We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a little dated, but nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gamma de Fiesta Inn Merida El Castellano
Ranked #12 of 106 Hotels in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2012

This hotel is located about 3 blocks from the main square in Merida. The lobby and restaurant are attractive with a bit of colonial style. The pool is somewhat small and NOT heated. The guest rooms were nice size, all tile floors with an additional sink area separate from bathroom which was nice for traveling with the family. The room was nice and quiet. The thermostat was not working properly but still able to cool room to comfortable level. The included breakfast buffet was spectacular (as we have found in all hotels).

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mehkelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (656)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

81 - 87 of 656 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2012

After seeing many hotels in Merida, I chose this one as it was close to the city center and it seemed well priced. Since I was traveling with kids, I was looking for something with good value that was good for the family.

Pluses: Breakfast was included with the night stay, and it was great! Very tasty and plenty to choose from.
Service was great
The main attraction in the city are within walking distance: anything you'd need is a short walk away
Very clean and well kept
Good restaurants nearby
Great bang for the buck!

Minuses:
wifi service in the room was slower than I liked

Room Tip: jr suite is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozziesd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

After visiting the pyramids of Uxmal, haciendas and villages around the area it was really a nice surprise to stay in a very well located hotel, friendly personnel and nice rooms. Breakfast was simply excellent with a variety of fruits, eggs, pastry and personnel always willing to help. I highly recommend this hotel if you are planning to do the walking tour of the city of Merida.

Room Tip: I had a room overlooking the church and main square which at night offers you a wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy-Rox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Pluses: friendly staff, suite sized rooms, only 2 blocks from main plaza (Plaza Principal), clean, best breakfast buffet of all the Royal Resorts properties, quiet pool with a breeze.
Minuses: older, needs maintenance on physical structure and some amenities, no hot water during the day, bland lunch/dinner menu & actual food - although buffets for those meals may be good (we didn't try them), gym needs more equipment (e.g. hand weights), limited cooking facilities in rooms, pool only cleaned once/week & pump usually not on.

Room Tip: Stay on West side of building for quiet rooms, and trade your timeshare for no cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

As a coach party we arrived about half an before normal check-in time not all the rooms were ready which is fair enough, but it was slightly worrying that one room still wasn't ready when we had to go out on a carriage ride twenty minutes after check-in time and they wanted the bags left in reception whilst we were out for an hour.

Having said that this is a good location for exploring the City of Merida.

Clean and tidy rooms.

The meals for our party was buffet based and of the best standard on our tour.

The biggest suprise however was that there was no bar, the "Lobby Bar" was a section of the dinning room, you could also have room service but an area where you could watch your drink being poured would be nice.

It was a little inconvenient at 6 am when I wander downstairs as I sometimes do to be told that I could not get a coffee until the resturant opened at 6-45.

Still being a City Hotel I wandered around the corner to the 24hr Havana Cafe and got my fix.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank budar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Typical tower-block city hotel with tiny, hot, slow lifts. They were installing an extra lift, for luggage, while we were there. The room is fine - IF you can get into it - we (& other members of our group) got very frustrated at the number of times our key-cards didn't work & had to be re-programmed or replaced by Reception (braving the lifts again!) The room-numbering is strange - ours was 1607, on the 6th floor, not the 16th as you'd expect (the hotel only has 10 floors).The rooms have 2 hand-wash basins in separate areas, but only one hand towel.
Early breakfast (6-45am) was a nightmare - like us another tour-group wanted an early start to beat the crowds at Chichen Itza, & it was a real bun-fight trying to get any food at all & there wasn't enough seating in the (very large) restaurant. The next day was a different matter - much more leisurely at 9-30am, with fantastic choices of many Mexican dishes, hot roast turkey, desserts & chocolate truffles - healthy options too.

Room Tip: If you're a single traveller expect a worse than average room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobblenoseWarwicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We also exchanged our time share with Interval International for a week here. The hotel is a delight and the location is excellent at 3 blocks from the main square of this wonderful old authentic Mexican town. Sure beats the tourist traps like Cancun. We had breakfast every morning at the hotel which was very good before setting out for a day of exploring. Since we had a car, we visited several local Mayan ruins and smaller Yucatan villages. The hotel had valet indoor parking which turned out, to our surprise, to be free. The staff were most pleasant and helpful with anything we needed. The one surprise was that they would not take American money in exchange because of money laundering state legislation. Great place to stay!!

Room Tip: We did not see other rooms so cannot comment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doug_Seagrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Ibis Merida
Hotel Ibis Merida
#22 of 106 in Merida
544 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fiesta Americana Merida
0.2 mi away
Luz En Yucatan
Luz En Yucatan
#3 of 106 in Merida
1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Mision de Fray Diego
La Mision de Fray Diego
#23 of 106 in Merida
300 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mision Merida Panamericana
4.3 mi away
Fiesta Inn Merida
Fiesta Inn Merida
#10 of 106 in Merida
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gamma de Fiesta Inn Merida El Castellano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gamma de Fiesta Inn Merida El Castellano

Address: Calle 57 513 | Entre 62 Y 64 Centro, Merida 97160, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Merida
Price Range: £32 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gamma de Fiesta Inn Merida El Castellano 3.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the historic center of Merida, the Gamma by Fiesta Inn Hotel, whose 10 floors and 153 rooms, presents an architecture that combines the colonial and modern style; inside, details and decor, invite you to spend some time relaxing, taking a break from modern life. The spacious rooms will make you feel relaxed, no matter whether these leisure or business making the perfect place to stay. The most representative cultural and architectural richness of Merida is in its historic center. A few steps from Gamma Fiesta Inn, you can admire our architectural, cultural and gastronomic richness that both identifies us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Gamma de Fiesta Inn Merida El Castellano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Castellano Merida
El Castellano Hotel Merida
Hotel El Castellano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing