We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Family Hotel with fabulous views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Merida
Ranked #18 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level Contributor
83 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great Family Hotel with fabulous views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2010

Read some of the reviews and agree that the marble floors in the corridors can lead to quite a bit of noise but overall did not suffer much. Paid extra to get a Club Room which is great value if you are going to use the Internet. Internet is $15 a day so the Club Room which runs about $25 more is only a small amount more and for that you get to be on the top 3 floors 16 thru 18. You also get a continental breakfast which is of very good quality and a 3 hour happy hour with light buffet in the evening!

I really liked the pool and have family living in Merida so was great for the kids to come and enjoy the large pool. The views from the top floor if you are on the opposite side to the pool are great with views of the Centro.

Although a little way out of town it is a 6 peso bus ride or a 25 minute walk into town so not too taxing either way.

If you are looking for a nice hotel with American standards this is a good pick. Staff are friendly without being familiar. Having stayed at the Hacienda Merida for the first half of the trip I did miss being in the Centro and in the history that comes with a traditional older romantic hotel but did have the great pool to entertain.

Really recommend paying the extra for the Club Room which is not something that I normally would do but well worth it for this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luischable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,071 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    425
    374
    162
    77
    33
See reviews for
244
279
54
349
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2010

I was in Merida for a family affair and they suggested the Hyatt. The hotel externally looked above average and attractive. I loved the lounge in the lobby; the decor; the restaurant bistro Peregrino and the Fitness Center. My assigned room was 811 and here is where we go down hill. The floor hallway looks elegant and classy. My room had a nice king size bed but the mattress was a rock. The bathroom was spacy and nice. Nice minibar but the items were expensive. In fact bottled water went for $38 pesos whereas across the street at Oxxo's I got it for 8 pesos. So that gives you an idea. My room was pool view and indeed it was nice. Fiesta Americana was across the street from my window view. Wi-fi stunk. I had to pay almost $40 for a 3 day use. Ridiculous. Unfortunately, my room was around the corner from the elevators. Nestled between the elevator and my room was the Maid's storage closet. This made for horrible nights as you can hear the elevator mechanisms taking guests up and down and the elevator doors opening and closing. The maids would come to replenish from the closet door opening and slamming the doors. This drove me crazy.
After a long day of traveling, I decided to take a nap when 20 minutes later, out in the hallway and in front of my room door, was this loud noise of a bunch of people laughing and talking. it turns out that most of the 8th floor was assigned to a large family that were gathering for a wedding and they all were catching up in the hallway. I was ready to call security. I tolerated it for 30 minutes and then they went to their rooms. To compound the problem, the halls are echo-ey so throughout my entire 3 day stay, children would come off the elevator talking, yelling, loudly and running to their rooms while being chased by their siblings and my nerves were frayed. There was a baby opposite my room who was constantly crying. The best part had yet to come. It was the famous wedding party of saturday nite. I went to relax by the pool and have a drink and noticed they were setting up for some event. It turned out that the personnel was setting up for wedding poolside party. Later that evening beginning at around 9pm until 2am, a bunch of people assembled out on the pool where tables and food was set up. A band was brought in and for the next 5 hours there was loud music, singing, dancing. It was blaringly loud and all the hotel guests with pool side view were forcibly invited to the party by having to put up all night with loud music. Needless to say I only had 5 hours of sleep that night and Front Desk received numerous complaints but couldn't do anything about it as the hotel was under contract with the wedding party.

I observed that the hotel staff skims the pool in the mornings for later use but I've noticed that the water was cloudy by the third day and foamy with lotion slipping off people. Made it too disgusting for me to dip in a second time. Most people didn't care as they dipped in anyway...yuck!!

The only good thing I have to say is that the staff are indeed friendly and attentive. The Fitness Center superb. One of the best I've seen. The Peregrino restuarant has a great buffet and the lobby Lounge is nice if you can put up with mosquitoes and heat. The lobby has no A/C.
Tip: You can buy munchies, water, and toiletries across the street at Oxxo's for 40% less. Don't stay in any assigned room that has the number "11" . You will be near the elevator. When you check in ask if during the duration of your stay there will be wedding banquets. If given pool view, request another room that isn't pool view.

I don't think I would go back to this hotel unless I verify if there are any wedding banquets the week I visit. I would rather stay at the Fiesta Americana across the street.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilfredo Franco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
46 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2010

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our time at the Hyatt Regency in Merida. The staff were very friendly and accommodating - we were even convinced to upgrade to the Regency Club rooms. The pool was fantastic, and the location around the hotel was very safe and full of interesting buildings. We enjoyed our time in Merida - we even organised a personal tour out to Chichen Itza and a Cenote - and we would definitely recommend our tour guide, Ivan, for any english speaking tourists who want to visit these sites. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone coming to Merida!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyChocolateGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Tx
Level Contributor
106 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2010

Honestly, there are so many beautiful little hotels in the city it is a waste to stay here. I only spent one day here, then 5 in another, and the way less expensive was way more impressive.
One huge complaint is the Wifi - I was there for a conference, and the hotel makes you PAY for wifi - why is this so irritating? Most of Merida has free wifi - all the small hotels, parks, and city centers offer free and no password required wifi.
The other main problem is, well, I went to Merida for the culture, and the Hyatt feels like Houston. It was like any other hotel you would pay too much for in the states.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelintexas79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northeast
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2010

I attended a conference held here and my husband came along for sightseeing. Our room was clean and comfortable, and the hotel has some nice features, including two restaurants with very good food. The breakfast/lunch spot is especially good, with a fabulous buffet breakfast. It costs more than you'd find elsewhere, but we thought it was well worth it. The hotel is about a mile or so from the center of town and is an easy walk. The pool was very nice. The staff was great: very helpful and accommodating at all times. The hotel also participated in Earth Hour -- a plus in my book!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wegonownortheast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2010

We stayed at the Hyatt for three nights while we were visiting friends in the area. Merida is a big city with tons of history. The Historical District takes a few days to really see everything there is to see and experience. The street merchants are a bit overwhelming but they will leave if you show no interest. Some of the girls selling blouses and shawls are children.
The Hyatt is beautiful hotel and the staff are pleasant and friendly. Our stay was only marred by the fact that on our last night, an evening wedding was held on the outside pool deck. The music was loud enough to keep us from sleeping and when on till 12:30 a.m. It may not have been a problem except for the fact we needed to get up at 4:00 a.m. for a flight out at 6:45 a.m. Don't book a room over looking the pool as they hold party functions in that space. Other than that the hotel was great.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrevorCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRM1, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Merida, responded to this review, 5 April 2010
Dear Trevor,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us about your stay. We will definitely be reviewing the usage of the pool for events late at night.

Thanks you and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Merida.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2009

Hyatt Merida -
Friendly staff, great customer service. We had many special requests during our stay at Hyatt Merida, the hotel personnel were able to assist with all of them!!! If you visit Merida, Paseo de Montejo strip is a great location to stay. That is one of the main reasons we chose the Hyatt. They have taxis, horse drawn carriages, Oxxo (similar to a 7 eleven ), police, and money exchange right across the street from the hotel. We used to go downtown during the day and at night come back to the hotel area. Across the street from the Hyatt are other nice hotels like Fiesta Americana, Holiday Inn, and Hotel Intercontinental. You can take a bus at the Fiesta Americana to visit the pyramids and other attractions. The weather in Merida is hot and humid, but definitely a fun city to visit-- culture, history, traditions. We took amazing photos there!!! Hyatt Merida is a clean hotel, it has a swimming pool & jacuzzi and AC. If you are looking for a safe place to relax after discovering the city, this will be the perfect location. Good for couples, families with kids, and business travelers.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greatplaces2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.1 mi away
Fiesta Americana Merida
0.0 mi away
InterContinental Presidente Merida
0.4 mi away
Wyndham Merida
Wyndham Merida
#15 of 103 in Merida
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Casa del Balam
Hotel Casa del Balam
#14 of 103 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Merida
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Merida
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Merida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Merida

Property: Hyatt Regency Merida
Address: Avenue Colon, Esq. Calle 60 | Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Merida
#10 Family Hotel in Merida
#11 Luxury Hotel in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Merida 4*
Number of rooms: 289
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
.Seventeen-story Hotel located in main commerical & tourist district, near archaeological sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Merida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Merida Hotel Merida
Merida Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Merida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing