We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Merida
Ranked #16 of 103 Hotels in Merida
New York City, New York, USA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful time”
Reviewed 22 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

We stayed while construction was going on and it was still a lovely experience. Alejandro, the night manager, was exceptional. We also had wonderful service from the Regency Club lounge staff, Adalberto and Janet. These 3 individuals really made the trip a great one. The rooms were very clean & refreshing, the food & drink delicious & the ambiance was perfect. We can't wait to return.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank trioc11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    457
    405
    168
    81
    37
See reviews for
266
298
56
372
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

It's very centric in front of a nice mall and 20 minutes walk in the main avenue to the center or downtown. The hotel is not luxurious but is ok, the lobby is very nice and the restaurant too is very good.
the pool is very nice!

Inside the room, the space is good. You have a nice size desk. the beds are very hard but everything else is good.

Ah you have to pay for Internet, but is quite cheap

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cancun, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

The hotel is now remodeling, which causes some discomfort. The operation of the elevators is limited, the pool and gym are out of operation, the lobby area is not entirely comfortable. And there may be some early morning noise. It is useful to know whether remodeling activities are over.And I think the rates have not changed because of the remodeling But if for you not important, the rooms are still comfortable and spacious, and the hotel with magnificent location.

El hotel esta ahora con trabajos de remodelación, lo que provoca algunas incomodidades. El funcionamiento de los elevadores es limitado, la alberca y gimnasio están fuera de funcionamiento, el area de lobby no es totalmente comoda. Y puede haber algunos ruidos temprano por la mañana. Es conveniente saber si las actividades de remodelacion han terminado.Y creo que las tarifas no han cambiado a causa de la remodelacion. Pero si para ustedes no es importante esto, las habitaciones siguen siendo confortables y amplias, y el hotel con magnifica ubicacion.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jorgecancun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

I stayed at this hotel in August 2013, as I was touring the area mainly to visit the Mayan ruins at Uxmal and Kabah.
The hotel was located in a nice area but it is not an easy walk from downtown Merida.
It was very clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful.
The hotel was doing renovation in the pool, so I did not get the chance to spend time in the pool. they gave me free WI-Fi in return.
I had a room on the 12th floor with beautiful views of the city.
The staff in the lobby spoke good english and were very helpful in recommending restaurants around the area.
The parking was easy inside the hotel and free.
I highly recommend this hotel.
I also had to cancel one night 24 hours prior as I decided to stay in Chichen Itza for one night, and the staff were very cooperative with that despite the fact that it was against their policies. Thumbs up.

Room Tip: stay on the upper levels and request a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lifeiscewl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

The Hyatt in Merida is in a good location just a few blocks from the beautiful Paseo Montejo. Several restaurants are close by and local shopping plus a Wal-Mart are close by. The Hyatt itself is lacking -- in cleanliness and comforts. The club level club has odd hours. It is open for breakfast then again in the evening for cocktail hour but during the day the room is locked. This is not a nice gesture to guest paying for club level or for Hyatt elite members. Even if food or drinks are not offered mid-day, the room should at least remain open so guests can work or relax somewhere beside their room is they would like. When open, the club room is pleasant with pretty views of Merida. Breakfast was plentiful and the staff was very, very nice. Unfortunately, there was much cigarette smoking on our floor which we thought was forbidden. The room air conditioning was great but the lobby was stifling hot for check in/out. It is always hot in the Yucatan but when lobby guests are obviously sweating uncomfortably it's time turn on the air at least in the lobby area. The lack of air kept us from the lobby restaurant too and it seemed like other guests felt the same because the restaurant was mostly empty. Inconveniences during a renovation are understandable, however, my dislikes are not related to the renovations. Internet worked fine. We are soon returning to Merida and will not be staying at the Hyatt this time. We wish the Hyatt luck with the renovations and hope the pool reopens soon for visitors.

Room Tip: If you try this hotel do it after they finish renovations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DizzyTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

July 2013 stay in the Hyatt Regency. There was a small disclaimer on the Hyatt web site that the hotel was undergoing renovations - a gross understatement.
The swimming pool was completely destroyed, there was no hotel lobby at all and it was a vast space, the makeshift registration desk was not air conditioned.
We stayed on the club level where there was a good cold breakfast and a nice cocktail hour. In between those hours the room was locked. We saw two business men try to enter in the early afternoon to have a cup of coffee and do some work on their I Pads. It seems it would have been a nice gesture to leave the room open, without food or drink, to accommodate the club members who did not have any other place to go except for their rooms. This management style of response is very typical of the Yucatan, stingy. The Hyatt is still the best hotel in Merida and the best value. As advisor " Mosbyranger" wrote earlier, the place is tired and hopefully the carpets and hair dryers will be renewed in this round of work.

Room Tip: The staff does not read their on line reservations. We tried three rooms before we were located wher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank turtleeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

The Hyatt has a great location in the heart of Merida, about a block from the stunning Paseo Montejo. there is a small shopping center on the first floor of the Fiesta Americana across the street than includes a Sanborn's. There is an OxxO convenience store caddy corner to the entrance and a Wal-Mart about two blocks away. The Hyatt has a pleasant lobby and staff, but the hotel is somewhat dated and in undergoing a renovation. As a result of this, the pool area is closed but guests can use the pool across the street if desired. It's not great and is a bit more kid oriented that my experience at the Hyatt. Seventh floor icemaker broken. No ice buckets in room. Very hard mattresses. Cold A/C.

Room Tip: Request one at the end of the hallway for the best view. These rooms would end in numbers 19 or 20.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank austex_gringo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.1 mi away
Fiesta Americana Merida
0.0 mi away
InterContinental Presidente Merida
0.4 mi away
Wyndham Merida
Wyndham Merida
#32 of 103 in Merida
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Casa del Balam
Hotel Casa del Balam
#14 of 103 in Merida
515 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Merida
Hotel Hacienda Merida
#7 of 103 in Merida
453 reviews
1.1 mi away
Gamma de Fiesta Inn Merida El Castellano
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Merida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Merida

Property: Hyatt Regency Merida
Address: Avenue Colon, Esq. Calle 60 | Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Merida
#9 Luxury Hotel in Merida
#10 Family Hotel in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Merida 4*
Number of rooms: 289
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
.Seventeen-story Hotel located in main commerical & tourist district, near archaeological sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Regency Merida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Merida Hotel Merida
Merida Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Merida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing