it's a decent hotel without much character.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accor_Mexico, Relation Manager at Hotel Ibis Merida, responded to this review, 4 April 2010
Dear guest:

We really appreciate your comment; glad you experienced our modern and comfortable rooms. Ibis chain is committed to offer you basic services in an affordable price. Replying your comment about families, our policy is offer (under availability) the second room a half of price

The hotel is sixth stories tall, we push the guest to save energy and use stairs, as you noticed opened areas, glasses and easy access to stairs, glad you use them instead of elevator, but you comment will be replied to our maintenance manager in order to fix the speed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2010

This hotel is part of a chain geared toward business travelers, so vacationers looking for a place that caters to their comfort might not be happy here. Most of the people at the hotel during our stay were Mexican nationals, and we liked feeling like we stepped outside the usual tourist route. We stayed here to attend a business event at nearby hotels whose rooms were at least twice the cost. Ibis was perfect for our needs. The decor was modern. It was clean and the buffet breakfast was an affordable 70 pesos. The hotel seems to keep costs down by cutting back on the freebies--there's one generic soap in the bathrooms, no tissues, hand lotion, or towels other than large bath towels. They also have cost cutting, environmentally friendly details. The elevator requires a room key to operate. The toilet has two flush options, one for more and one for less water. The rooms are small (showers only; no bath tub), something the staff readily explained upon our arrival. Internet is free and worked well while we were there. Having read earlier reviews, I phoned in our reservation and confirmed two days before arrival. This seemed to be more effective than internet reservations. Plenty of on-site parking.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank I-think-I-was-here
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accor_Mexico, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Merida, responded to this review, 29 March 2010
“Thank you very much for your comments. Our goal is to improve day by day to the satisfaction of our customers. We await you at your next travel to Merida.”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuernavaca,Morelos
1 review
Reviewed 8 March 2010

2 coments:

1.- You are using gas to heta the water for all the rooms. Have ever you considered to use solar heat? Mérida has a lot of sunshine along the year.

2.- The floor under my bead was VERY dirty.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rasacast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accor_Mexico, Relations Manager at Hotel Ibis Merida, responded to this review, 22 March 2010
"Thanks for your comments help us to improve day by day. We note your proposal to study"

Emilio Matarranz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, NV
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2010

If you're not the backpack, hostel traveler, you would appreciate staying a few steps from Paseo Montejo enjoying the old mansions without having to breath the old musty hotels of downtown. We couldn't afford the Fiesta Americana or Hyatt, so the next best option? "Ibis"
The hotel is not really for families since they only have two twins or one queen rooms. We we're two adults and a five year old. The rooms remind me of a cruise cabin, but I'll take the small new room with nice flat screen TV, than the humid, dark, smelly old hotels for the same price or higher in busy downtown.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bellemex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accor_Mexico, Relations manager at Hotel Ibis Merida, responded to this review, 4 April 2010
Dear guest:

We appreciate you comment, we encourage you to visit us another time and experience our family policy, ask our reservation department to enjoy the second room a half price (299 MXN taxes included) and your five-years-old will have the 50% discount in the buffet breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 December 2009

Brand new hotel - I could have easily paid $150 usd - Paid $50 only - Great value - Modern and clean

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 100Globaltraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Doralba Inn
Hotel Doralba Inn
#34 of 103 in Merida
683 reviews
1.4 mi away
Gamma de Fiesta Inn Merida El Castellano
3.6 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Inn
Hotel Hacienda Inn
#31 of 103 in Merida
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Gran Hotel de Merida
Gran Hotel de Merida
#27 of 103 in Merida
261 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Santa Ana
Hotel Santa Ana
#40 of 103 in Merida
162 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fiesta Americana Merida
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ibis Merida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ibis Merida

Property: Hotel Ibis Merida
Address: Calle 58-a 495 | Col. Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ibis Merida 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Mérida Hotel is only 3.1 miles (5 km) from the city center and 6.2 miles (10 km) from the international airport and is ideally situated for exploring the "White City" and the tourist hot spots of Uxmal and Chichén-Itzá. Book one of our 120 comfortable and modern rooms for your business or leisure trip. We have a restaurant with a 24/7 snack service, a bar, car park and free wireless Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ibis Merida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing