We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gamma de Fiesta Inn Merida El Castellano
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Oviedo(Merida)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hacienda Misne(Merida)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Julamis(Merida)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (730)
Filter reviews
730 results
Traveller rating
242
316
115
32
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
242
316
115
32
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnice pool and gymnice hotelbreakfast restaurantmini kitchencoffee makerthe main squarewater pressurewould recommend this hotel to anyonestayed two nightseasy walking distancerooms are comfortabletwo blocksfelt very saferestaurants and shopshotel roomthree blocksnight stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
90 - 95 of 730 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Spent 2 nights at this hotel, the seventh in our visit to Mexico. The room was well appointed, although you had to pay for the coffee pouches to use in the coffee maker, and was very clean. The location of the hotel makes it easy to access eateries and the main square. Staff were generally very helpful and the breakfast was one of the better ones we encountered, and set in an attractive dining room. Nothing to complain about!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kandj93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

This is my 3rd or 4th time staying at El Castellano.
The hotel is clean and has all the amenities that you can ask for (including ironing board & iron)
The overall room is pretty modern, flat screen tv with cable, channels in english, nice glass table, coffee maker, etc.
The only complaint I can think of with this hotel is the slow elevator (not a big deal)
The bathrooms are clean and the water pressure is strong.
Don't expect a 5* plush over exaggerated hotel, but definitely somewhere clean and comfortable to stay when you are in Merida.
Steps away from the center of downtown where all the action is.
I highly recommend this hotel when staying in Merida.

On Sundays, downtown Merida closes off the streets and has a sort of Sunday festival, so the noise does get a little loud, not the hotel's fault.

Room Tip: Get a room on the upper most floor. (I believe it's the 10th floor)
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavicitoJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

I stayed at the Castellano for a week on business. The hotel was chosen, booked and paid for me by another company. The room was on a non smoking floor, but the hallway had a strong odor of smoke. The room itself was very large and didn't smell of smoke inside. The location is great, very close to the zocalo and tons of restaurants, bars and theaters.

I had a per diem so I could eat for free in the hotel restaurant, which I did a few times. The food wasn't bad, but not nearly as good as what you could find for similar or lower prices at many of the fine restaurants Merida has to offer. I used to live in Merida, so I knew where to go and what to order.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paxmaac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

The Hotel El Castellano occupies a modern-looking, ten-story building located near the central plaza. While the El Castellano has good points, the overall sparkle of this hotel probably faded a few years ago.

Because Merida offers art, shopping, museums, architecture and dining without the large number of tourists found in other parts of the Yucatan, my wife and I stayed at the El Castellano during January 2012 for three nights. We then boarded the ADO Platino bus for Playa del Carmen for the second leg of our vacation.

We chose the El Castellano because we wanted a style of hotel different from our first visit to Merida in 2011 when we stayed at the Gran Hotel de Merida, which I also reviewed for Trip Advisor.

We found the lobby of the El Castellano inviting. The front desk staff were friendly and provided good service. Many of the hotel staff understood and spoke English well. The elevators were reliable but small. The hotel is a 6-7 minute walk to the central plaza.

Two thumbs up for the hotel restaurant which is located on the main level near the front desk. Even though the restaurant is in a cavernous space with ceilings about 20 feet high, tables by the woodwork-bordered windows felt cozy. The buffet and entree offerings were quite good. The waiters were very attentive, nice, responsive and helpful. During some of our meals, a pleasant trio of singing guitar players entertained the diners.

Our room was on the sixth floor and faced the central plaza. The room was clean but there was peeling paint in the bathroom. Shower and sink fixtures wobbled in their loose housings. The hallway carpet was also worn, stained and musty.

The sliding windows in our room opened widely and there were no screens. If you do not like an open-air view from your hotel room located 75+ feet above the ground, keep the windows closed.

Most nights, our room was free from street noise. One one night though, we were kept awake by annoying loud music from a nearby bar or restaurant.

Overall not a bad hotel, just a hotel in need of some tender loving fixing up.

Room Tip: Rooms facing away from the central plaza may be quieter. The elevators were slow so I got some exercise and took the stairs.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amwMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

This hotel is located about 3 blocks from the main square in Merida. The lobby and restaurant are attractive with a bit of colonial style. The pool is somewhat small and NOT heated. The guest rooms were nice size, all tile floors with an additional sink area separate from bathroom which was nice for traveling with the family. The room was nice and quiet. The thermostat was not working properly but still able to cool room to comfortable level. The included breakfast buffet was spectacular (as we have found in all hotels).

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mehkelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews