We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable by US standards”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gamma de Fiesta Inn Merida El Castellano
Ranked #14 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
167 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Comfortable by US standards”
Reviewed 23 April 2011

On a working trip, when you want a place that serves big, healthy breakfasts with lots of variety this is a great place to stay. Despite the oversize breakfast room, coffee appeared almost instantly and refills were very quick. Plus lots of high quality fruits.
The rooms were clean, nothing special, and come with in room safes large enough to hold a laptop. The air conditioner works with a remote, as in most places in the Yucatan but unless you know to look for it, you may sleep in a humid room. The air conditioning appears to function better as a dehumidifier than as a true room cooler. Although other reviewers reported problems with the front desk staff, my own experiences with them were excellent.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seed37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    264
    98
    27
    22
See reviews for
148
185
29
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2011

We had none of the cleanliness problems reported by some earlier translate. The property is pleasant ( modern faux Maya) and mostly well maintained, with a nice pool and small gym, and a decent restaurant. The people were friendly, but I agree with the "clueless" complaint--don't count on the staff for advice. English is not good here, and cable tv has no English stations we could find. Drinks are served only in the lobby (no bar) and are more expensive than at nearby bars and restaurants.
We exchanged through Interval International and knew we were getting a room, not an apartment, so weren't surprised by 101B. Pleasant enough, though noisy Saturday night. Refrigerator but no other live-in amenities. We got the impression that a complaint might get us moved to a nicer unit, but chose not to bother.
Bottom line: location. Two blocks from the main plaza, where there is always activity. Within two blocks of some of the areas best restaurants and several theaters. Adequate concierge service for arranging trips (we used it to get an excellent
Uxmal tour). The hotel staff were cheerful if not terribly useful.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S6usanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level Contributor
432 reviews
251 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 576 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2010

First room was with stains of mould in the bathroom. We went to reception and asked to change the room. Not only the receptionist did not know the word "mould", he also did not know the word "sorry". First reply was "no rooms". Then he offered us "good room", which turned out to be exactly the same, but only on a higher floor. We went to reception again and asked him for upgrade - which we were willing to pay for - but again answer was "no rooms".
We moved to Hyatt immediately and this was the best choice in Merida.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thefall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plant City, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2010

We stayed here because there was a convention at the MACAY and Olimpo we were attending, so it was within walking distance. In fact, it is within walking distance of TONS of restaurants, shops and attrations, and a short taxi ride to many more. However, we did not get the rate we were promised for staying in the hotel the convention recommended, and when we tried to tell the desk that, the details were lost in translation. The power went off twice (seemed to be related to when the air conditioner turned on) and the shower did not drain and had mold growing on the celing. We did know other people staying in different rooms and they seemed to have no problems. We actually enede up switching hotels after 1 night since the hotel would not change our room. The food and drink in the lobby restaurant is expensive. So plus would be the walking distance, minus would be that you are paying more for the location than the service.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CheesyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2010

Merida is a very different place. The architecture, people, climate, food were all a suprise and exciting. The hotel, El Castellano was 1 - 3 blocks from all of the Central historic district of Merida. Walk to restaurants, shops, squares, universities, and there are free social activities every single night. The only small, tolerable kink was the nightclub sounds on Sat. night. But, when traveling, you are so tired by the time you go to bed that you sleep. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Also, the dining room was nice, and the food was good including the house vino tinto.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robertags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wesley Chapel, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2010

El castellano is not fancy but it's a very nice place to stay. I was happy with it's location and that my family and I had the blessing to see such a beautiful town. Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsFloridian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
1.2 mi away
Fiesta Americana Merida
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa del Balam
Hotel Casa del Balam
#13 of 103 in Merida
507 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mision Merida Panamericana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Ibis Merida
Hotel Ibis Merida
#18 of 103 in Merida
515 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gran Hotel de Merida
Gran Hotel de Merida
#27 of 103 in Merida
261 reviews
0.2 mi away
Luz En Yucatan
Luz En Yucatan
#3 of 103 in Merida
997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gamma de Fiesta Inn Merida El Castellano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gamma de Fiesta Inn Merida El Castellano

Property: Gamma de Fiesta Inn Merida El Castellano
Address: Calle 57 513 | Entre 62 Y 64 Centro, Merida 97160, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gamma de Fiesta Inn Merida El Castellano 3.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the historic center of Merida, the Gamma by Fiesta Inn Hotel, whose 10 floors and 153 rooms, presents an architecture that combines the colonial and modern style; inside, details and decor, invite you to spend some time relaxing, taking a break from modern life. The spacious rooms will make you feel relaxed, no matter whether these leisure or business making the perfect place to stay. The most representative cultural and architectural richness of Merida is in its historic center. A few steps from Gamma Fiesta Inn, you can admire our architectural, cultural and gastronomic richness that both identifies us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gamma de Fiesta Inn Merida El Castellano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Castellano Merida
El Castellano Hotel Merida
Hotel El Castellano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing