We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great exchange value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gamma de Fiesta Inn Merida El Castellano
Ranked #10 of 105 Hotels in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 January 2013

I stayed here a total of 3 weeks in December 2012 and January 2013 in between side trips to the coast for scuba diving and to Cancun. These were exchanges through Interval and these were better than most I have gotten over the last 20 years and I exchange a lot. The hotel is in a great location, you can walk anywhere anytime and be safer than most places in the states. The hotel is very clean, rooms large, plenty of hot water for me at all times. Kinda of basic but I spent most of my time out anyway. Wish they would wash the windows though. The gym is clean and enough stuff to have a good workout. The pool is also very clean and warm enough even in December and January for me (of course being from Montana helps). The staff is extremely competent, friendly and helpful at all times.
The buffets and regular menus are all very good and varied enough for anyone. Overall no complaints and I would return without any hesitation.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (703)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

78 - 84 of 703 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2013

We just returned from a week at this hotel, exchanging it for a two-bedroom unit. It was hard to find info about the unit in advance, so I hope this helps others. We liked the location, only a short walk to the square, good restaurants and shops--but if you don't like old, historic parts of town (we do), this may not be a good match. The hotel has a cavernous "tour bus" feel but staff is friendly. We never ate in the restaurants. The pool is attractive but not heated in winter and too cold for us. The time share units, we were told, are on the first two floors. We had daily maid service except on Sundays so the place was kept clean. Bathroom amenities were minimal. Our units were generously sized but minimally appointed with bare floors, one picture on white walls, poor lighting especially in the living room and little seating. We realized the living room was so empty (one small couch and no comfy chairs) so that you could pull down a queen sized Murphy bed (which means the unit can comfortably sleep six). About the "kitchen"- small fridge, a microwave and sink. So tiny that we didn't even plan on breakfast in the room...not even cups or mugs. Unfortunate slow and intermittent (but free) wi fi. On the lower floors, you are very close to the nearby clubs and especially on weekends, the party noise is very loud (prompting us to sometimes keep the windows closed and the air conditioning on--although the big windows otherwise produced nice breezes). We were glad to have the experience in Merida and we may not have come here without the time share exchange, but our standards were compromised in this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tourgoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012

We spent three weeks in Merida last Nov/Dec. We stayed at El Castellano and it was a very good choice. I must qualify this by saying that it was a perfect fit for us, in that we wanted a hotel that reflected a true sense of the Yucatan Peninsula and its culture, which in Merida is all over. The hotel location made it very easy to access all the numerous recitals, piano competitions, theater, music, dance and fairs which take place in the different central theaters and plazas. It is an almost permanent joyous, quaint, authentic environment. The hotel itself has a pure Mexican flavor: from the large restaurant, with a breakfast buffet that includes jiuces, fruits, breads, desserts, over 10 entrees in heated basins plus an omelette station that also caters the meats with all kinds of dipping sauces all quite delicious. We spent one week using our timeshare exchange and the rest of the time in their standard rooms that are quite comfortable. However, if you're thinking of anything along the Marriott lines you'll be disappointed. We did have a problem with a sink in our timeshare, and after we were all unpacked and moved in, we were told the sink required a lot of work, so, we had to move to another room (say what!!??) we took it all in stride. In this new room we had some condensation in the ceiling so, it "rained" when we were trying to brush our teeth. However, they did fix it right away. The gym is great, ample and with a good number of machines. The pool was clean and large enough, the lobby is comfortable if run of the mill. The big pluses are the fact that it is kept immaculately clean, the free wifi/computer use and the free parking along with the fantastic breakfast buffet and the location. When it comes to this particular hotel, you will really love it if you come to immerse yourself in the culture and leave the sanitized versions to the international hotel zone.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kulgata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Spent 2 nights at this hotel, the seventh in our visit to Mexico. The room was well appointed, although you had to pay for the coffee pouches to use in the coffee maker, and was very clean. The location of the hotel makes it easy to access eateries and the main square. Staff were generally very helpful and the breakfast was one of the better ones we encountered, and set in an attractive dining room. Nothing to complain about!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kandj93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

This is my 3rd or 4th time staying at El Castellano.
The hotel is clean and has all the amenities that you can ask for (including ironing board & iron)
The overall room is pretty modern, flat screen tv with cable, channels in english, nice glass table, coffee maker, etc.
The only complaint I can think of with this hotel is the slow elevator (not a big deal)
The bathrooms are clean and the water pressure is strong.
Don't expect a 5* plush over exaggerated hotel, but definitely somewhere clean and comfortable to stay when you are in Merida.
Steps away from the center of downtown where all the action is.
I highly recommend this hotel when staying in Merida.

On Sundays, downtown Merida closes off the streets and has a sort of Sunday festival, so the noise does get a little loud, not the hotel's fault.

Room Tip: Get a room on the upper most floor. (I believe it's the 10th floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavicitoJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

I stayed at the Castellano for a week on business. The hotel was chosen, booked and paid for me by another company. The room was on a non smoking floor, but the hallway had a strong odor of smoke. The room itself was very large and didn't smell of smoke inside. The location is great, very close to the zocalo and tons of restaurants, bars and theaters.

I had a per diem so I could eat for free in the hotel restaurant, which I did a few times. The food wasn't bad, but not nearly as good as what you could find for similar or lower prices at many of the fine restaurants Merida has to offer. I used to live in Merida, so I knew where to go and what to order.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paxmaac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

The Hotel El Castellano occupies a modern-looking, ten-story building located near the central plaza. While the El Castellano has good points, the overall sparkle of this hotel probably faded a few years ago.

Because Merida offers art, shopping, museums, architecture and dining without the large number of tourists found in other parts of the Yucatan, my wife and I stayed at the El Castellano during January 2012 for three nights. We then boarded the ADO Platino bus for Playa del Carmen for the second leg of our vacation.

We chose the El Castellano because we wanted a style of hotel different from our first visit to Merida in 2011 when we stayed at the Gran Hotel de Merida, which I also reviewed for Trip Advisor.

We found the lobby of the El Castellano inviting. The front desk staff were friendly and provided good service. Many of the hotel staff understood and spoke English well. The elevators were reliable but small. The hotel is a 6-7 minute walk to the central plaza.

Two thumbs up for the hotel restaurant which is located on the main level near the front desk. Even though the restaurant is in a cavernous space with ceilings about 20 feet high, tables by the woodwork-bordered windows felt cozy. The buffet and entree offerings were quite good. The waiters were very attentive, nice, responsive and helpful. During some of our meals, a pleasant trio of singing guitar players entertained the diners.

Our room was on the sixth floor and faced the central plaza. The room was clean but there was peeling paint in the bathroom. Shower and sink fixtures wobbled in their loose housings. The hallway carpet was also worn, stained and musty.

The sliding windows in our room opened widely and there were no screens. If you do not like an open-air view from your hotel room located 75+ feet above the ground, keep the windows closed.

Most nights, our room was free from street noise. One one night though, we were kept awake by annoying loud music from a nearby bar or restaurant.

Overall not a bad hotel, just a hotel in need of some tender loving fixing up.

Room Tip: Rooms facing away from the central plaza may be quieter. The elevators were slow so I got some exer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amwMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Ibis Merida
Hotel Ibis Merida
#21 of 105 in Merida
568 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fiesta Americana Merida
4.3 mi away
Fiesta Inn Merida
Fiesta Inn Merida
#8 of 105 in Merida
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Wyndham Merida
Wyndham Merida
#23 of 105 in Merida
499 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Merida
Hyatt Regency Merida
#14 of 105 in Merida
1,278 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Mision de Fray Diego
La Mision de Fray Diego
#20 of 105 in Merida
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gamma de Fiesta Inn Merida El Castellano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gamma de Fiesta Inn Merida El Castellano

Address: Calle 57 513 | Entre 62 Y 64 Centro, Merida 97160, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Merida
Price Range: £30 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gamma de Fiesta Inn Merida El Castellano 3.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the historic center of Merida, the Gamma by Fiesta Inn Hotel, whose 10 floors and 153 rooms, presents an architecture that combines the colonial and modern style; inside, details and decor, invite you to spend some time relaxing, taking a break from modern life. The spacious rooms will make you feel relaxed, no matter whether these leisure or business making the perfect place to stay. The most representative cultural and architectural richness of Merida is in its historic center. A few steps from Gamma Fiesta Inn, you can admire our architectural, cultural and gastronomic richness that both identifies us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Gamma de Fiesta Inn Merida El Castellano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Castellano Merida
El Castellano Hotel Merida
Hotel El Castellano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing