We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay - will definitely return” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fiesta Americana Merida

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fiesta Americana Merida
Ranked #21 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Wellington
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great stay - will definitely return”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Eight members of the family stayed in three rooms for six nights in January 2014. The rooms were of a good size and clean. The hotel overall is of a very high standard. The staff members are friendly. I visited the hot pool several times a day - extemely therapeutic and relaxing. My 11-year-old twins enjoyed the outdoor pool. We went to the two restaurants and also the Sanborns below the hotel - all good. There are other shops and restaurants in the vicinity and all the main car rental agencies appear to be represented in the shopping centre below the hotel.

We walked a couple of times into the centre of town. It was a good, leisurely walk that took about 30 minutes as we admired the sights. There are two routes - either down the Paseo Montejo or Calle 60. There is a stop for the Turibus across the road from the hotel, but good luck if you can find an accurate timetable!

One complaint: the wifi worked ok in the public areas but it was sporadic in our room on level 4 - it depended on whether you´re lying on the bed, in the bathroom etc.

Another complaint: our room on level 4 was on the Avenida Cupules side. This was very noisy and it was virtually impossible to leave open the door to the small balcony. In the morning the noise of traffic woke us up (with the door closed).

We will return here, but we will be careful about which room we choose.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the Avenida Cupules side
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KiwiViajero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    673
    398
    107
    37
    24
See reviews for
337
288
51
389
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Great service, very attentive staff, nicely appointed rooms, and good breakfast (buffet and à la carte). The hotel is very well located, at the beginning of the nicest part of Paseo de Montejo, and only a short cab ride away (40 pesos each way) from downtown. Close to several good restaurants. The hotel has a tennis court and a large heated pool, as well as a nice hot tub and a gym. We had a very pleasant stay!

Room Tip: High floor rooms facing the pool are quieter than those facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Experienced_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
louis
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

...after only 2 nights. (Actually, I wanted to turn around and leave after 5 minutes -- but stuck with reservations.) I feel ripped off!

Where do I start? Rooms are outdated, grungy, smelly and hot. Thermostat in our room won't go below 25-24C (called for service / asked to change rooms, etc). Linens are clean but scratchy/cheap. Minimal towels/ washcloths provided. All services are slow: housekeeping, room service, restaurant service. You must go down to the front desk of this huge hotel to get anything. Generally, the hotel is old!!!! Not quaint... OLD!

Also, if you don't speak Spanish... I wouldn't stay here. If I spoke spanish I still wouldn't stay here.

After reading other reviews, if this is the "best hotel in Merida," I wouldn't stay overnight in Merida.

I am not a prissy American but really this hotel is below terrible for the money. Glad to see review from bbffpp "Hotel Going Down", where he/she says "the hotel suffers from the mid Fiesta Americana management, which think Mexican guests are not hard to please."

All the employees / staff were very nice and friendly but that hardly makes up for everything else.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank junebugjones67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed there for a couple of days. It was the second Fiesta Americana hotel we stayed, and counting...

1) Location, location, location- It within walking distance from the US embassy, coach/bus/limo station. And it has all the major car rental companies nearby. There is a mall on the ground floor but we don't mind it.

2) The room- we love the view of the room which was right over a fountain of the balcony garden near the restaurant. The bathroom is small and needs some renovation. But overall we are happy about the room.

3) The service- Think it this way, it is more of a local hotel serving upscale Mexican society rather than the luxury resorts in Cancun serving American/European tourists. We kinds like it. It feels like you ARE in a different country rather than a different state...

4) The pool- My son and I loved it. The staff is amazing. The water temperature is just right. My son and I had a great time there when my husband were away to get some business done ; )

5) The breakfast is just fabulous! This seems to be a Fiesta Americana standard. You'll enjoy it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico
Level Contributor
79 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

Fiesta Americana Merida is one of the most known hotels in beautiful Merida City. It is famous as it has large facilities for events, so local celebrations and national congresses and symposia are held here.
Hotel is in the same building as a shopping arcade with different stores and restaurants. For coming in, going through the mall is mandatory. Although useful for a last-minute buy, the place feels hot and crowded. After electrical stairs, one arrives to the huge hotel atrium where the restaurants are, as well as concierge and front desk.
Hotel is uneven, as principal areas are very well preserved, but rooms are not. Service wants to be attentive, but is rather hit or miss, efficiency-wise. It used to be grand for the city standards, but now is decayed.
Room is adequate for a nineties upper class business hotel, but now is dated. Furniture is tired and some hard to reach areas are dirty (seems they never really clean those spots).
Bathroom still has curtain, some rooms have newer showers, and some other rooms have shower heads are really old. Chipped details in room do not help either. Toilet seat seems clean, but in the sides, the same hairs were since the day we arrived to the day we left.
Rooms in the first floor next to the pools do not have privacy; beware for the people inside/outside.
Los Almendros restaurant offers good food with a nice ambience if inside.
In general, the hotel suffers from the mild Fiesta Americana Management, which think Mexican guests are not hard to please. There are some nicer options in Merida, if not going to a congress with special rates, are good choices to explore.

Room Tip: Not close to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bbffpp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

When I booked this hotel, I was hesitant due to the fact I read some reviews that made me question if staying here was the right decision . I have been impressed since we had arrived. It was such a pleasant surprise. Great location & friendly staff. Spacious rooms and the hotel is kept very clean. Got a sport massage.... Perfect!!! The pool was never crowded, wonderful hot tub and I used the gym... Not high quality equipment but enough there to get the job. We were on the 5th floor so enjoyed the fiesta club. I will never hesitate to recommend this hotel to someone !!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sadlrj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Provo, Utah
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Beautiful, first class hotel on the Paseo de Montejo -the main Avenue in the city. The rooms are impeccable and their breakfast buffet is excellent. The ground floor features some nice shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: We were there in January 2012 and stayed on the top floor which also featured a free breakfast and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jolico54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Merida
Hyatt Regency Merida
#17 of 103 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Presidente Merida
1.2 mi away
Hotel Casa del Balam
Hotel Casa del Balam
#14 of 103 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Wyndham Merida
Wyndham Merida
#12 of 103 in Merida
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Merida
1.2 mi away
Mision Merida Panamericana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fiesta Americana Merida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fiesta Americana Merida

Property: Fiesta Americana Merida
Address: Paseo Montejo no 451 | esquina Av. Colon, Col. Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Merida
#4 Family Hotel in Merida
#5 Spa Hotel in Merida
#11 Romantic Hotel in Merida
#14 Luxury Hotel in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fiesta Americana Merida 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Fiesta Americana Merida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fiesta Americana Merida Hotel Merida
Merida Fiesta Americana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing