We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,389)
Filter reviews
1,389 results
Traveller rating
558
475
210
100
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
558
475
210
100
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspaseo montejofiesta americanathe club loungebreakfast buffetvery nice hotelthe holiday innbusiness tripone night staylocation is greatnice poolcomfortable roomscentral locationfloorwalmartconferencemexicocabs
Filter
Updating list...
372 - 377 of 1,389 reviews
Reviewed 2 February 2012

We spent our vacations there during the month of December, when the city is very busy and the hotels are full. The attention that we received was very good and all the problems were solved immediately. The bed was very confortable, the room was very nice and clean. The location is close to Paseo de Montejo. The avenue has so many things to visit like the old and big houses, the Museum of Antropology and the hotel Rosas and Xocolate. We walked from the hotel to down town Merida and also we rented a bicycle to go there. The city is very safe. In Paseo Montejo you can visit the Museum of Anthropolgy, Hotel Rosas and Xocolate and the mansion. Starbucks is 5 minutes walking and the tourist office is also walking distance towards the street of Paseo Montejo. The stop from the tour bus (turibus) is half block away from the hotel. Chili's is infront, Sanborns and Los Almendros restaurant.
We had a very romantic trip and the staff helped us to make it possible.

Room Tip: with a view from the pool.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

The Hyatt Regency was an outstanding hotel. The staff was attentive, the room spacious and comfortable and the location was ideal for my business purpose of visiting the US Consulate. Merida is really off of the normal tourist track, but offers a glimpse of colonial Mexico. The cathedral is a great piece of architecture with an interesting background story.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

After a disaster of a trip getting to Merida, we finally arrived around 6:30 pm on New Years Eve. Avoid the town of Piste at all costs. We got "shook down" by the police and were delayed for 3 hours until we paid $400 pesos to a lady that said we "hit" her scooter. After the rental car represenative showed up and explained that we could leave if we gave them some money we were free to go. They were all in agreement that no collission happened, but we should pay anyways! You always hear of these things happening in Mexico, but it was surreal when happening to you.

Lobby was nice, the desk people very helpful. Fellow that took us to our room very freindly and helpful too. Told us that they were sold out for the restaurant for New Years Eve party, but we could get some snacks at the bar and then order room service. We took his advice and went to the lobby bar only to be told that the bar was reserved for the pre-party for the guests that were attending the dinner. We were then offered a seat at the main bar in the restaurant to join the other diners. We were so happy to get a table even if it was at the bar. The food was wonderful, the Italian Chef was at the buffet the whole evening, and was very proud of his creations. He's from Rome, and was very gracious. It was nice to have a combination of American, Italian and Mexican Cuisine at the buffet.

The Next morning we decided to stay a second night and booked it through the hotel. We walked all over Centro Merida, down to the Cathedral, had a nice breakfast and came back to the hotel to sit by the pool. Back to Cancun tomorrow, NOT via Piste!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cateringqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights in December. The hotel is clean and has a good selection for breakfast. We had rooms in the Regency Club so we got a good view of the city. Also, being in the Regency club entitled us to free apptizers and drinks every evening, and the breakfast was included with the package. Overall, this is a decent hotel just a few minutes walk from Paseo de Montejo (and Starbucks). However, you need a car (or a taxi) to get to downtown Merida where the action is. The horse carriage has a stop right in front of the hotel.

We ate at the on-site Italian restaurant and while the entrees were good, the Pina Colada and Tiramisu was below-average.

Also, only rooms in the Regency Club have rooms with connecting doors.

Room Tip: Only rooms in the Regency Club have rooms with connecting doors.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dukkar D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Just came back from Merida - a magnificent city on the Yucatan peninsula.
A friend recommended the Hyatt and this is why we stayed there. Location is great, you are one road off the Paseo Montejo.
Main lobby has little charme. Club floor accommodation does not even get close to the club floor rooms you are thinking of when booking the room. However, the lounge is nice and the staff very attentive. Sometimes it is better to turn down a noisy tv that has been annoying the guest. Not sure if the staff is empowered to do so. Cleanliness in the guestroom is by far not up to par with what you see in other club floors in US/CA or Europe.That needs to improve.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeattleHotelExpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews